We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Place on the Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Primi Seacastle Guest House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$109
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Marly Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$284
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bay Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$132
$112
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

POD Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$160
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View House(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$104
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camps Bay Retreat(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$120
$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Views Villas and Apartments(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Beach Camps Bay(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$142
$133
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel(Camps Bay)(Great Value!)
$166
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,718)
Filter reviews
1,718 results
Traveler rating
1,383
197
71
33
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,383
197
71
33
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleopard barazure restauranttwelve apostlesoystersstephanie hallcafe grillcape townshuttle servicehigh teafree shuttlemain restaurantattention to detailtreated like royaltysea facing roomworld classthe atlantic oceanamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,168 - 1,173 of 1,718 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Before going, realize that it is a 15 minute (free) shuttle ride into V & A Waterfront, and there is no ability to walk anywhere from the hotel, especially at night. With that said, it's really an excellent hotel. If you can get past that, the breakfast buffet is excellent, the views, terrific, and the spa was relaxing. Decor was tasteful, and even if you get a bad room without an ocean view, as we did, all you need to do is go to one of the countless rooms with stellar oceans views on the property. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Lilike2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We have traveled the world and have never stayed in a hotel with such exceptional service as The Twelve Apostles. All staff are amazing and gave us the best service and advice possible. Dinners was outstanding and breakfasts totally blew us away! Whenever we go to Cape Town again, we will stay at this hotel!! Outstanding quality and service!

Room Tip: Choose sea view rooms - they are the best!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your very kind words following your stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was very happy that we met your expectations and have passed on your kind words to the team who makes this all happen.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Leopard Bar on our last night in Cape Town (May 2013) for some drinks at sunset. We took a taxi from Camps Bay which took about 7 minutes and cost about 80 rand. The bar has a beautiful interior - stylish and glam. We had a great bottle of wine and some delicious cocktails. The bar has a long balcony where you can sit outside if it's warm enough and the staff were super attentive and professional. We had dinner at the Azure restaurant which was fantastic - incredible food and wine, and again, impeccable service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 130,685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

From the moment my sister and I arrived at the Twelve Apostles Hotel we know we were in good hands. After a grueling flight from the US, the staff put us at ease. Our room was delightful and we slept well, eager the next morning for the “Jet Lag” spa treatment we had booked earlier. The spa was beautiful and we agreed jet lag was avoided! Keep in mind the spa has some complimentary services for hotel guests. The Azure restaurant provided a lovely breakfast each morning with every breakfast fare imaginable. In addition, they offered freshly squeezed orange juice, omelets, and eggs served to order upon request. The servers, after the first morning, knew us by name and had our favorites waiting. The Leopard Bar had a beautiful view of the ocean and was the perfect place for a sundowner. The concierge, Masood, proved to be the ultimate professional and booked private tours for us as well as the complimentary car service to various spots. I might add John and Russell were exceptional. We explored the mountain walks and picnic spots the hotel had to offer. When I thanked anyone for service they always replied, “Pleasure”. It was indeed a pleasure staying the Twelve Apostles.

Room Tip: Our room, 410, was facing a wall---so the view wasn't good. But it didn't seem to matter as we had a delightful time.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scottie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

I would like to really thank you for taking the time to post review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the welcome, facilities and most importantly the service to your liking. Our goal is to always provide a "home form home" experience.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Masood, our Head Concierge, John and Russell, hotel drivers, had a positive impact on your stay with us. All three gentlemen epitomise the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with them at our next employee appreciation party.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed at 12 Apostles from May 19th thru may 22nd 2013. From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable. Our arrival made us completely forget that we had been on a long flight from the U.S. The hotel is nested in the Table Mountains with a fantastic view of the Atlantic Ocean. All meals were superb. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable, and paid attention to every detail that we requested. The concierge Dale took care of arranging for a private driver so that we made the most out of our excursion to the wineries and the excursion drive to Cape Point. If you are planning to visit Cape Town, you will be completely satisfied with your stay at 12 A. Q'Juan Gray

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QJuan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Ms. Gray,

Thank you for your lovely review following you recent stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. Dale, our assistant Concierge, epitomizes the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the Hotel and I am overjoyed to hear of the positive impact that he had on your stay with us.

I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews