We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Deco dreams”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camps Bay Village (Resort)
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Fantastic location, Beautiful old art deco building and very good service.

Only downside was the interior of the flat that did not follow the unique feel of the building. Especially kitchen decor did not match the level of standards that you would expect from this place.

Regardless, fun was had by all an d I would definitely recommed apartment for my friends and I would visit it again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wobbiegong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

323 - 329 of 407 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2011

we had been staying in near by Houts Bay at a very disappointing Lodge and decided to move to Camps Bay for our last 2 nights. Due to it being high season we were struggling to find accommodation. I rang the resort and were in luck, they had 1 room left and we got it at half price. The staff are amazing and so friendly. The room was very clean and houses a huge bed as well as a seperate kitchenette and bathroom. It is a stones throw from the beach as well as the shops and bars. Very safe area to walk around in. We needed a alte check out and although our room was booked, we had a pool side room for the whole day for R395. I throughly recommend this place!, Breakfast up to the value of R60 per person also included in a nearby cafe, this was also very good. The only downside to this place is that the windows are not double glazed and if in a room overlooking the roads this can be a problem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kareneway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We truelly had a wonderful stay here, we stayed in the Superior room & had a lovely room with a small sea view which was lovely. The room was modern,clean & check in etc was a pleasure with all the staff, they were so friendly & helpul. Was very nice to also go have a lovely breakfast at primi and its great to be so close to everything.Right in the hustle and bustle and close to all the shops. We'll def be back!!! As its good value for money compared to most other places in CT

Room Tip: Id ask for the Superior Room as it looked onto the pool and had a nice small sea view. Go there with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room, La Marbella hand separate kitchen and living room from the bedroom which was nice. The room was clean but the toilet left a lot to be desired.
Unfortunately the windows were old and nearly impossible to shut. The reason you need to shut them was to kill off the sound of the noisy traffic as the room faced a busy road. Compare this hotel with its sister hotel the Harbour House Hotel in Hermanus and they re like chalk and cheese. The apartment had no character whatsoever.
We pre-booked breakfast and for our four nights stay and we went there once. They use a cafe around the corner. It seemed If you can't fry it then its not on the menu. The health breakfast option was omelette.

Room Tip: Don't pre-order the breakfast. Don't get a room facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbison-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 22, 2011

Dear valued guest
Thank you for your review and valid comments. As we lie very close to the sea our wooden window frames suffer a lot and constantly need attention. The resort lies in the hub of Camps Bay which is lively at all times and on our website, under guest comments and recommendations; we do ask the guests to request a quiet apartment if this is what they desire. We then try and accommodate as best we can. I have approached our breakfast establishment and have relayed your request for a healthier option which they are looking into.
Kind regards
Karin Rauwerdink

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

We have spent a lovely week together with the kids. Facilities and services have been both 5 starts. We will clearly recommend this location and we will try to comeback for other vacations.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Of all the accomodation we booked in S.A ( 7 locations) this was by far the most dissapointing, first we were not given the appartment we had booked, second our confirmation stated "breakfast included" but we were told this was not the case on arrival, third the second bedroom was far too small to be satisfactory, finally, our comments ref apartment booked and breakfast etc were just simply ignored by the reception staff. Also tea/coffee sachets in kitchen were never replaced over a 4 night stayThe location is fantastic but in future we will look around the same location for better quality accomodation

Room Tip: find alternative location to this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded November 22, 2011

Dear reviewer
As a team we strive to provide the highest level of service and to ensure guest satisfaction and we apologise that you did not experience this.
Only our rooms, studios and 1 bedroom apartments include breakfast. All our family apartments exclude breakfast; this was an error that was put onto your confirmation sheet automatically from our booking system and I do sincerely apologise for this and that our staff did not honour the breakfast included option to you.
Our apartments are normally booked per apartment type and not the specific unit, but should the guest request certain features that only a few apartments in that category have we will try our best to accommodate accordingly, but this can unfortunately not be guaranteed. With reference to the tea/coffee sachets not being replaced, please note that due to the fact that we are a self-catering establishment we only provide a refreshment station for your arrival and do not replenish these items on a daily basis.
We would like to invite you back in the near future in order for you to have the true Resort experience.
Kind Regards
Karin Rauwerdink

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed in July for two weeks, myself and my two children in a lovely two bedroom apartment overlooking the brilliant blue ocean. We had a wonderful time overall - our purpose was to support a school rugby tour - but we hired a car and travelled around extensively - whale watching , riding at Noerhoek , taking the cable car - doing all the sights . The staff at the Resort were exceptionally kind and accommodating - my kids loved to eat after a busy day at the cafe on site Primi Piatti. which had divine, flavourful food with excellent service. Overall the stay was superb, lovely accommodation and suited all our needs!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance to communicate with them about your individual needs. For example when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Atlantica Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Village (Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Village (Resort)

Address: 32 Camps Bay Dr, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa (Formerly Camps Bay Village)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Camps Bay
Price Range: $78 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camps Bay Village (Resort) 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as Camps Bay Resort. Set against the backdrop of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range and a stones throw from the most beautiful beaches in Cape Town, Camps Bay Village is perfectly located for your dream holiday. Within walking distance from an abundance of day and night activities, café's, sundowner spots, cocktail venues, fantastic restaurants and places to be seen, staying at Camps Bay Village is both fun and convenient. Another favourite pastime at Camps Bay Village is to soak up the sun at the two swimming pools located on the property. New to our collection is the iconic Stone Cottages, recently renovated and transformed into a holiday makers dream. Now boasting a selection of 60 rooms, studios, apartments and cottages, you are sure to find the perfect accommodation for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camps Bay Village (Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Village (Resort) Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing