We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Villa Barbara”
other travelers have booked this property
View from  bedroom balcony where you can enjoy a sundowner and take in the view.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from  bedroom balcony where you can enjoy a sundowner and take in the view.
Bedroom spacious and comfortable Bathroom with shower
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
View from  bedroom balcony where you can enjoy a sundowner and take in the view.
Bedroom spacious and comfortable
Bathroom with shower
Spiral staircase leading from lounge to bedroom
Pool and fabulous view of the sea which extends to the lions head - this area is for you!
View of pool as seen from the bar which is lovely and cool to have lunch in
The pool is for your private use it is not shared it is on your private level!
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen and  lounge leads onto the to the pool through sliding doors
Lounge
Panoramic view from lounge
At the pool
Tanning on the terrace
View of apartment from the road Table Mountain  behind and 12 Apostles also visible
The Lions Head is a prominent feature from all areas of the apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ruthie300...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Quirky dated property with spectacular views, fabulous location.”
Reviewed January 24, 2018 for a stay in October 2017

I assume that it is the fantastic views that account for the 5 bubble reviews and the luxury label for this property. Inside the property is certainly not luxury as we know it. There is no getting away from the fact that the property is very dated. It reminded me of something you may have seen in an Avengers episode in the 70's. However it is comfortable if quirky but could benefit from some TLC. Helen met us on arrival and was friendly and helpful with suggestions of what to do and see in the area. It would have been nice to have been warned in advance about the men arriving quite so early in the morning (8ish) to measure the windows! Also, the property really needs more lighting at night. The tiled stairs up to the villa are steep and in the dark can be dangerous especially if it has been raining. Needless to say, this apartment it not suitable for the very elderly or anyone with mobility issues. If you are looking for stunning views of both the coast and table mountain and not too bothered about comfort then you could do no better. This is a great location for exploring both the coast and the city. However if you want some comfort in your surroundings, then perhaps this isn't the place for you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Thank you for your review I will take your views into consideration!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKDunn51
Innerleithen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Villa Barbara”
Reviewed January 11, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The villa is located in Upper Camps Bay which offers spectacular views of Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Villa Barbara is tastefully decorated and furnished to a high level. The villa has a good pool with a brai/bar area ,with fridge, sun loungers etc. The villa is more suitable for a active couple as there are some steep steps from the entrance up to the apartment, however, there is a lift to help with the cases and those unable to climb the steps. Helen and Seumas were excellent hosts and we would like to thank them for making our stay more enjoyable. A maid ,Georgina , cleans the apartment twice a week. There is a washing machine for those wishing to wash their own clothes.
I would definitely stay at villa Barbara again and would heartily recommend it. The villa is a short drive of 20mins from the centre of Cape Town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2018
Really loved meeting you as We are so fond of dear Scotland. It was a real pleasure to have you spend Hogmany in the Cape and at our home!
Regards Helen and Seumas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KJLMY
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Nice villa with spectacular views of the ocean and lions head. Location is great with easy access to table mountain. Helen was really nice and friendly. Made sure we have everything we need

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2018
Great to have you all the way from Singapore you were such a special couple. Thank you so much for choosing us. Hope you enjoyed Stellenbosch.
Lots of good luck to you both for the new Year.
Regards Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H
2 reviews
“Relaxed stay in Camps Bay”
Reviewed December 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a very comfortable, relaxed stay with an awesome view over Camps Bay in this spacious and luxurious apartment. Very nice owner and we can only recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2017
Hi Patrick and Stephanie,
It was great to have young people who appreciate the country staying with us. You were delightful. Thank you for coming!
Regards Helen and Seumas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in beautiful villa”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a lovely stay in this beautiful villa situated high above Camps Bay with wonderful views down to the sea in front and of Table Mountain behind. Helen and Seamus are great hosts and went out of their way to help us with advice about restaurants, local attractions and activities. It is a great base from which to explore Cape Town and the Cape Peninsula.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2017
Thank you Jason, It was our pleasure to have such great guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aileen8_1...
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment with magnificent views”
Reviewed November 25, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The beautiful apartment is spacious and well equipped. All other eventualities are covered as well - reading, information on tourist attractions, towels for the swimming pool and beach, washing machine, drying rack, etc etc. The views are amazing as it is above Camps Bay, overlooking the mountains, and the Atlantic Ocean. Perfect. Helen and Seamus are the best hosts, so helpful and friendly with lists and recommendations so that we didn’t miss out on seeing the best the area had to offer. Helen is a great artist and the apartment is beautifully decorated with her own artwork and style. There was a welcome bottle of wine, milk, fruit, coffee and tea in the kitchen - thank you. It was a great base for our active holiday exploring the region, but if you need a taxi use Uber as the local taxis rip you off. There are great restaurants in Camps Bay (The Codfather was really disappointing) but we ate in the apartment on several nights as the views cannot be beaten. We cannot recommend this apartment highly enough. A brilliant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us .We would love you to come again.
Thank you also for the great review.
Regards
Helen and Seumas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryMackM...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Restful Place”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a spacious, beautiful apartment in Camps Bay, high in the Cliffside with gorgeous views of the ocean and the mountains. The bed/dressing area/bathroom/lower terrace offer comfort and great scenery. The upper terrace with bar, pool, huge doors into the kitchen/living area is also easy to enjoy. It was really great to have a full kitchen to prepare breakfast and enjoy coffee, tea, and wine in the evening. We also were happy with the ability to use a washing machine as we had come out of a week in the bush. The whole apartment is beautifully designed with delightful artwork by Helen, one of the owners, and all the comforts you would hope for. The owners are a gracious, helpful couple who will be around if you need them and who will completely disappear if you want privacy. The apartment was well stocked with reading material about the local attractions as well as just for entertainment. The owners also started us off with a welcome bottle of wine, some milk, fruit and coffee. We would definitely stay here if/when we visit Cape Town again. It made the perfect home base for our active days. Car was necessary and the free parking spot just steps from the front door worked perfectly. Easy to get to restaurants, shopping, beach as well as the bigger Cape Town area attractions. We loved it here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2017
Thank you for staying with us ! It was such a pleasure meeting you and getting a beautiful picture of your enchanting lifestyle in the enchanted forest with deer and red foxes -so divine.
Kind regards Helen and Seumas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing