We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST PLACE EVER!!! STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!!!”
Review of Villa Simona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Simona
Ranked #49 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
DURBAN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER!!! STAY ANYWHERE ELSE!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

To add to the many bad reviews already posted here, i would advise everyone to stay away from this place and its owner. There are too many beautiful guesthouses in camps bay for one to ruin their holiday and stay here. yes the views are lovely but the house itself is disgusting!!!

i had booked here somewhere in early 2012, 2 months later my husband was having difficulty obtaining leave and i called to cancel, Simona refused to give me a cent back and said that i should go and ask my husbands boss for a refund since he does not want to grant leave. she is extremely rude and arrogant and really has nothing to offer her guests. the breakfast which is pathetically expensive tastes absolutly horrible and cold. the bathroom sink was completely clogged and filled to the brim (pics attached). there was this man from overseas with his family there and we where awakened by the screaming of simona tellin him to get out of her house, the gentleman who could hardly speak english wanted to see his sister in the house for 15 mins and simona abruptly refused and kicked him out, we were totally horrified. the rooms are very old fashioned and mind you we were on honeymoon and our first time in cape town. the stairs you have to walk up is like the grat wall of china with all your luggage and no one to help you. if you are looking for a nice place please visit VILLA AZURE which is the same rate yet a million times better, pleasant staff, excellent breafast and only 1 road away. please dont waste your time or money here. you will regret it!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ARUSHKA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    7
    7
    43
See reviews for
12
30
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

only the view is real nice but you find better elsewhere for same price or even less! unfortenly there is no improvement even if the same problems seems to be known and commented here since a long time. its really far away and all you get is a taxi phone number. my room was very small with quiet many insects living in, no view, no tv possible, you can hardly see the programme. it was very very windy, so loud you can not reallzy sleep. you also dont feel safe with easy to open windows and a bad door closing. the use of the pool was not possible for several days after so called "hurricane damage". they still charge extra for breakfast and dont think you get free wifi as usual elsewhere. the owner is a nice person and having her business for quiet some years but does not seem to understand that its not just the fault of things beeing slow in this country that makes it hard to improve guest service. she honestly seems to believe that she offers good value for money which i as a very frequent traveller can not confirm. sad as the potential would be given up there with that amazing view, but thats the only good thing that place has to offer.

Room Tip: try to get at least one of the rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClaudiClau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Camps Bay hotels

Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

After reading the reviews I was hesitant to stay at Villa Simona, however, my stay there was absolutely lovely. Upon arrival after a very long flight I was assisted with my bags and was shown to two beautiful rooms and I chose to stay in the room on the front of the property with views of the Ocean. The elephant room has a large and very comfortable bed with crisp white sheets and was quite warm and comfortable on a cold winter day (not very cold, but cold by South African standards) the bathroom is huge and modern with a large tub and shower-- The best feature which is also a slight drawback is the location--the hotel is in a residential area high on a hill in Camp's Bay which provides beautiful views, however, you are a bit away from center city, but are able to get to center city wihtin 10 minutes with a quick taxi cab ride. The property manager was lovely and provided great tips for me regarding Cape Town. Simona the property owner personally greeted me and welcomed me to this beautiful hotel. I would definitely stay there again, as the experience was quite relaxing and the setting just beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSimone14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I can only really add to the many reviews already posted on here, which much to our annoyance we only checked after we booked. We held out hope that perhaps it couldn't be as bad as the experiences on here suggested. We booked after finding Villa Simona on another website, where it was (self) rated as four stars. On arrival we were shown to a small dark room at the rear of the house, with no views whatsoever and a shared bathroom. We felt this was utterly unacceptable and completely at odds with what was advertised. We were then offered another room with en suite but were informed that it would cost an extra R1000 a night (approx. €100). We declined and were informed that due to the cancellation policy we were not entitled to any money back. Villa Simona is advertised (and priced) as luxury but offers all the luxury of a backpackers. It is tantamount to fraud. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a terrible experience, and i would urge people to avoid this place.  You should expect hostel-type conditions if you are staying in the back room that "sleeps 3" and has a small kitchen. The towels are ratty, and you will have no help carrying your bags all the way up to the room-- the equivalent of foir flights of stairs.

There are no screens on the windows, no aircon, no fans. We tried to open the windows to get a cross-breeze, but were bothered by mosquitoes all night. Only the single bed in the kitchen had a mosquito net when we stayed. Also, a stray cat wandered into our room and onto our bed in the middle of the night, leading us to close the windows and suffer through the heat. We got no sleep at all.

After the first night, we complained to simona the owner and sought to check out and get a refund for the 2nd night due to the stray cat and generally sub-standard room condition. Simona refused because we had gone through booking.com and only offered to put a second mosquito net in the room to address our concerns.  When booking.com later confirmed that the villa certainly had the option to refund our money, simona refused and charged us for two nights anyway, despite the fact that we had checked out and returned the keys after the first night.  Terrible.

The back room has no real views at all. I strongly urge against staying here.  Sure to disappoint. Check out parker cottage or an african villa for much nicer accommodations and in a similar price range.

This place looks generally run down, and based on Simona's charging us for two nigjts despite our staying only one, they seem pretty desperate and wholly uninterested intheir reputation.

We held out hope that this place couldnt be as bad as the reviews claimed, but we were sorely disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ktowner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were ripped off! This place was awful from the get-go.

There is alot of stairs - be warned if you have a baby in a stroller or need handicap access or have any other joint problems! The place is poorly lit and an accident waiting to happen. We didnt leave our room at night for fear of tumbling down the stairs!

It is NOT family friendly at all! I paid for a 2-bedroomed apartment and got one bedroom and one kitchen and bathroom with a 3/4 bed in it. The windows dont close properly, and the harsh atlantic winds whistle at all hours through this shoddy 'apartment'. The construction site next door starts going very early - so be ready for drilling, banging and screaming at all hours.

Fishmoths, ticks and well-worn, tired sheets amid apalling decor was what we had on offer! There was no towel change in our 4-day stay, no freshening of loo paper, even our dishes werent washed by the 'maid service' who served nothing but an intrustion every morning at 10am while we were severly jetlagged after a 30-hour flight!

NO iron or hairdryer in room, and unfriendly, even rude staff and management. The 'free' parking means parking your car on the roadside and 'hoping for the best'. You can set the alarm in your room when you leave, to keep your belongings safe, but no such consideration for when you sleep at night!

Be prepared to pay for wifi, which should really be included in room rates for this area and this rate!

The view from our room was a peak of the mountain out of a small corner window - hardly enticing!

We were so very disappointed at this place, we didnt even bother sampling the pool, and spent as much time away from the place as possible so as to at least have a positive experience of the rest of Cape Town!

Save your money and book decent accommodation anywhere but here!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonymousyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you want to enjoy your stay in Camps Bay, do not stay here! The only decent thing about this place is the view and maybe the pool. The rooms are absolutely disgusting, filthy and so terribly run down it was revolting. I cannot find anything nice to say about this place, such an extreme disappointment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
1.2 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachside
Beachside
#30 of 54 in Camps Bay
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 54 in Camps Bay
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camps Bay Villa
Camps Bay Villa
#35 of 54 in Camps Bay
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cb-one
Cb-one
#139 of 513 in Cape Town
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bateleurs Rontree Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Simona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Simona

Property: Villa Simona
Address: 29 Theresa Avenue | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Simona 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Simona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Simona Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing