We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great getaway”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed only for 1 night, but were completely wowed by the great view, hospitality and size of the room. Due to luck and fairly low occupancy over the winter we were also upgraded sea facing room with a great view and oversized outdoor furniture where you can sink into sipping bubbly. The in-room breakfast was the best I've every had in any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janpublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Hi Jan,

Thank you for writing in. We are so glad you enjoyed your short stay with us.
Do come back and visit again when you are visiting Cape Town!

Warm regards and safe travels,

Greg, Rainer and the Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    47
    25
    12
    11
See reviews for
54
617
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Atlanticview during the last week of August, 2012. I cannot begin to speak about how fantastic this place is. Calling it a “hotel” seems to be a disservice. The accommodations and the service are all literally as amazing as described in previous posts. As relatively well-traveled Americans, we wondered if Atlanticview could truly live up to the reviews. Let me clearly state that Atlanticview exceeds the limited descriptions here. If you are considering staying here, I want to end your quandary. I could go on and on about the delicious wines and canapés every night, unmatched service like a personal and immediate ride to and from anywhere in a luxury vehicle, an immaculate room every single time you leave and return, staff that memorize not just your name but your likes and dislikes and can get you in to any restaurant, activity, excursion or tourist site with a quick phone call, but I only have limited space to write here.

A few reviews make reference to things like rowdy bar areas and all night restaurants. Those types of experiences are plentiful at chain hotels. The Atlanticview is for people who enjoy luxury, pampering and hand-delivered service. You cannot compare the difference between getting on a crowded bus of tourists picked up from every hotel in Cape Town and getting into a Range Rover with just your companion and a guide who was born and raised in Cape Town providing you detailed information about your surroundings. A few reviews reference the cost of Atlanticview. You really cannot even quantify the security of door-to-door service ( you are literally walked to your room when you return for the evening) and personal tours that you dictate. But, if you did, you would find that the nightly rate is a bargain considering standards such as outstanding breakfasts, appetizers and unlimited wine in the evenings and unlimited free movies in your room. The private rides to and from wherever you are headed were also competitively priced. We took a taxi once, not only did it cost more, he got lost and I seriously thought the muffler was going to pop off and roll down the mountainside. The Camps Bay police had to come and guide us back to Atlanticview. That Mercedes sounds good doesn’t it?
We were treated so well at Atlanticview we were literally sad when we went to the airport to fly home. We actually fought over staff-member Mansur with another couple because he absolutely made our stay and experience in Cape Town magical. Jarrod, Dale, Wendy and of course Greg, made for an exceptional honeymoon. I loved the personalized booking procedure that Greg offers. It makes you feel like the service has begun before you have even arrived.

A few tips: 1) Go to the evening sundowners. It is a great way to decide where to go, eat, etc. based on the stories of other guests. 2) Ask for cooked breakfast if you like, it’s delicious! 3) Take the staff’s advice on restaurants, each one was a winner. 4) We stayed in Room 1. It was indeed noisy due to the wind but depending on where you are from, it really is not that bothersome. We actually kind of liked it. 5) Do not take a taxi unless you have to. 6) As SOON as the weather appears clear, go up to Table Mountain. Do not wait! The cable car does not run on cloudy days. 7) If you arrive late, order the shrimp and lobster for your room. So delicious you will cry tears. 7) Very important: Book at Atlanticview and do not worry. You have chosen well.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a bit noisy. But it offers privacy and a great view of both Table Mountain and the Atlant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kanikab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Kanika and Courtney,

Congratulations again to you both again and thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your honeymoon and it was our pleasure in making it so special for you to enjoy. That was really very sweet of you to say some of the things you did. The local taxis are rough 9 times out of 10 and do take guests on wild goose chases. It happened to me a few times and our guests were regularly complaining about the local taxis. This is why we have introduced our luxury car service a few yrs ago so that our guests are safely taken to wherever they want to go whenever they want to go in air-conditioned comfort and style with a familiar face behind the wheel.

It was my pleasure to help you plan your honeymoon to South Africa. I enjoyed helping you both and am delighted to know you enjoyed your trip so much. On behalf of myself and the Atlanticview team. Thank you again for honeymooning with us and for all the lovely things you said.

Best wishes to you both!

Greg, Rainer and The Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for my birthday with friends. The greeting was warm and friendly and the staff great from that point on. The sundowners and canapés were fantastic and a great way to start the evening before we headed out to dinner following the recommendations from the staff.
The rooms were large and luxurious, the breakfast a mixture of buffet and cooked to order.

Fantastic place where I hope I can get the opportunity to stay at again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1FlyingKiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Flying Kiwi,

We just love your membership handle... its fun! Thank you for coming all the way from New Zealand to visit Cape town and join us for your birthday at Atlanticview and for taking the time to
write in and post your review. Thank you for all the lovely things you said. We are so pleased we were able to make your trip and birthday celebrations so special. It was our pleasure.

Best wishes and many happy returns.

Greg, Rainer and The Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for four days in August following a friend's recommendation. We were originally contemplating one of the more expensive established 5* hotels, but everyone I spoke to said that Camp's Bay is the place to stay - beach, bars, restaurants and a more residential local feel. Absolutely true, I would avoid the V&A waterfront and just visit there during the day.

This boutique hotel is in a couple of converted villas which gives you a true feeling of living in Cape Town (albeit the nicest area). The hotel is also very well located for trips to the beach (can walk), to town (5-10min by car) or the vineyards and cape point. The views across the bay are great, got some snaps of whales (though I recommend a big zoom!), and table mountain overlooks the hotel from behind. It wasn't the weather to use the pools in August, but they look great for the summer time, especially if the beach is busy. Rooms are spacious and very well appointed, but what made it for us was firstly the staff (truly fantastic), then the hotel's own car service for shooting around town or going on longer trips, and finally the food which is simply extraordinary - gourmet breakfast served to your room and fantastic home made canapés with wine complementary every evening. Not the chronic chain hotel cheap wine to make it seem "special", but actually interesting local selections, and a variety too, every evening something different. Being a boutique hotel with a small number of rooms there is also always an interesting influx of guests (mostly very sociable). One night we must have been up till 3am with several guests and bottles of wine just chatting in front of the fireplace.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, and we were very glad not to have taken one of the traditional 5* places. No doubt Cape Grace is fantastic, but to us this was the real experience and much more cosy, and I don't really see how the service, or indeed the rooms, could have been much better (I travel a lot globally, typically staying in the most high-end hotels).

There are only a handful of hotels actually in Camp's Bay and this is one of them, and probably the best (I have not heard otherwise from anyone else, including locals). You will not regret choosing to stay here, even if you only familiar with the most luxurious 5* establishments. This is one of them (albeit without a 5,000sqm spa). I will not hesitate to stay here again and I have already advised to two couples to do the same. Enjoy! And thanks to the Atlanticview team :-).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Hello Arlu,

Thank you for your beautiful review and saying what you did. We do try to offer a unique experience of living the good life in Cape Town rather than that of the bigger cold hotels in the tourist trap areas such as the V+A. Of the top 3 hotels in Camps Bay we actually are in Camps Bay and have the position of commanding vies where 12 Apostles are 4 km out from Camps Bay itself and isolated with its busy noisy highway in front of it. The other POD boasts close to the beach but has a clipped view to the right as there is the ugliest monstrosity in Camps Bay directly across from them blocking most of the beach and views. It looks like a old council block and its directly in front of them.

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and that we lived up to your expectations during your very special honeymoon holiday.

We wish you both all the best in future and hope you can join us again sometime.

Warm regards,

Greg, Rainer and The Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My new husband and i stayed at the Atlantic View for the final 5 nights of our honeymoon in South Africa. We could not have asked for more. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite, which was both very spacious and stunning. Each morning, a beautiful breakfast was delivered to our room for us to enjoy. Nothing was too much trouble for the team at the Atlantic View and they looked after us with such warmth and enthusiasm - we really felt like we got to know the team and genuinely looked forward to seeing them every day. The canapes and wine in the bar downstairs every evening is such a wonderful idea. It was a lovely, relaxed way to meet other guests and kick-start our evening out. We organised a couple of tours through the Atlantic View to the Winelands and Cape Point - again, nothing was too much trouble and it was a really easy, luxurious way to experience more of South Africa. It is the only place we will stay when we next return to Cape Town - quite simply top notch. Thanks to Dale and the team for everything you did to make the end to our honeymoon truly wonderful. Paul and Gill Lawton.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillMcC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi Gill and Paul,

Thank you for your review and for honeymooning with us. We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the private Range Rover Tours. The team enjoyed your visit too. They said how nice it was to have you as guests.

We wish you all the best in future and do come back to visit again some day soon!

Greg, Rainer, Dale and the Atlanticview Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Thanks again to everybody in Atlanticview for making our weekend even more special than I expected... I planned to propose to my girlfriend during our stay in Atlanticview and everything turned to be perfect, except weather... :) Not their fault… They prepared our room full of red petals and complementary champagne before we arrived in the evening to celebrate the "YES"... because fortunately she said YES... :) ...anyway, about Atlanticview, the location is perfect for any activity around Cape Town and the hotel is just beautiful. This hotel is one of those hotels where every single small detail is beautifully decorated. Service was very helpful as well, we had some noises coming from the top solar panels or something like that and they switched them off every time we were in the room for our comfort. Our room ("The Master Bedroom") had views to both sides, 12 apostles and the bay, just amazing. It is just special to wake up with those views... breakfast was served in the room. It was a very healthy one with lots of fruit and cereals, but they also happily and quickly attended our request to bring something with eggs and bacon/sausages... we felt like that in the morning, and even that plate looked like perfectly designed when they delivered it in 5 min... Sadly, we could not use the pool and outside area because of the weather but it looked very relaxing... hopefully we can go back in summer time!!

We did enjoy a lot our stay there and obviously Atlanticview is now part of our love story...

Room Tip: The Master Bedroom is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amartinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Congratulations to you both on your recent engagement at Atlanticview!

We were all so excited and delighted when we heard the answer was YES!

Our naughty little Atlanticview cupids all wish you both the most wonderful future together.

Thank you for making it a part of Atlanticview. It was our pleasure to have you join us for such a memorable visit!

Warm regards and best wishes from all of us at Atlanticview Cape Town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Atlanticview is over the top but not overstated. The rooms are all unique and our room, "The Pinneapple Room" was beautiful. Seperate deck with comfortable furniture and incredible view with one of the two pools just 30 feet away. Just go to their website and look at the rooms...they are actually even nicer than the pictures. The morning complimentary in room breakfast service is something we have never seen and we are seasoned international travelers...you will be impressed period. Their staff is on top of everything in terms of providing tours to the Wine Lands or down the Cape. They are knowledgable intersting people that are passionate about this unique part of the world. If that isn't enough they have complimentary wine and unique tasty gourmet treats every night. The location in Camps Bay is the place to stay because you are close to everything but located in an upscale safe area. Trust me this is a place that you will be longing to go back to. We look forward to our next journey to Cape Town and our stay at Atlanticview in Camps Bay. Matt & Resa Salter, San Francisco, California.

Room Tip: Go on line and look at their rooms. The visual is what you will get with no surprises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellTraveledandDined, Owner at Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hello Matt and Resa,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write your review.
It was our pleasure to have you join us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your trip so much. Your friend Tim has already contacted us about returning soon.

Do come back again when you are in Africa. You are always welcome.

Warm regards,

Greg, Rainer and the Atlanticview Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,091 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel

Property: Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Address: 31 Francolin Road | Cape Town, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-Star Graded Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel has 9 rooms and suites. This unique Cape Town Boutique Hotel is set high atop fashionable Camps Bay along the Riviera of South Africa. It has the most spectacular views of the sea and mountains. The position is perfect and convenient to all tourist attractions. Atlanticview Cape Town do not permit small children into the property. This is very popular with honeymooners and couples who wish to just get away with a bit of peace, quiet + relaxation. Well behaved teens and singles are welcome. This Cape Town Hotel has stylish air-conditioned, non-smoking rooms (three fifty to three ninety sq ft) and suites (six hundred to seven fifty sq ft). All with spectacular views, quality furnishings, all season goose down duvets (featherless available) and percale bed-linens. Master Bedroom, Penthouse, Infinity and Sunset Suites now have super king Tempur-pedic Mattresses for your maximum comfort and quality rest. Guests can have a work out in the gym, a dip in the pool, a relaxing massage or a run on the beach. Rates incl Taxes, Welcome Refreshments, Breakfasts, WiFi, use of the Gym, 2 Solar heated Infinity pools, Guests Computer plus a generous amount of Quality Wines with delicious home made Hors-d'oeuvres and Canapés every evening to celebrate the magnificent southern Atlantic sunsets.To serve you there are 18 young hotel professionals to 18 guests. Atlanticview Boutique Hotel Camps Bay has its own in-house fleet of air-conditioned Mercedes for airport and local transfers to the beach, restaurants or tourist attractions. There is a Range Rover for private tours to the Winelands or Cape Point or wherever you would like to go, all with a friendly face from the hotel behind the wheel. Atlanticview is the only Cape Town hotel of its size to boast this service as well as two Infinity pools for their guests to enjoy. Rates for the car service are little more than local taxis. It is excellent value as well as a safe, comfortable and convenient way of getting around. Camps Bay is one of the safest up market communities in Cape Town and is the only Atlantic Seaboard beach town with a promenade packed full of world class restaurants and bars. Reservations are all handled personally by the US owners. Cuisine Technology SA, the hotels sister company supplies all the top chefs and restaurants in the country making dinner reservations in the top venues possible. The owner is known for ringing the chefs private cell phones on occasion to get guests in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlanticview Capetown Boutique
Atlanticview Capetown Boutique Camps Bay
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel Camps Bay, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing