We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Luxury Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2009

The AtlanticView is a fine example of Luxury Boutique Hotel at its very best. From the moment we arrived we were stunned by the magnificent views, the fine tasteful yet unique decor and the quality of our room and its furnishings.

We LOVED room 3, unusual in that it has been built into the hillside literally with rock exposed in the room. The room was sumptuously furnished in an African style with a number of one off pieces all of excellent quality. The en suite shower room was of a good size and very well appointed, and the view from the room across the infinity pool to the sea and the beach of Camps Bay and the Lion Head mountain was fantastic. This room is well located as you are only a couple of steps down to the pool.

The owners Greg and Rainer and the staff have to be complimented on the attention to detail that is paid to the guests. The breakfasts are wonderful, we ordered a cold platter one evening and we were delighted with the presentation and choice, and to round things off at the end of a perfect day you can enjoy the comlimentary wine tasting and canapes for two hours while the sun sets over the sea!! a service not found in many of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in. Around the hotel and in the rooms there are stunning fresh flower arrangements reguarly replaced which were a delight. One evening we were serenaded by a harpist on the terrace, and on New years eve our room was filled with balloons and rose petals with a complimentary bottle of champagne.It is these personal touches that are so appreciated.

If you want a 5 star impersonal regular hotel which looks pretty much the same in every country, then Atlanticview is probably not for you, but if you are looking for something romantic and memorable from your African holiday then this is the place to come. Well done to Greg and Rainer and all the staff, we cant wait to return.

Stayed: December 2008
Thank smith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 943 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2009

We just came back from a 6 nights stay at Atlanticview Hotel.
I have to say our memories are disappointing. We stayed in many 5* Hotels around the world, and this one does not live up to to the prices at all! The view is amazing, and staff is really nice and committed. But for the horrendous prices I would expect far more out of that property.

I booked our room back in April and after e-mailing with Greg we have decided to go for room Nr. 3 (which he stated was his favourite room in the building)! The room was not at all what we expected and way TOO expensive for what it is!
The room is literally beside the hotel bar, where the breakfast is served every morning at 08.00am.
So this means no sleeping in for you! They set up the breakfast at 07:00am and you can hear everything being arranged for breakfast on the bar counter. Furthermore if the sundowners take place, all of the people sit right in front of your room, so NO PRIVACY at all! You can’t hardly get out of your room if the people sit on the bar chairs. Even the other guest were really surprised seeing us coming out of the room (they thought it was the entrance to the kitchen), How can you locate a room besides a bar??

We actually booked this small hotel because we wanted to have some privacy and not stay in at a big property. With this room it was just impossible. Even if you open the window (as you can see on the picture) the sun beds are right in front of your nose and the people laying there can just simply raise their head up and watch you sleeping in your room.

The bathroom was really small and with one person standing in front of the sink, another person
was not able to get into the bath.
Toilette is broken as well, water running down all the time.

We got upgraded into the Infinity Suite on our last night, which we have to say is really nice.
The rooms in the new building seem to be much bigger and more “up to date”. I strongly recommend you only book the suites. I have looked at all the other rooms (Nr. 4, 5, 3) and they are NOT WORTH the money (we paid GBP 275.00 per night).
If you want to spend that much money, take the suites!
I talked to other guests about their rooms and they all agreed that they have expected more and it’s an exaggerated price there are asking.

Another disappointing thing is that they charge you for EVERYTHING. We stayed there for 6 nights, which brings them some nice money! They charge you for every bottle of water or soda. I mean it’s a 5 star property, at least I expect one bottle of water a day to be complementary! They even charge you for using the shower on your last day (we had to check out at 11:00am / flight left at 06:00pm)!!! How can you charge for a shower after people spending a HUGE amount of money at your property?
This just simply leaves a bad taste after all!

The staff is really nice and very friendly. But strangely all the staff members we met have only been there for 2 months??? What is that supposed to mean?

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Zurich82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

I came across this boutique hotel after reading reviews from other travellers on the TripAdvisor website, so it had a lot to live up to! I made contact with Greg (the owner) who was extremely knowledgeable about the area and also helped me to book 5 superb restaurants for our stay (please go to the Showroom restaurant – it was amazing!).

This was for the start of our honeymoon so I wanted to stay in a hotel that offered luxury but also with a personal touch that a large corporate hotel doesn’t and I think that sums up AtlanticView perfectly. This is a modern hotel in a beautiful setting with excellent service from all the staff; you will be made to feel very welcome and very safe.

The best thing for me about this hotel is the location itself. Camps Bay is a truly fabulous place to stay and the positioning of AtlanticView means are not directly in the hustle and bustle but only a few minutes away by car.

I will definitely be returning to this hotel when I next travel to Cape Town and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Thank you Greg and the team!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dan_s_f63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Everything that has already been said about Atlantic View is all true!

The property is stunning, the decor is so stylish and all the staff are wonderful - from the manager down to the security guy - all so friendly, happy and willing to make our stay as perfect as possible.

We had 8 wonderful nights in the Pineapple Suite - treat yourself, its fabulous! Great trips out organised by the staff, meals in restaurants (all booked beforehand by the staff to avoid disappointment) which were some of the best we have ever had (and so cheap in comparison to UK), met some super other guests from all around the world, drank some fantastic wine (try Moreson Magia) and thought Cape Town was absolutely gorgeous!

Holidays come and go and are sometimes very quickly forgotten but we will never forget Atlantic View and are anxious to return as soon as we possibly can.

Happy New Year to everyone there and Ian and I hope that you have a fantastic one!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaynePiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed in the hotel over Christmas 2008.

It is a modern boutique hotel up above Camps Bay with fabulous views.

The hotel is top class and the attention to detail and quality of the staff is excellent. We stayed in the pineapple suite which is huge and has private balcony and great views next to a shared infinity pool.

Sundower drinks are served at night and offer the opportunity to meet other guests. Other than this you are fairly self contained so you can decide if you want to meet others or not.

We did not have a car but the staff were great at taking us to places in the hotel cars. Its about 5 mins drive down to the camps bay beach and about 10/15 mins into Cape Town.

If you are looking for a special place away from big hotels in a great location, fantastic views and brilliantly run then this is the place to come to.

Greg and his team have created a special place.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TimsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We spent a week at Atlantic View in December and found the beauty of the setting and the tranquility of the place so compelling that we scarcely ventured beyond.
The staff are excellent and will gladly offer ideas on potential trips or places at which to dine; any of which they will help to arrange and will even provide a chauffeur-driven service (for a modest price) in the excellent range of company cars.
There are two small infinity pools, one of each of the two terraces. These terraces offer outstanding views of the ocean and the Twelve Apostles and Lions Head. It's an impressive backdrop for the complementary canapes and wine that are served at sunset.
I'd highly recommend this place for couples looking for an elegant, contemporary and stylish base from which to explore the Cape... that is if you can bear to leave the place for long enough!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LondonAbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Booked this hotel and made all our plans and five days later told that they could not accomodate us and refunded our money. Not very professional to cancel the customer one week before travelling.
So book with caution and double check you actually have a booking

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
6  Thank nicky46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregBLondon, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2009

Dear Trip Advisor readers,

This was a last min booking over New Years for a room on 12th Jan. I personally found them 2 choices of alternative 5 star accommodation nearby. The situation was handled politely + professionally on
a first come first served basis. The deposit was immediately refunded the day after it was received.

We are virtually fully booked for Jan and Feb with only a hand full of dates available. Inevitably last minute there were 2 couples trying to book the same space from both our central London reservations office and at the hotel reception. Regrettably we only had one room, so one couple were unable to book. Guests already staying with us wanting to return at the end of their trip had already snapped up the cancellation space and paid. The writer of this review was still working on their last min trip/itinerary so were not really inconvenienced at all, only disappointed.

This does not reflect on our reservations system or
service at all and should be discarded as a vindictive action by a party who never stayed with us.

Safe travels,

Greg Boki (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Address: 31 Francolin Road | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $267 - $1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Graded Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel has 9 rooms and suites. This unique Cape Town Boutique Hotel is set high atop fashionable Camps Bay along the Riviera of South Africa. It has the most spectacular views of the sea and mountains. The position is perfect and convenient to all tourist attractions. Atlanticview Cape Town do not permit small children into the property. This is very popular with honeymooners and couples who wish to just get away with a bit of peace, quiet + relaxation. Well behaved teens and singles are welcome. This Cape Town Hotel has stylish air-conditioned, non-smoking rooms (three fifty to three ninety sq ft) and suites (six hundred to seven fifty sq ft). All with spectacular views, quality furnishings, all season goose down duvets (featherless available) and percale bed-linens. Master Bedroom, Penthouse, Infinity and Sunset Suites now have super king Tempur-pedic Mattresses for your maximum comfort and quality rest. Guests can have a work out in the gym, a dip in the pool, a relaxing massage or a run on the beach. Rates incl Taxes, Welcome Refreshments, Breakfasts, WiFi, use of the Gym, 2 Solar heated Infinity pools, Guests Computer plus a generous amount of Quality Wines with delicious home made Hors-d'oeuvres and Canapés every evening to celebrate the magnificent southern Atlantic sunsets.To serve you there are 18 young hotel professionals to 18 guests. Atlanticview Boutique Hotel Camps Bay has its own in-house fleet of air-conditioned Mercedes for airport and local transfers to the beach, restaurants or tourist attractions. There is a Range Rover for private tours to the Winelands or Cape Point or wherever you would like to go, all with a friendly face from the hotel behind the wheel. Atlanticview is the only Cape Town hotel of its size to boast this service as well as two Infinity pools for their guests to enjoy. Rates for the car service are little more than local taxis. It is excellent value as well as a safe, comfortable and convenient way of getting around. Camps Bay is one of the safest up market communities in Cape Town and is the only Atlantic Seaboard beach town with a promenade packed full of world class restaurants and bars. Reservations are all handled personally by the US owners. Cuisine Technology SA, the hotels sister company supplies all the top chefs and restaurants in the country making dinner reservations in the top venues possible. The owner is known for ringing the chefs private cell phones on occasion to get guests in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlanticview Capetown Boutique
Atlanticview Capetown Boutique Camps Bay
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel Camps Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing