We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Camps Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse
Ranked #16 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning and end of our holiday. It's a really nice place to start your holiday as it's relaxing and friendly and great to come back to for the last night. We loved our rooms both times, didn't mind the road as it was fairly quiet at night and Corrie was brill, helped us out with loads of stuff - no trouble at all. We really liked Camps Bay for its great choice of restaurants - this was the only place we had an Indian meal !!! We used the hop on/off bus to get around Cape Town which was really good & meant we didn't have to move the car. It was R250 for a two day ticket, so great value as a taxi one way is R140.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieBis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

We occupied two of the three rooms and had a wonderful five days. The rooms were as good as a four star hotel, terrific view from the honeymoon suite. We really noticed the attention to detail, beds turned down at night, little pieces of thyme(I think) on our pillows, wonderful luxurious bath, double shower as well in our room. The breakfast was delicious, we had a full English most days, and nothing was too much trouble for Corrie who looked after us and gave us suggestions on the sights to see. A short walk from Camps Bay where there were some really good restaurants for evening meals. We were lucky with the exchange rate but really excellent value. Only down side is that it's on a fairly main road but you get used to it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I spent a short two nights at 51 Camps Bay and was so at home here. The location is perfect being an easy short walk (or even shorter drive) down to the beach and resturants. Getting into the heart of Cape Town is also super easy and takes in the gorgeous view- loved that drive!
The breakfast was excellent, room was huge and so comfortable, Corrie was a fantastic host. Would love to be back in the summer months!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeecydeLaFontaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great house. I was in CT this winter and enjoyed the sleepy vibe of the city at that time. 51cb was an ideal spot to base from. Away from the hustle, but just a short walk to the main district of Camps Bay; very easy to get the affordable red bus into other parts of the city. The house has great ocean views. The attention to detail, both in the housekeeping services and breakfasts, were top-notch. The house manager was relaxed and never obtrusive, but was there when you needed him. Really had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markBKLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in the honeymoon suite which was absolutely stunning with fabulous views. We felt incredibly welcome and like nothing would be too much trouble. The only minor downside is that you can hear the traffic in the morning but it is not a hugely busy road. For the price this is fantastic value. Despite not being on honeymoon we felt utterly spoilt! We would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieWolstenholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My stay at 51 on Camps Bay made my trip to Cape Town all the more special. The attention to detail and personalised service was second-to-none. It's the only place I've stayed where there is fresh milk in the in-room fridge for my morning cup of tea! I would highly recommend it and will definately be back.
Special thanks to Corrie who was the perfect host.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our stay at 51 Camps Bay Guesthouse was elegant, comfortable, and relaxing. The extra special care demonstrated by our hosts was remarkable--perfection plus. The location was exceedingly convenient. It was a short walk down Camps Bay road to stellar restaurants (e.g., The Codfather), taxis, or the Hop On/Hop Off Bus. (The bus is 150 R for the day, and it's worthwhile to get on the red route and take the longish way back home to the guesthouse, sitting top deck for the views. It's about the same as a taxi ride, and if viewing is the priority rather than speed, very worthwhile.)
Breakfasts were superb, a nice lay out of fresh fruit, rolls, yogurt, muesli or a hot breakfast. The deluxe room was commodious and comfortable with wonderful chairs on the deck for those spectacular sunset views. The honesty bar in the room is stocked nicely. There is a huge walk-in closet with full-length mirror (which is helpful as the bath has stand-alone mirrors). The minor flaws--no plug-in in the bathroom, no towel bars or a towel bar too far to reach across the tub--fade, given the wealth of positives. It does become clear why there is an extension cord with the hairdryer. The bath features both tub and shower. The room is wonderfully light with floor to ceiling windows on two sides. Overall, a fabulous experience. Would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse

Address: 51 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $64 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced self-catering suites offering luxury and convenience just a short walk from the Camps Bay beach and its restaurant strip ... more   less 
Also Known As:
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse Hotel Camps Bay
51 On Camps Bay Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing