We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget option”
Review of Camps Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camps Bay Resort
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great budget option”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fantastic location, just seconds from the Beach and main strip. The pool area is a nice place to sun bathe and access to the Bay Hotel is a great bonus, as the pool area here is even better. The accommodation is fairly basic and if you're up for luxury, this isn't the place for you but if on the other hand you're after a great spot from where to explore the area, or relax in some beautiful surroundings, then Camps Bay Resort is a great option. The staff were also really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    161
    59
    25
    15
See reviews for
112
171
21
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were given a room in the Brighton block (third floor) which has 2 bedrooms, a kitchen, bathroom and living area.There was nothing too wrong with the room but .......

Pros
Excellent position in resort (across the road from the beach, the Cape Town tourist bus stop was just down the road, supermarket on the corner, restaurants on your door step)
Very clean
We had a voucher each to the total value of R160 to spend in the Primi Piatti cafe to cover breakfast (don't know if everyone gets this or just people who book through Trail Finders). This amount provided you with a feast and the quality of all the breakfasts we had were of excellent. We loved the Primi Piatti!
Parking is available but you have to pay per night (from memory I think this equated to £6 per night)
You can use the facilities (pool, sun loungers) at the Bay Hotel according to the literature in the room (we didn't try this)

Cons
Loads of steps to get to the room or reception with no lifts
Parts of the apartment were tired looking (eg Bathroom needed updating / sprucing up)
No WOW factor when entering the room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Another great holiday here this time in Beach studios Really great room with selfcatering facilities Still no bottle shop in Camps Bay the only let down
Weather perfect & use of beach club at The Bay Hotel is great to lie relax & chill out!!
Only criticism paid for wifi that I couldn't get despite numerous phone calls but iPad kept jumping to home network Anyway. Just provide it for guests would be easier

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareOJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a self contained apartment here. It was right by the road and quite noisy but very central for the beach and restaurants. The apartment was tired and a bit shabby, but everything worked. We didn't use the pool as it was a bit of a walk. The good thing was that the reception staff were really helpful with their advice and with booking taxis etc.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms by the road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetbriar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here in a studio overlooking the pool. It was o.k but not as nice as other photos showed but it was convenient for the seafront. However We are a retired couple and in spite of the lovely beach area we found it to be a young persons place. We were there over a weekend and the restaurants were so busy and noisy we could hardly get in or hear ourselves speak for the noise of excited young people.
The people at the resort were very helpful and friendly and the studio was cleaned every day except Sunday. Good value if you like a busy area with lots of bars etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalisburyAvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had such a great time in Cape Town and my week at the Camps Bay Resort made for a very relaxing start to the holiday. The room I was put in originally I didn't like (bit of a funny lay out) and so the staff moved me to another room straight away. My new room was amazing and the staff couldn't have been more helpful about it all. The room was clean and had everything you would expect and need for a self catering holiday. The pool and grounds are lovely and very clean and tidy and had such a nice vibe to the place. You are very close to the beach and all the great bars and restaurants Camps Bay has to offer. Nice touch with the delivery food service as well. Excellent all round and can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible, very nice to wake up to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherrybomb_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed at Camps bay around two years ago, so my review may be out of date but we found the apartment perfect for our needs. It's right on the sea front, with Table Mountain behind.... the area really is incredible, and a great base point for touring the surrounding area's. Premi Piatti (sp) was lovely for breakfast lunch or dinner, and the cocktails in Jam Jars go down well too! The Raj is also very nice for dinner. The staff at the hotel were brilliant and really were a huge help!

Would love to be going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dayna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Property: Camps Bay Resort
Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and a stones throw from the most beautiful beaches in Cape Town, Camps Bay Resort is perfectly located for your dream holiday in this idyllic location. Within walking distance from an abundance of day and night activities, cafe's, sundowner spots, cocktail venues, fantastic restaurants and places to be seen, staying at Camps Bay Resort is both fun and convenient. A favourite pastime at Camps Bay Resort is to soak up the sun at the two swimming pools located on the property. Boasting a selection of 47 rooms, studios and apartments which are serviced and immaculately prepared, you'll find the perfect accommodation for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing