We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Real Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“A Real Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

My colleague and I recently spent a day at this wonderful hotel whilst in Cape Town and what a splendid day it was. We went for the best massage I have had in years and then had a few cocktails and snacks on the balcony of the Leopard lounge. You must try the Bee's knees shandy - a perfect refresher on a hot Spring/Summer's day. The service was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. We viewed the beautiful rooms which are individually decorated with such attention to detail. The conference rooms have spectacular views (as do the balconies of the restaurants) and range in size. I wish I could have spent the afternoon lounging by one of the many pools but alas it was off to a work conference elsewhere. Overall a fantastic experience and we were only there for a few hours, I can only imagine how amazing it would be spending a few days/nights at this little piece of Cape Town heaven.....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,248
    177
    66
    28
    30
See reviews for
238
907
35
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The reputation of this hotel is very high, so of course your expectations will be equally high. Indeed the location is delightfull, positioned in Camps bay with superb views (providing of course the weather is clear). The service is outstanding as you would also expect, but for me it just feels as if it is on the brink of becoming a bit tired. The rooms are nice, but it is time for a refurbishment, the hotel if I am not mistaken has been open just over 10 years and it feels that it has not been decorated since.
The layout of the hotel is also a bit strange, lots of little staircases and corridors, but not enough to get significantly lost.
All in all it is a very nice hotel, but reputations can be lost as well as gained and I would start to invest into some refurbishment if it was my call.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

We know that our guest expectations are very high and we do everything possible to exceed them at every occasion. You are correct in that the hotel celebrated its 10th birthday as part of Red Carnation Hotels in November 2012. We have however started with some refurbishment work of some of the guests and non-guest facing areas and this year during the winter months will be upgrading a number of our rooms to freshen them up again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With warm regards
Horst W. Frehse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The staff were very helpful and the location of the hotel lovely. Breakfast was taken outside on the terrace with stunning views of the ocean. We had a lovely room overlooking the pool area. I couldn't fault to hotel at all.

Room Tip: The restaurants in the hotel get busy, so it's best to reserve a table for dinner. One night we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at this beautiful hotel. The staff was exceptional and very friendly and concerned for our well-being. We ate at all three restaurants and we were very pleased and enjoyed the food and the service. The sunsets and view are spectacular. Our last morning we had requested room service of coffee and when we were leaving I mentioned that we did not receive it. The staff met us, at the shuttle that was taking us to the airport, with two coffees to go presented on a tray with cream and sugar. Wow! It was an wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

I am pleased to read that you had enjoyed our wonderful sunsets and got to experience our genuinely warm and friendly service we promise to all guests. My sincerest apologies for the coffee that did not arrive in your room but you can count on the fact that we will always try and find an opportunity to rectify any challenge before you depart the hotel.

I will share your comments on the food with the Executive Chef Christo Pretorius and his brigade as they love hearing back from our guests and serves as a great motivating tool.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and the team at The Twelve Apostles look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the 12 Apostles during our SA trip (which also included time doing a safari). We absolutely loved it here, and were sorry to have to leave!

The room was very nice, as they all seem to be. But we expecially enjoyed the "other ammenities". We frequented the Leopard Bar after our daily excursions, and were always greeted by friendly staff, great drinks and a gorgeous sunset. One afternoon we decided to partake in the High Tea as well. Amazing!
On one particularly cloudy day, we got to enjoy the movie theater they have onsite. All the candies and beverages you can want are available, and when the hot chocolate machine was giving us trouble, a staff member brought one to our room afterwards (topped with fresh whipped cream)!

Aside from all these great features I've just mentioned, really it's 12 Apostles service that makes it stand above the rest. Always friendly and helpful, the staff even wowed us further with extra attention to detail like automatically knowing what kind of tea (for me) and coffee (my husband) we prefer and even how much cream and sugar we take with it! Amazing service! We had a great, great experience.

Room Tip: Consider the view - ocean or mountains. Either way, it's a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottersutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

It is with great pride that I read you had such an amazing experience with us. We truly pride ourselves in the personal, attentive and professional service we offer. Add the service to the wonderful sunsets from the Leopard Bar, our mouth-watering afternoon tea or the private cinema experience you enjoyed and it all makes for a memorable experience.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience and the team at The Twelve Apostles look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

First class accommodations, food, surroundings - I can't imagine anyone having anything negative to say about this place. The staff is fabulous. We stayed for four days and enjoyed every minute. Returning to the hotel at the end of each day was like coming home. The Leopard Bar became our go-to spot, either out on the terrace to watch the sunset or inside on a comfortable sofa to sink into. From the breakfast buffet with champagne and oysters to the turndown service with cookies at the end of the day, we were thoroughly spoiled. No wonder Lady Gaga and Rihanna chose this hotel for their recent stays!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

I am very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us. The Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa is truly a “home away from home” and glad you share the same sentiment. The Leopard Bar is the best place in Cape Town for a sundowner, overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and the picturesque setting sun.

Breakfast is always a highlight with us and there is no better way to start the day than with some bubbles and oysters. The celebrities love our hotel for the same reasons.

The team at The Twelve Apostles look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.


Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I honestly can't put into words how fabulous this hotel was. Amazing setting, beautiful food (although I wouldn't advise taking afternoon tea - not a patch on a UK experience), stunning décor and all the little finishing touches that really make the difference - and set this hotel apart. The service is perhaps the best thing about staying here. Nothing is too much trouble and every member of staff - from bellboy to Manager - really seem to care.

The spa is a little overpriced and I've certainly had better spa experiences elsewhere, but the hotel itself is to die for. If you live if Cape Town or are just visiting - make sure you put it on your 'to-do'

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are beautiful too - I had both a mountain view and a sea facing suit during my s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Twelve Apostles hotel & Spa with our potential future guests.

We are very spoiled with the wonderful location; we have the Table Mountain Nature reserve in our back yard with 8 picnic spots to the foot of the mountain and a marine reserve in front. We are also very fortunate to have Southern Right Whales and dolphins come into the bay for our guests to enjoy. Listen out for the brass bell on your next visit which we will ring when they are spotted in the bay.

I’m sorry that our version of afternoon tea, “Tea by the Sea” did not live up to your expectations and hope on your next visit that you will be pleasantly surprised by some of our enhancements we have made. The same with our spa which we recommend as an experience and not only as treatments.

With our “Yes I Can” attitude, the team at The Twelve Apostles look forward to welcoming you back on many future occasions.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing