We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday and a perfect wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday and a perfect wedding day”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Myself and my now husband have recently got back from our stay at the Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I have to say it has been my favourite holiday of all time.

We got married at the Twelve Apostles Hotel on 4th April. Stephanie the wedding co-ordinator gave us the most amazing wedding day, I even think she ordered the weather as it was perfect! Everything went to plan and the day was breathtaking. Stephanie cannot do enough for you and we both really wanted to thank her for the perfect day she gave us.

As for the rest of the hotel, it's just amazing, it's such a lovely hotel with amazing views. The food is gorgeous, especially the food on our wedding day and the high teas! The Leopard Lounge was our favourite place to spend the evening if we weren't out and about in Cape Town. The staff that work there are amazing, they made us feel like family and we shared many nights laughing and joking with them. We will definitely be going back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I was extremely happy to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations and that Stephanie Hall, our personal wedding coordinator, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Stephanie epitomizes the service values and ethics that we strive to uphold at the Hotel and always tries her hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs. I have passed on your kind words to her and the rest of the team.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back on many future anniversaries.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    180
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
250
934
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon in August 2011, unfortunatelly I forgot to post the final review of our trip on time, but better late than never.

Cape Town was a final destination on our honeymoon and we decided to stay at the Twelve Apostles hotel.

Overall, the hotel was what you would expect from a good 5 star hotel – it was very nicely decorated, the room was spacious and well lit, the view from the room was good. The only two negative points about the hotel were: the location – it is far from town, but the hotel has a shuttle service, and the road passing in front of the hotel – it can get quit noisy if you leave your balcony door open.

What really impressed me was the service of the hotel – IT WAS AMAZING. I have stayed at many 5 star hotels all over the world, but the service my wife and I received at the Twelve Apostles was the best I ever saw, and we did not even have a very expensive room. There are two examples of the service that I want to give you as an example:

1. In the lobby, there was a vase with apples in it, on the way to the room I would usually take an apple or two, after two days there was a knock on our door and a maid brought us a basket of apples, we never asked for them, but they saw that I was taking apples and reacted.

2. We were going on a cage diving trip very early in the morning, too early to have breakfast at the hotel, since I am not a breakfast person we did not ask the hotel to prepare us a pick nick. However a day before the trip we had a transfer into town and in a conversation I told the driver that tomorrow we would be diving with Great Whites, but we would be leaving very early. On the day of the trip we received a phone call from the reception asking if we wanted anything to eat before going on a trip – keep in mind the breakfast was still closed and again we did not ask for it. The driver told the reception that we would be leaving too early in the morning to have breakfast and the staff reacted.

Not once during all my stays at the hotels in Maldives, Mauritius, Thailand, Western Europe did I see examples of such service. Thank you very much to all the staff of the Twelve Apostles Hotel, you made our stay very memorable and I sorry for writing this review so late.

If in Cape Town we will definately stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonstantinDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice for your honeymoon. We are privileged to have been part of your very special memories.

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. Reading such a great report on our service and facilities is a real pleasure. I am happy that you enjoyed and appreciated all the small touches that we believe makes The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa truly special. Our team strive to deliver the highest levels of personal service and I am delighted that we took such special care of you.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The staff of the hotel is their best asset. They were wonderfull in every department. The reception area was very small but the staff very efficient. We slept over for one night after a whole day at the spa. We were treated like royalties. They knew everyone's name after they met you only once! The hotel have a lot of amenities to enjoy. The room was spacious and very comfortable. The Azure restaurant was worth its reputation. Breakfast was a real treat. This is a real smooth operating hotel, well done. We will stay there again...so go and treat yourself.

Room Tip: We loved our corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

I was delighted to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations and that you were made to feel like “royalty”.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a sea facing suite and had a wonderful view of the Atlantic Ocean. Our room was lovely and although the weather was too cool for us to enjoy the balcony, it would be wonderful in the summer. Although the location is not central, the only downside is the lack of taxis. The hotel offers car service which is very luxurious and the price reflects that. Presumably we could have had the hotel call a taxi but we did not press the concierge for that option and as a result, the car service was more expensive than our five star meal. Service at the hotel is excellent especially from the concierge. We purchased a large ceramic bowl from the gift shop on our last day and the concierge arranged to have it crated and shipped to our hotel in Johannesburg (our final destination in South Africa) so we could then carry it home since shipping to the USA would have been extremely expensive. Although there is a road in front of the hotel between the hotel and the ocean, it does not detract from the overall beauty of the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. The hourly, complimentary shuttle service between the Hotel, Camps Bay and the V&A Waterfront allows guests easy access to both Camps Bay and Waterfront Restaurants.

I was delighted to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations. We have a very dedicated Concierge team. Both Masood and Dale epitomize the service ethics and values that we pride ourselves in and work incredibly hard to consistently offer an exceptional experience to our guests.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nothing is too much trouble for the fantastic staff. Beautiful hotel with all the amenities you can imagine...The Spa is outstanding..all set it a beautifully quiet location, overlooking the beautiful Cape Town sunsets, every evening. Food is 5*, the Azure restaurant caters for every taste...just a fantastic place to stay!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms, just a must for the gorgeous sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seahorse120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travellers.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We got married here at the end of March and stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It's a wonderful place to get married, Stephanie can't do enough for you (she even ordered me some lunch on the day to make sure I would actually eat!!!) and the team that she recommends work seamlessly together. If you get married here, please do follow their advice for minister (Roger), florist (Gerrit), cake (Wade) hair and make-up (Talita). We used Yvette Gilbert for the photos and although we haven't received them yet, she was a joy to have there on the day. They are such a special team, they're all such nice people and all very good at what they do, we couldn't have been more impressed with any of them. The wedding was perfect and we couldn't have hoped for a better experience. Lauren the wedding intern even video'd the ceremony on our camera as my mum couldn't make it out for the wedding. The hotel itself is wonderful, we stayed in one of the honeymoon suites (202) and it was fabulous. It really is as nice as it looks in the photos. The walls are fabric lined with maybe a little padding, this not only looks lovely but means that you don't have to listen to your neighbours - the rooms are completely quiet. The views are of course fantastic and its a short (7 minute) drive to the centre of camps bay along the coast road, so the location is perfect, you get the convenience of local bars and restaurants without any of the noise. The hotel spa is a serene haven and the treatments are wonderful. The Azure restaurant is fantastic and the Leopard Bar terrace a wonderful place to watch the sun set. We can't recommend the 12A highly enough. Ok, it's not cheap, but you really do get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite - fabulous light and spacious room with it's own large patio (sun beds plus tabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Kirsty and Tom,

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We feel extremely privileged to have been part of your very special memories.

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to celebrate such a special occasion.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Stephanie Hall, our personal wedding co-ordinator, and Lauren Prince, our wedding intern, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. They both epitomise the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with them at our next employee appreciation party.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on many future anniversaries.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

January 2013 we spent perhaps our 15th visit to 12A. It is home away from home - nothing left to chance, complete perfection. Location is divine; so close to everything yet the beauty and peacefulness of nature at your doorstep. Two minutes drive from Camps Bay, 10 minute drive to Hout Bay and a short drive into the heart of Cape Town.
We cannot imagine a more idyllic place on earth - we have been to many fine places but 12 Apostles exceeds every time. So beautiful! Thank you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - mountain view, garden view and sea view - if you like to walk directly ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PenalopeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for your review following your 15th stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. What an accolade, being referred to as the “Best of the best”.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. The hourly, complimentary shuttle service between the Hotel, Camps Bay and the V&A Waterfront allows guests easy access to both Camps Bay and Waterfront Restaurants.

We have a very dedicated delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged. team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing