We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Houghton View 13 Apartments(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tranquility(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Royal(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,700)
Filter reviews
1,700 results
Traveler rating
1,371
193
70
33
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,371
193
70
33
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleopard barazure restauranttwelve apostlesoystershead conciergestephanie hallcafe grillcape townshuttle servicehigh teamain restaurantfree shuttleattention to detailtreated like royaltymountain facing roomworld classthe hotel offers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,140 - 1,145 of 1,700 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

One place I will keep visiting as often as I can! Great place to be romantic / business or just your lonesome self! The Leopard Lounge either for drinks or dining! Recently took my friend Yelena for high tea and she fell in love... The freshness the attention to detail, the friendliness yet professional staff!! I am proud to have worked there before and even more so proud to recommend it!!! If you looking for a special getaway definitely 12A!!! She still smiles with a twinkle thinking of the experience and the food / ambiance seem to make love to one and ones' taste buds!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your recent visit to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am absolutely overjoyed that you were made to feel pampered by our team of very dedicated staff members at our beautiful hotel and have passed on your kind words to everyone who makes this all happen.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

We are awaiting your return visit with anticipation.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of the winter special in lieu of getting engaged there 6 years ago... as always they didn't disappoint. We started the stay being upgraded to a sea facing room after which I enjoyed the most delightful spa treatment and ended off the evening with a fabulous dinner. They were busy renovating when we checked out on the Monday so we didn't have our usual breakfast in the Azure restaurant but we still were spoilt with Champagne and oysters to start the day. I would recommend this hotel to anyone - not just because it holds a special place in our lives - but because of the world class service and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandsTravel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers.

It is the fantastic team that I am lucky to have here that makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa a very special place to work and for our guests to stay at. I have passed on your very kind words to them and I hope that we will have the chance to meet your expectations again in the very near future.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

I do hope that you will return to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

There is a very strong service ethic running through the DNA of this hotel and it shows in every aspect of the staff’s approach to guests.

We very much appreciated tea served in bone china cups in the lounge during registration. It was perfect timing given the wintry weather outside and it was a wonderful introduction to the property.

Other welcome touches include sanitised TV and video remotes in guest rooms, pillow and soap menus, garden hammocks and complimentary Internet and Wi-Fi.

Overall, a very special experience topped off by the friendliness of the staff.

At every service touchpoint, the 12A scored 10 out of 10.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms provide wonderful views - whatever the weather
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking. Our goal is to always provide a "home form home" experience.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We did not stay at this great looking hotel but we did stop a couple of times for drinks at its The Leopard Bar. Life does not get any better than sipping a drink on a sunny day on the deck of The Leopard Bar enjoying the beautiful views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Siwa08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Leopard Bar at The Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here - the hotel had shuttle service to the V&A Waterfront. The rooms were spacious and fresh looking. The restaurant's buffet hot/cold breakfast and morning staff was outstanding - dinner was a little different. I had a room with a balcony and a view of mountain side and ocean. This hotel is not within walking distance of anything that I recall but as stated, a shuttle will take you to Cape May and the V&A waterfront - it typically ran until 10pm. We were told that Lady Gaga had stayed at this hotel the week before!(*#Y&(()QW(???

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews