We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camps Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camps Bay Resort
montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a 2 bedroom unit as we were travelling with our 2 year old daughter who sleeps best in her own room. The unit was clean and basically appointed. Don't count on the TV, there are few channels. The options to order out are terrific and we made good use of them. The unit is self catering and we went to the Primi only once for breakfast which was really, very good.
Our only disappointment was that the bathroom window was broken, and therefore wouldn't close. THis made for VERY cold bathtime for our daughter and shower time for us. After 3 requests to the main desk, it was never fixed or mentioned to us, in fact, I don't think they ever even came to investigate and of course, we all got sick and spent the last 4 days of an otherwise dreamy vacation, at various pharmacies in search fo remedies and quick fixes. When asked if we had an excellent stay when checking out I said it was OK and when they asked why, I told them and our only fee, parking, was waived, that was 20 dollars total. I feel they could've done more-like fix my window when it's 1 degree at night and there's a 2 year old who could catch her death. Otherwaise, beautiful ocean views but very noisy at night time

Room Tip: Room 24 or 28, memory fails, Block 2 or B, I forget the system already! Beautiful views but noisy an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Unfortunately we only offer a limited bouquet on Satellite television therefore we mention all the channels provided on the Camps Bay Resort website.

My sincere apologies for the poor communication with regards to the window in the bathroom; the fact that we were waiting on an outsourced supplier should have been communicated to you or an alternative apartment offered.

Due to the location of Camps Bay Resort there are some apartments that will experience social noise and therefore we encourage guests to confirm the location of their apartment when making a reservation as mentioned on our website.

I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback and hope to have you and your family with us in the near future.

Kind Regards
Chantel Wessels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    159
    59
    25
    15
See reviews for
111
170
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed with my mom and son in a two bedroom apartment. It was sea facing ground floor unit. The apartment very clean, ladies at reception very helpful. The resort is located next to beach and lots of restaurants. The red bus busstop only 3 min walk, bus great way to see cape town.

Room Tip: Choose apartments sea facing, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dineo_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We spend our first 5 nights in South Africa staying in Camps Bay Resort and could not fault it. We had a two bedroom self-catering apartment on third floor with terrific views over Camps Bay beach - I do not think all the apartments have such glorious views, but we had requested a beach view and it was exceptional. Complex appears to be made up of several different types of units/buildings so could be a bit hit and miss.
Good for self-catering - though wife surprised there is no washing machine (nor dishwasher) . Very handy to local store so we made our own breakfasts with fresh croissants, cereals and yoghurts etc from local store.
Service was good and helpful when required.
Felt very safe - we paid the R50 per night for carparking space (with electronic key access) - well worth it though there is street parking.
Rooms a little old fashioned but large comfy beds and basically did exactly what we wanted the apartment to do for us - TV in main sitting area. Bathroom adequate.
Overall we would certainly recommend but the view we had from our apartment (No 28) and there were only two others on our floor) really did make our stay.
Its a 15 min drive into downtown CapeTown but driving around was pretty straightforward. - Allow 5 days at least to 'do' Cape Town and surrounding area - as so much to see/do.
Great place - and restaurants are to die for - I've made several reviews of these

Room Tip: Ask for room with a sea view - not all have - complex is made up of several types of buildings and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prospector1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very good value for money and a good introduction when arriving at the hotel - I was personally escorted to my room and shown around all the facilities etc.

I didn't use it as such on this occasion, but the room had a great little self catering facility, offering a cheaper way to stay in the lovely Camps Bay resort and enjoy the beach/restaurants etc.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone, it would be a good idea to have a room with additional security, althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyKitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I took my 2 teenage kids with me for a night in Cape Town. The hotel is perfectly situated for kids being opposite the beach. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hot water was unfortunately not working in our unit and I was compensated by being offered a free night for the same unit and season valid for 12 months.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your review.
I hope you will take us up on our offer and return in the near future. Some things are out of our control but we like to make sure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us.
Kind regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed the place, location and facilities.
We were put in the Lions Head room. Shockingly when i opened the blinds expecting a sea view I could see a brick wall. To my right a pub and a glimpse of the ocean if I looked to my left.
there were a lot of the apartments in front that was empty on several days and we would have loved to be moved into one of theses rooms.
The safe in the room is a nice extra however it should be mounted to the wall.

We booked through a travel agent along with our car rental and flights.
When checking out firstly the guy working at the desk on 24 August were so rude and couldnt wait to just get id of us. he was about 2 seconds away of being punched in the face. Secodly you asked for a "PARKING FEE"??????????? of R50.00 per day???????????
Being in the hospitality industry myself this is outrageous!!!!!!!!!!!
Primi Piatti Kitchen is situated right underneath our room.
when it is time for closing and cleaning at roughly 23:30 there is a noise coming from there that you can hear everything the kitchen staff says to each other.
I had to get up and ask the security to quiet them down.....on 2 nights. this continues until 00:30

Room Tip: stay away from the lower floor above Primi Piatti
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your feedback as we cannot improve our services unless we are advised about it. The front apartments you mentioned are our 2 bedroom apartments that we would have gladly moved you into should you have come to reception to enquire about them.
As we are in the very hub of a very sought out area and everyone streams to Camps Bay for sunsets , restaurants as well as the beach, parking in Camps Bay in general is a huge problem. At the Resort we only have 21 enclosed bays at our disposal and we have 45 apartments. Guests are offered the choice of either parking in the Resort at a charge or they can make use of the free parking surrounding it.
We hope that you will visit us again for us to make your stay an enjoyable one.
Kind Regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights and we were so pleased with everything. We hired the studio apartment called "St. Tropez." The room was spacious, clean, and offered wonderful views of the sea and table mountain. You can walk to all the restaurants in Camps Bay and the beach, which is really convenient. We had a car with us too, and they offer secure parking for R20 a night.

The staff really go above and beyond to get you checked in quickly and to offer ideas on what to do, see and eat during your visit. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheArcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayResort, Front Office Manager at Camps Bay Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for your kind words with regards to your apartment as well as the staff. We have a really good team and we all enjoy giving out as much information and recommendations as we can and love the feedback that we receive from our guests at the end of each day
Parking is R50 in winter as it is easier to find open bays surrounding the Resort.
Kind Regards
Karin Rauwerdink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Resort

Property: Camps Bay Resort
Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the backdrop of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and a stones throw from the most beautiful beaches in Cape Town, Camps Bay Resort is perfectly located for your dream holiday in this idyllic location. Within walking distance from an abundance of day and night activities, cafe's, sundowner spots, cocktail venues, fantastic restaurants and places to be seen, staying at Camps Bay Resort is both fun and convenient. A favourite pastime at Camps Bay Resort is to soak up the sun at the two swimming pools located on the property. Boasting a selection of 47 rooms, studios and apartments which are serviced and immaculately prepared, you'll find the perfect accommodation for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Camps Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Resort Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing