We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Rose Cottage
Ranked #7 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harare Province, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for four nights in Cape Rose Cottage in Camps Bay at the end of a Cairo to Cape Town trip and it was the an absolute joy from start to finish. The room was spotlessly clean and immaculately presented. The views of both the sea and the twelve apostles from the balcony were breathtaking. Pam and Steve were wonderful hosts who gave me all the information I needed ranging from what to do, where to eat and the most reliable and cheapest taxi's to use in the area. I especially liked the attention to detail in the room, everything from way the bed pillows were presented to making sure my supplies of soap, food and drinks were always well stocked. My only regret is that I did not stay for longer but I do hope to go back to Cape Town in the future and Cape Rose Cottage is the only place that I will be staying. It was becuase of Pam and Steve's warm hospitality that I had the perfect end to my holiday for which I cannot thank them enough. Cape Rose Cottage as it is quite simply a slice of heaven in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
309
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have now stayed at Rose Cottage for over 4 weeks on 3 separate times in the past few years. The atmosphere is remarkably calm and our hosts, and now friends, Pam and Steve have thought of everything. An warm evening watching the sunset is one of life's great pleasures and we will will be back again as soon as we can.

The rooms have been very carefully thought out both for colour and facilities, the kitchenette has every thing one needs for a very relaxing stay. The central penthouse lounge is very spacious and comfortable and the self service bar is a real asset.

One cannot recommend Rose Cottage highly enough, it is a superb.

Room Tip: Both the pent house rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one week in the Lavender suite and we really appreciated a lot.
The suite is very comfortable and the view from the terrace is amazing. We made a lot of beautiful sunset pictures.
Pam ans Steve were really helpful with us and their home is as friendly as they are with all comfort, beautifully decorated and furnished. The continental breakfast was great and practical to have it in our own kitchen.
The lounge with its bar and all the books, guide, CDs and DVDs was really a cosy area.
We very much recommend this B&B for all future travelers.
Marie from Gex in France

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Pascale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This must actually be one of the best views in Cape Town! This was our second stay at Cape Rose Cottage - Pam and Steve have thought of everything in making the penthouse rooms and lounge, truly luxurious. Rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully furnished and the continental breakfast allows for more flexibility than with many B and Bs, as do the basic self catering facilities. An honesty bar and informative range of local travel books as well as a good mix of fiction and DVDs is typical of the consideration given to guests' enjoyment and Pam and Steve seem to know just the right places to suggest for visits to suit individual guests' interests and offer very helpful advice if and when travel problems arise.

Room Tip: Either penthouse rooms have wonderful views and all are quiet and beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We visited Cape Rose in August 2013 and found it the most perfect accommodation you could ask for. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated, the views both of the sea and the mountains are stunning and our hosts Pam and Steve were fantastic. Anyone visiting Cape Town should seriously consider staying here as its location is very convenient and if you need some pointers to quality local sites Pam and Steve will steer you in the right direction. We managed to visit some great locations with the help of local knowledge. A home away from home that I would definitely return to if Im fortunate enough to visit Cape Town again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Aquamarine room which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johno7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We really enjoyed about our stay at Cape Rose Cottage (aquamarine suite). We had the lounge to ourselves which worked well for us. The views were superb and the location, close to Camps Bay was great. We sampled some of the excellent restaurants. The Hussar Grill and Codfather were superb. I would definitely recommend this as somewhere to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Cape Rose Cottage in July 2013. My family had booked out all 3 rooms, so the communal lounge room upstairs (with a nicely stocked bar fridge) was absolutely perfect for us, and the view was just spectacular.
The Cape Rose suite was just lovely, with a very private courtyard, but didn't quite have the amazing views that the upstairs Aquamarine & Lavender suites have.
Pam & Steve are lovely and were very accommodating to my family, and helpful to assist with letters & receipts etc for my sisters travel insurance claim when they missed connection flights and unfortunately missing their stay at Cape Rose Cottage & their entire South African honeymoon!
I would definitely stay here again, but prefer the upstairs rooms purely for the view.
Just a small note, there are lots of stairs to get heavy luggage up and down to the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rose Cottage

Property: Cape Rose Cottage
Address: 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Rose Cottage Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing