We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Umi

Umi
Ranked #22 of 46 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Good sushi. Good white SA wine. Expectional service with a very friendly and professional waitress. Price is fair. Panorama is nice. I would definetely advice it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefano G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased with your excellent rating and do look forward to another opportunity to entertain you .

best wishes,

Alison Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    113
    49
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
275 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Sunset and sushi”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Firstly the decor is divine and if you are not sitting inside and have the pleasure of being on the balcony ... It's the best view in Camps Bay. We both had Pineapple Crush mocktails which were deliciously refreshing . Cost R40. We chose a selection of dishes and all were very nice. The portions are not large . For instance we had the Rock Shrimp tempura at R100 was 6 pieces - that's outrageous, and they are not as good as Nobu. We had more success with the sashimi salad, the fish tacos, salmon gravlax urimaki and the chicken Kara age. The chicken Kara age was deboned wings in crunchy tempura with a spicy smokey dip .... Very yummy. It's not Nobu but the prices are. It is however very good Asian fusion food in a stunning location.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Good day and thank you for the wonderful rating, we are pleased you had a lovely time with us and we look forward to your next visit .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Forgettable food, unforgettable bill - nearly R700/head!!!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I visited the restaurant for dinner as part of a large party of international visitors. The waitress suggested that she put together a selection of items of her choosing for the table to share, indicating that we would have the opportunity to specify how much we wished to spend. However, the food started arriving and it appears that no-one was consulted about costs. After a certain point, we indicated that we had had more than enough, and still more food came out (3 additional dishes), most of which was donated to the car guard after the meal.

The food was fine, definitely not bad, but at the same time, certainly not outstanding (of the plethora of dishes, the salad leaves with truffle oil I think was the only one that actually stood out for me). A couple of people found the cocktails they ordered undrinkable. (The restaurant did not ask why they were left undrunk, nor offered to replace these.) But people were happy on the whole. And then the bill arrived - amounting to almost R700/head. I chose not to address this at the time, as I had not selected the restaurant and I did not want to embarrass the visitors. But in trying to elicit feedback on 2 occasions subsequently, I have had no response from the restaurant. This seems to indicate that they are not interested in repeat business, but rather in taking advantage of tourists to push too much over-priced food, in order to inflate the bill far beyond reasonable expectations. I also believe that this practice does not actually do the restaurant credit, because (as mentioned earlier) the meal turned out to be quite forgettable - I can remember very few of the dishes that came out.

To justify a close to R700/head bill, the food and service need to be impeccable - definitely not worth it for average food and management who are indifferent to unhappy customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank raw249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Rosemary,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We take all guest feedback seriously and endeavour to exceed our guests expectations and not leave them feeling ripped off.
If our guests have not ordered dishes then we do not charge for them, and if the cocktails were not drinkable a manager should have removed them from the bill. It is unfortunate that you did not raise this issue with the management on the evening of your visit where this could have been dealt with .
We are investigating the matter internally and appreciate the feedback which gives us an opportunity to address all points and issues raised.


regards,

Alison Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Recommended by Atlantic Suites we had dinner at Umi during our stay in Camps Bay. Stunning setting, delicious Japanese style food. Well worth a visit

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank IvyOvzinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Good day and than you for your review and excellent rating. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

regards,

Alison Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I struggle to understand some of the poorer reviews for this place, and suspect some had to do with early teething troubles. For us the ambience was perfect, and the views of Camps Bay astonishing, especially as the sun set. Our waiter was extremely helpful, his recommendations spot on.The food arrived very quickly and we just couldn't fault it, the belly pork was mouth watering and the line fish cooked to perfection.The overall experience was lovely, they catered to our every need, even bringing the little one a blanket after the sun went down! I would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlisonOPS2014, Operations Manager at Umi, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Good day and thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased with the positive feedback and the wonderful rating. It's always of utmost importance that that they have a memorable dining experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Alison Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umi also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to Umi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing