We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Rose Cottage
Ranked #7 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently completed our third stay at Cape Rose Cottage and it was as good as ever, maintaining the high standards of hospitality, facilities and excellent accommodation we experienced in the past.
As in the past the hosts and owners, Pam and Steve, were very helpful, making reservations at excellent restaurants and generally giving good advice. Steve even went out of his way to get tickets for the Kirstenbosch concert for us.
We had the same spacious room as in the past which was immaculately clean with all the facilities needed for a pleasant stay. We stayed in the Aquamarine room which has fantastic views of the coast and 12 apostles and overlooks the pretty garden with swimming pool. All the creature comforts of TV, air conditioning, good wi-fi, honesty bar, spacious bathroom and a well equipped kitchen area were provided. A range of food for wholesome continental style breakfasts was supplied and enjoyably devoured.
Without doubt we intend to stay at Cape Rose Cottage again when we next go to South Africa in 2015/2016.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
307
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We spend 5 nights in the Lavender room. The room is spacious and has all the amenities we needed for an excellent stay at Camps Bay to explore Cape Town and surrrounding areas. We enjoyed having a small kitchen to be able to prepare breakfast and enjoy our morning meal on the balcony overloking the ocean. The view of the Atlantic is spectacular. Pam and Steve made us feel welcome in their home and helped us have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bislec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Cape Rose Cottage is a delight. We had the ground floor room for 11 days and from the friendly welcome of Pam and Steve the moment we arrived to their very generous offer to let us stay in the room late on the final day, it was a superb base from which to explore Cape Town. It is nearly at the top of Camps Bay and affords epic views of the bay, the 12 Apostles behind the house and in the midst of a cosy, well kept garden that was alive with birds. The room was spacious, spotless and decorated imaginatively with colour and interest. We had our own very private patio, a secret garden and access to the pool a few yards across the main garden. We hardly saw or heard the other guests at all - it was as if we had the house to ourselves. The area is quiet but very convenient for Cape Town centre and for the delights of Hout Bay and Constantia on the other side of the mountains. Pam and Steve were perfect hosts. We strongly recommend Cape Rose Cottage - secure, friendly, great value and above all run by lovely people

Room Tip: The downstairs room gives easy access to the garden and pool but the sea view is probably even bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just returned home from 2 weeks in SA and we stayed in the Cape Rose Cottage for our final 2 nights in Cape Town. With the pound being so strong at the moment we could afford to stay in some pretty plush places but I have to say that the service and hospitality we received at Rose Cottage was the best. Apart from the little touches like a personalised welcome letter, chocolates on your pillows everyday and an abundance of different creams and lotions free to use in the bathroom, it was Pam and Steve themselves who made us feel so welcome. They knew who we were when we arrived before we even introduced ourselves, we had good chats with both of them over the two days, Pam bought us out iced water when we were lounging by the pool on the first day. We also had a hire car which got scratches along the side after the sat nav took us down a tight dirt road, I asked Steve if he knew if they sold T-Cut in SA so we could try and rub them out so we wouldn't lose any of our £1000 car hire deposit - Steve actually had something similar which he bought up to our room with cloths we could use to do the job. This totally saved our bacon and we gave the car back with no problems.

The house itself is light and airy and beautifully decorated with everything matching in the rooms. The bedrooms have a kitchenette which is stocked with bread, butter, jams, yogurts, cereals, milk and juice so you can make breakfast yourself at a time that suits you. This was ideal for us after two weeks of eating 3 course breakfasts and totally gorging ourselves, plus it meant you could have a little snack at any time of the day.

All in all our stay here was lovely and I don't have a thing to complain about, would highly recommend to anyone staying in Cape Town.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PenoirB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I were originally scheduled to stay in Cape Rose Cottage for 4 nights on our most recent visit to Cape Town, but unfortunately circumstance intervened and we only got to stay one night. Still that one night was enough for us to plan on returning.

With its location high above the Camps Bay beach and tourist center, Cape Rose Cottage offers a serene, secluded location with a spectacular view over the ocean below...yet still close enough to the Camps Bay action as to not be too far off the beaten tourist path.

We got to stay in the Lavender Room with its big, sliding glass door opening on to the balcony. The room was beautifully decorated, with a convenient kitchenette supplied with juice, cookies and some cereal. A TV was available and a large, very clean, well decorated bathroom was attached.

Cape Rose Cottage has a very large, open community living space with books, tourist information and a self service honor bar with beer and wine and other treats.

Unfortunately for us, we only got to stay for a brief one night, but we really enjoyed it. The hosts were absolutely grand, great communication and very pleasant. They went out of their way at every stop to make us welcome and to accommodate our sudden change in plans.

As frequent visitors to Cape Town and Camps Bay we will certainly plan on staying at the Cottage on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank springbokny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent our first 2 nights of our trip in the Aquamarine Suite - it was the perfect way to start a most memorable vacation. The property was very beautiful, clean, secure and comfortable. Pam and Steve are the perfect hosts - they made us feel so at home and welcomed in their guest house! They were also extremely helpful in helping us find our way around and planning our 2 weeks in S Africa.
The accommodations were excellent - nice spacious bathroom, comfortable bed (very important!) and absolutely stunning view from the deck. We could have just sat there for hours - it was so relaxing there! The kitchen was nicely stocked with essentials - which was a nice touch after a long day of traveling.
It was the perfect location - I would highly recommend Cape Rose Cottage to anyone traveling to Camps Bay.
We will certainly be back there someday soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent 4 weeks in Jan/Feb.2014.
Very memorable vacation with super confort,,breathtaking view,enyoyable and exceptional. hospitality from the ownwers Pam and Steve,convenient even for Bus usage to Center Capetown,.A top adress hard to excell.
Peter

Room Tip: All three apartements are excellent.Top ones have of course the best view into the bay and moutains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 60 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boutique @ 10
Boutique @ 10
#1 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rose Cottage

Property: Cape Rose Cottage
Address: 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Rose Cottage Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing