We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had booked for more than 1 night!”
Review of Primi Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Primi Royal
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wish we had booked for more than 1 night!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely little hotel with very attentive and obliging staff. We stayed in room 4 which had a huge bed and very big bathroom. No terrace but patio doors with a fantastic view of Camps Bay. As previously mentioned the parking is limited. Close to shops and eating places in Camps Bay. Also close to hop-on hop-off bus stop. Good breakfast. Worth considering as a base for Cape Town as much cheaper than city centre hotels yet has easy access to the centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hello our very own Lancashire Lass... :-)))

Thank you so much for your very kind comments! Very much appreciated.
Sorry you could not stay longer and hope you can return someday.

Yes - Camps Bay is a brilliant choice to stay for either businesss or pleasure.
Only 8-10 mins drive to town centre or Waterfront & The Royal has the best sunset views ever!
I'd encourage everyone to stay with us at least once. Come Eat Sleep & Play with us!

Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    141
    35
    14
    14
See reviews for
43
267
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a week here and were very comfortable. The bar/reception/dining/deck/pool area was cosy and a great use of the space. Even on a very windy day the pool area was sheltered and comfortable. The excellent service of the staff is a real feature. They were friendly, efficient and recommended cost saving tips for sightseeing. Nothing was too much trouble. We needed the hotel doctor late one night and this was done with care and effectiveness by both the staff and doctor.

This really was a gem to find in an expensive resort like Camps Bay. Everything is an easy walk away. One gripe however, our first room, Room 5 was small and the bathroom also small and dark and in need of a refit. We transferred to Room 3 which was much more comfortable with a good bathroom and a little patio area.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5 - some of the luxury rooms also looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grownupUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Well hello grownupUk :-)
Thank you so very much for your super 10/10 review!! Very, VERY much appreciated!
Thankfully we do have the services of an excellent doctor on standby & glad we could help you there.
Yes, room 5 is a standard room - but which is quite comparable with any other standard room in Cape Town. Interestingly, it's because of the enormous kingsize bed we have in there that it feels small - when in fact it isn't really. However it does have a stunningly wonderful sea view which is shared by all our other rooms. Based on your report here, the bathroom lighting & refit will be attended to - thank you for your feedback on that.
Happily we could accommodate you in Room 3 which is in fact one of my favourites mainly because of its location as its a cool quiet room with that quaint little Pebble Balcony.

Please do consider coming back again & stay in one of our Superior Suites!
Kindest Regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in room one (superior with plunge pool) from 28th Feb to 13th March 2013. The hotel is ideally placed just off the coast road in Camps Bay and provides all that you could wish for as a long haul traveller. The hotel is significantly enhanced by the friendlines and obliging nature of the staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble and without doubt the staff are what make this a great place to stay. We will definitely stay here again.

Maria and Stuart Ritchie, Manchester, UK

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
♫ Mariaaa ♫ & Stuart !
You certainly did have a long haul with us... & what a pleasure it was having you!
Thank you for the kind words about the staff - they'll be thrilled.
Yes please!! DO COME BACK to ~EAT~SLEEP~PLAY with us!
We'll be waiting in keen anticipation :-)
Until then - Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We visited the Primi Royal for three nights from 6th to 9th March. We had a superior room on the 3rd floor which gave us excellent views and a balcony on two sides. The room was clean and had everything we needed. Breakfast was was good and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
The hotel would probably benefit from updating and it's possible parking could be a problem in busy periods, however we did not encounter any problems.

Overall the hotel is well located and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There was a small lift so probably a room on one of the upper floors with a sea view would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hello Joan
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We're happy we could offer you a pleasant stay & hope you will return to enjoy Camps Bay again!
Kindest Regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Primi has one great advantage and that is location. With every room facing out across Camps Bay and the beach on your doorstep it's a winner. However giving the hotel Boutique in the name is pushing it a bit far. Our room 5 was a standard room however the bathroom was very small, the fixtures and fitting badly in need of an overhaul. Staff were helpful etc.. Overall it's a good hotel for the price but not brilliant. IMHO.

Room Tip: Perhaps pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Kelvin, Thanks so much for your feedback. Aaah so what can I say in response?

It's a funny thing: "Boutique Hotel" is a term popularized in North America & the UK. "The definition of this type of hotel is rather vague. In fact very vague! The hotel usually distinguishes itself in these areas: design or theme, service & target market. Amongst other things, service might be the distinguishing feature of what classifies a hotel as boutique. The goal of a hotel is a level of personalized service. At many, the staff may know each guest by his or her name, & most offer 24-hour guest services. Others offer the comforts of canopy beds, bathrobes & fireplaces in the lobby. Others offer healthy food choices, mind & body themes". etc etc. per WiseGeek.

The definition of a boutique hotel could also simply be; It's an accommodation that makes their guests feel happy & contented while staying there." And that's precisely what we at The Primi Royal 'Boutique Hotel' try to achieve. But - we can't be everything to everyone - so wish we could!

Hope you'll be back someday to avail yourselves of our Classic or Superior Suites :-)))

Kindest regards
THE PRIMI ROYAL TEAM :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I would highly recommend this hotel. It has great views of the ocean and excellent staff. The breakfast is included in room price and includes cooked to order eggs, bacon, etc. The rooms also have a veranda overlooking the ocean. One room even has a private pool!

Room Tip: Ask for room with veranda overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Hi Jean Ann! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel and staff. We loved having you & David! Just sorry your time with us was so short. Please DO come back again!
Best regards
The Primi Royal Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I hardly know where to begin because our experience was so positive. Let's start with the staff: I am tempted to name names but they were all so helpful and attentive that it would be unfair to just name one. They just couldn't do enough for us. Pleasant and friendly, helpful in every conceivable way, We felt welcomed and at home. Considering we were more than 8,000 miles from Pennsylvania, that says so much. We had room number 2 and the sunset/sunrise view was beyond description. Just to die for. It was a quick 3 minute walk to Camps Beach and all that goes with it. The restaurants, the beach, the night life. Camps Beach is a 10 out of 10. The room was fine, but not 5 star caliber. It was however, very, very nice. Between the view, the balcony, the staff, the location and everything else, it is a fantastic bargain for the money!!!!! I would recommend this to all of my friends. If you are gong to Camps Bay, stay at the Primi Royal, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrimiRoyalHotel, General Manager at Primi Royal, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
David... .... you're so kind & a true gentleman in every respect of the word!
It was really wonderful getting to know you via our numerous emails prior to your visit.
So much so, that by the time you & J arrived it felt like meeting up with dear friends!!

Thank you for your wonderful 10/10 review both here & other social websites. MUCH appreciated!! What a pleasure having guests like you who really do appreciate the diversity of our amazing world & take pleasure in the simple things in life. And MOST importantly - we're thrilled that all fears & concerns about your safety in SA were quickly dispelled. South Africa & in particular Cape Town is a truly wonderful & safe destination! That's why we say: Come ~EAT~SLEEP~PLAY~ with us!! And you did - didn't you! :-)

Best regards & sincerely look forward to seeing you again REAL soon!
The Primi Royal Team :-))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.5 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primi Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primi Royal

Property: Primi Royal
Address: 23 Camps Bay Drive, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Primi Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a small 10 bedroom boutique hotel just 100 m up from the beach, restaurants, bars & Miami-Beach style nightlife! We strive to give good service & make your stay as pleasurable as possible. We arrange half-day & full-day tours of all types: Best-of-the-Cape, The Peninsula - Cape of Good Hope & Cape Point, Wine, Cheese & Olive Tasting at our very best vineyards in the famous Cape Winelands, museums, Table Mountain, day trips to Cape Safari Game Farms, whale watching, shark cage diving, helicopter trips, tandem paragliding & other extreme sports...and the list just goes on! If you're looking for a home-away-from-home experience then look no further! We have no airs & graces & no-one stands on ceremony. Just pure friendliness! All of our rooms overlook the magnificent Atlantic Ocean with a backdrop of Table Mountain. So do join us! Come EAT ~ SLEEP ~ PLAY ~ where "WORK IS LOVE MADE VISIBLE!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Primi Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primi-Royal Hotel Camps Bay
Primi Royal Cape Town
Primi Royal Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing