We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse
Ranked #11 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendliest place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Fantastic guesthouse! Great views overlooking Camps Bay and conveniently located a short distance to the beach front and all the restaurants.

Meryll has to be the nicest hostess we've ever met, amazingly friendly and has loads of great tips on places to eat/drink and things to do.

The guesthouse itself is lovely, really well decorated and our room was immaculate. As other guests have mentioned the attention to detail is second to none, we couldn't stop laughing about the amount of petals and flowers that are distributed about the place!

We're already planning our next trip back to SA and Camps Bay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc_Weaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
216
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Look, you can see all the other 5 star reviews... what can I say?

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in.

And as of October 2010, if you ask Meryll nicely she will show you the new puppy!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RossKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed at 51 Camps Bay as part of my 60th Birthday celebrations and had the most wonderful time. This is our 4th time in Camps Bay and this was by far our favourite place to stay
Merryl (the owner) is extremely helpful,friendly and attentive. She has a lovely calm manner which sets the tone of the guest house. The staff are happy and relaxed and nothing is too much trouble
Merryl advised us well on places to visit and went to great lengths to arrange a whale watching trip even checking the weather forecast ahead of time, a lovely breakfast tray arrived in our room the night before in anticipation of the early start
We stayed in the mountain room, a beautifully furnished room at the back of the house complete with a huge sleigh bed ,crisp cotton bed linen and huge fluffy white towels
We could not have wished for a better place to stay and will definitely be staying there on future trips to Cape Town

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Great location, attentive service, fine attention to detail. Ask for the front room, it costs a little more but is a lovely space. Just up the road from Camps Bay beach. We loved our time in Cape Town and 51 was a big part of the reason why. Also great in the Cape are Bravado's for pizza and Boo Radley's for burgers.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

We spent 2 nights at 51 on Camps Bay in mid January 2010.
There's handy parking right out front and upon arrival we were greeted with the news we had been upgraded !
We stayed in the honeymoon suite and it was fabulous.
So good in fact we decided to pick up food for our dinner on one evening and eat on our own private terrace with the sun setting.
I cannot fault the service, which was helpful, friendly and totally unobtrusive.
The room was decorated with flowers and kept immaculately.
Located on the road leading into town it was an easy downhill walk to the bars, restaurants and beach. The location may include some noise from trucks pushing uphill if you're a very light sleeper but this didn't bother us.
51 on Capms Bay could even be seen as an option instead of staying in central Cape Town because of cheap taxis/ease of driving into town.
We felt safe and secure and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

'We stayed one night at this place - the view over the coast was incredible. The design of the room can only be described as a vision - the walk-in bathroom, great lighting and small touches like fresh petals on the towels meant that our visit was amazing. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawyer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

2nd visit to Cape Town and Camps Bay and I'm so glad we stayed here. Fantastic room, nice pool and really good breakfasts. Meryll was great and very helpful. When we return to Cape Town we will certainly stay here again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Marly Hotel
The Marly Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 60 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse

Property: 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse
Address: 51 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse Hotel Camps Bay
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing