We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to explore Capetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camps Bay Village (Resort)
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great location to explore Capetown”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a really nice stay here for 5 days in February. Plenty of good restaurants and all facilities in walking distance, we only hired a car upon leaving. Had a view of tables mountain from our room. We opted for a second floor apartment with air-conditioning. Spacious self catering accommodation close to the beach. Used the club facilities in the Bay Hotel to relax in.
Recommend the use of the hop-on-hop off red city bus tour to orientate yourself around the city. The bus tour commentary was very useful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FullTime_traveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    161
    59
    25
    15
See reviews for
112
171
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmetto, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location was perfect for walking to restaurants, grocery store & beach in Camp's Bay.
Nice to have a full kitchen - though we didn't need to use it.
Not a very nice view from our unit - an alley & and a rooftop.
No air conditioning and so noise buffer. No free wi-fi, except outside of front of resort - didn't work 1/2 of the time. Two pools (small for the number of units), far from most rooms.
Clean & simple.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlesar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Village (Resort), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear cmlesar
Thank you for your review. Our perfect location close to the Camps Bay Promenade gives guest easy access to top restaurants, convenient store , pharmacy, atms etc. At the Resort we do have a number of Classic and Superior rooms that do not have kitchens. The rooms do however have a coffee station and mini bar fridge and rates are inclusive of breakfast. Due to our position in the heart of Camps Bay not all our apartments have views. Please do not hesitate in requesting an apartment or room with a view on booking. All our superior, 2 bedrooms and 3 bedrooms apartment have air conditioning . Our Classic apartments come with either wall or ceiling fans. Wi-Fi access is accessible from all apartments at a minimal charge for data through an independent service provider. We do provide free Wi-Fi at the reception area. On top of that there is a guest computer with internet access at reception. The pools are close to the reception and a stroll on well signed paths from all our apartments. The lap pool is solar heated. Pool towels are available at reception.
Kind regards
Alan Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed here last May for 1 week. It was such a great experience. Right on the main street across from the ocean. Beautiful views, and very spacious. We stayed in the room with a loft. I was very modern looking and very comfortable. It was close to everything, and great to be able to walk right out to the beaches. The room was also a great bargain considering the location. I'd definitely stay again! Look on their website, they have really good pictures of the rooms.

Room Tip: Stay in the room facing the ocean. It's like a really cool apartment. Dining area, sitting area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Village (Resort), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear RonT
Thank you for the positive review. We proud our self in providing clean, comfortable 3 star accommodation in a 5 star setting. Our Team are consistently updating our website and you will be pleasantly surprised to see some great accommodation deals.
Kind regards
Alan Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

15 minutes from City bowl by car via Kloof;
Primi Piatti convenient with good food and staff;
Also a lot of other restaurants;
Next to the Theatre on the Bay;
Rest of Camps Bay is walking distance;
On the hop on hop off bus route through the Peninsula;
Sunny with excellent views to the Atlantic and the Twelve Apostles;

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny for autumn months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HermanvN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Superb location just 2 minutes from the beach, supermarket and restaurants.. The room was large albeit basic but perfectly adequate for a weeks stay given we didnt spend too much time in the room. The Primi Piatti restaurant around the corner was superb--great food, super atmosphere and lovely staff. We had vouchers from Camps Bay resort to use for breakfast there but they were quite happy that we used them for evening meal and this proved a great saving. Our only slight niggle with Camps Bay was that the bed linen was not changed mid week as advertised and despite 2 requests we still didnt get new linen. Was also good that you could use the pool facilities at the Bay Hotel 2 minutes walk away. Car parking available at modest cost for hire car and above all this was a perfectly safe venue. Also bus stop for Cape Town hop on hop off bus just around the corner. In short a very suitable spot for a weeks stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Village (Resort), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear SallyP
Thank you for your response. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do not restrict the use of the breakfast voucher for breakfast only and are redeemable for lunch and dinner. Our dedicated and supervised housekeeping team provides daily (Mon-Sat) refresh service as well as linen and towel change after every 4th night. On Sundays and Public Holidays, housekeeping can be arranged on request at an extra charge. As guests of the Resort you do have access to Sandy B Beach club at the 5 star Bay Hotel.
Kind regards
Alan Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a room with an ocean view, two bedrooms, two bathrooms a large kitchen with all necessary utensils...
Check in was smooth and the wasstaff very accomodating and incredibly nice..
If you get stuck nights with alot of rain, it would be nice to have a few more channels on the TV and better internet connection. The location was spectacular within a min walk to everything...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This resort is awesome, we checked in late around 20:00hrs on Sat 6th April 2013, but were well received . Many thanks to Gift, who checked us in efficiently and helped us with choices of activities around Cape Town. We stayed in Satorini room which is upstairs and there was no noise at all. What we liked most was the spaciousness of the room. It was immaculately clean and the, the free standing bath tub was excellently positioned and could watch TV while relaxing in the tub. Because of the weather, we were unable to use the pools, but they are positioned.

The only snag, was the bed, they put 2 3/4 beds together making sleeping a little bit uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upstairs as you can view table mountain and the beach nicely. We were in Santorini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaze798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Village (Resort), responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Kaze798
We are so pleased that you responded on Tripadvisor. Our Reception hours are from 07:00 until 22:00. For any later arrivals either one of our front office staff or houseman will be available to welcome guests. We do encourage that guest provide an estimated time of arrival to avoid any delays in rooming. The king bed in most of our apartments can be converted into twin beds to accommodate guest that do not necessarily want to sleep in one bed.
Kind regards
Alan Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.6 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Village (Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Village (Resort)

Property: Camps Bay Village (Resort)
Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Village (Resort) 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as Camps Bay Resort. Set against the backdrop of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and a stones throw from the most beautiful beaches in Cape Town, Camps Bay Village is perfectly located for your dream holiday. Within walking distance from an abundance of day and night activities, café's, sundowner spots, cocktail venues, fantastic restaurants and places to be seen, staying at Camps Bay Village is both fun and convenient. Another favourite pastime at Camps Bay Village is to soak up the sun at the two swimming pools located on the property. New to our collection is the iconic Stone Cottages, recently renovated and transformed into a holiday makers dream. Now boasting a selection of 60 rooms, studios, apartments and cottages, you are sure to find the perfect accommodation for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Camps Bay Village (Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Village (Resort) Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing