We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absoultely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. so beautifully done you marvel at every detail. the spa is something out of this world and a visit to the spa is an absolute must. location in cape town is the best ever and the view is BREATHTAKING. lovely staff and great service. so helpful in every way.
best recommendation ever.thank you chris.

Room Tip: i had a superior room with a partial side view of the sea. i cannot complain as the difference was Z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and that it is one of the best hotel experiences that you have ever had.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,642)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

982 - 988 of 1,642 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

5 days of sheer luxury and relaxation : the hotel is beautiful with a marvellous aspect; the food is world class, the service friendly and efficient - we will certainly be returning. The hotel runs a minibus service to Camps Bay regularly and nothing is too much for the staff

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lobbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went for an evening drink and stayed a few hours. Looking at the high tea and hearing comments about the restuarant means we will be back soon! Really good to take in teh evening sunset with a galss of teh best. Limited space outside but worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

Lovely to read you enjoyed your short but sweet visit to the Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa. The Leopard Bar is great for a sunset cocktail with the best views in town and a setting sun right in front of the hotel. Yes space is limited on the balcony so coming early is recommended as we do not reserve tables on the balcony, first come first serve.

High tea is always a treat or as we call it “Tea by the Sea” served in the Leopard Bar, conservatory and Café Grill. Don’t forget that we also have wine dinners once a month in our Azure restaurant with some of the best wine farms in the area, so come and enjoy mouth-watering food paired with great wine.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

What an experience at the 12 Apostles!! Highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is visiting Cape Town.

My fiancee and I stayed for 5 days 4 nights in mid December 2013. We organised the airport transfer with the hotel and the service was prompt and professional. Upon arrival at the hotel lobby, we were warmly greeted by the a team of hotel staff including the manager and the concierge. Location was great as it was private and away from the majority of the touristy hotels at the Waterfront and only a short distance away Camps Bay.

The hotel was simply AMAZING from every angle! The Leopard bar is a must and quickly became the gold standard for opulent drinks at sunset. The Azur restaurant for breakfast and dinner offered the same amazing views and the food was definitely something you would go back for.
There is also a conservatory which has the view of both the 12 Apostles and the ocean, and it is a great place to sit and do some work.The gym upstairs is very modern but a bit small, I would recommend taking up the option of the Complimentary Virgin Active gym near the Waterfront which is 15 minutes from the hotel but well worth the effort. Alternatively there are hiking trails for exclusively for hotel gusts from the hotel up the mountain! Room service was very professional and delivered our requests at a timely manner.

I must say the entire Concierge team and especially Dale deserve a very special mention! They are by far one of the most exceptional Concierge team I have dealt with! They organised not only our sightseeing activities, but also met our last minute requests for difficult reservations and also organised our car service seamlessly for the entire 5 days with very short notice! Amazingly they also helped my fiancee organise a very romantic and surprise proposal by the picnic spot on the hiking trail!! They definitely made our special day sparkle even more!!!

We stayed in a corner room which is at the end of the eastern end of the hotel. It was right next to the presidential suit, and has view of the mountain and also a partial ocean view. The bathroom was a tad on the small side, but it was a very quiet and private room! We did expect to be upgraded to a suite as we had booked through the Platinum American Express Fine hotels program and so far all the other hotels we stayed in on this program we have been upgraded as there were availabilities, however we did understand as it was a very busy time of the year.

We didn't get a chance to visit the spa, but I have heard that it is one of the best around. I guess we will have to go back again this year just to check it out and I'll let you know what I think!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wedding was held at the 12 Apostles Fynbos Garden venue in December 2013.
I can truly say that this was an experience of a lifetime for couples seeking class, elegance and oustanding service. The views, rooms and luxury of the Hotel speak for themselves.
Like us, our guests were also treated in style as royalty and everything went -off superbly of-course (in true 12 A style). 12 A, truly made our special day unforgettable with you effortless service level. Our every need and whim was catered to as required. Great wedding and canape menu with the best ingredients catering to most tastes.
A Big Thank you to Stephanie Hall of 12 A and the rest of the team for being a Wedding Planner and organizer Delux!
The 12 A wedding and function team is first class all the way.

Thank Candice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our expectations were not exceeded, to say the least, I was totally disappointed with our stay at your Hotel. Seeing that you are an internationally rated 5 Star Hotel I would think that the service would be of outstanding quality. We got married on 16 December and decided to stay in your hotel for that evening.

I made our reservation in October 2013 already to check at 14:00. We ran a bit late, and when we checked in after 17:00, we were informed that our room are not ready. We were offered another room at the additional cost of R750, alternatively we had to wait for our room to be prepared. We opt to wait for our room to be prepared. When we went for our dinner which was booked for 20:00 as there were no space for the 19:00 slot, the room was prepared for us. In the interim we had to stay in the “unprepared” room.

I thought that this type of Hotel would make me want to come back, but unfortunately at this stage I will not be able to recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Congratulations on your recent marriage! I trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

Naturally I was very disappointed to learn of your comments, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback about the hotel and we are sorry that you did not experience our usual high standards.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments on board and will be reviewing service in the areas that you have highlighted to ensure that your experience was a most unfortunate once off and that other guests do not encounter similar situations in future.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention, we truly value your feedback

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you come to Cape Town, this will be the place to be. Do not need to waste time to look for big chain hotels in the city, otherwise you will surely miss out one of the top boutique hotel in the world.

Top class view, service, spa, rooms, food all in one. If that is not enough, how about a helicopter ride to Waterfront for shopping. ;)

I am a very picky type of customer, and would like to have good quality holidays without thinking too much how deep or shallow my pocket is. The philosophy is, life is for living. Having stayed in some of the top hotels around the world, this is one of my favorite! Will certainly check out their sister hotel- Oyster Box near Durban when visit South Africa next.

If you are reading this review, then do not hesitate you will be in love with the hotel, so book it!!!

Room Tip: Maybe try to reduce the sound of the wind at night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VvFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

I am very pleased to read that we were able to exceed your expectations and that is what boutique hotels are all about. Our helicopter is always a great “wow” factor and there is no better way so see Cape Town than from up there.

I can most definitely recommend the Oysterbox in Durban and if you are looking to escape it all our wilderness lodge Bushmans Kloof just outside Clanwilliam would be a perfect match.
Thank you for your Red Carnation Hotel support, a small family run group of hotels with a focus on exceeding guest expectations.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
351 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,659 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $340 - $1,113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing