We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Muizenberg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible Wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Thank you to the 12 A and wedding co-ordinator, Stephanie Hall, for hosting our wedding on the 3rd of the 3rd 2013! Their operation is slick and professional, Stephanie is very helpful and approachable and a great organizer, the views are impossible to match and the whole wedding experience left us thrilled! Thank u 12A and keep up the outstanding work xx

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Octopus' Garden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We feel extremely privileged to have been part of your very special memories.

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa to celebrate such a special occasion.

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests. I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Stephanie Hall, our personal wedding co-ordinator, had such a positive impact on your stay with us. Stephanie epitomises the service values and ethics we strive to uphold and I will make sure that this is shared with her at our next employee appreciation party.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on many future anniversaries.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    177
    66
    28
    32
See reviews for
238
907
35
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It has a beautiful setting.We could see the beach & ocean from the balcony of the bar/restaurant very spectacular.The snacks were delicious,service was superb drinks very refreshing.I tried the alcohol free beer but did not like the taste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback after your recent visit to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and I have passed on your kind words to them.

Situated at the water’s edge of a marine reserve we are privileged to enjoy frequent whale and dolphin sightings along the Atlantic Ocean. There is indeed no better spot than the Twelve Apostles Hotel to enjoy fresh oysters and sparkling wine while you are overlooking the crashing waves of the Atlantic.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

After a rather disappointing experience at the Ambassador we checked out and moved to the 12 Apostles. What an upgrade this was! This is a superb hotel, amazing location and staff are friendly warm and very efficient! This is customer service and luxury at its best and I didn't want to check out!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I've wanted to stay here for years and this time booked it, wow it's classic old style service and lots of style. The location speaks for itself,stunning but what I loved above everything else was the classic service, we were made to feel really special which is how I think they make all their guests feel. Amazing facilities, pool, spa and bar, it was an incredible stay and I hope to one day go back,thank you :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon_beck75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquillity and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. The hourly, complimentary shuttle service between the Hotel, Camps Bay and the V&A Waterfront allows guests easy access to both Camps Bay and Waterfront Restaurants.

I was delighted to read that we delivered a service that met your expectations. We have a very dedicated team of people who works incredibly hard and who takes great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at twelve apostles in for our honeymoon in February 2012. When we arrived, we were amazed at how beautiful everything was, from the views to the hotel itself. However our delight was short lived. We went out to a local restaurant that evening and upon returning to our room, we found that all of our cash we had brought was stolen (roughly $500 usd)

We understand we should have locked it up but felt it would be ok since it was the evening and we would only be out for a few hours. What we found most shocking was the staff response, or the lack thereof. We reported the theft immediately (to alex the manager) and were assured that the matter would be taken seriously. Once it was established that we had not in fact "misplaced" the money (it was in a zipped portfolio inside a closed suitcase) the hotel then proceeded to do absolutely nothing for 3 days. Every time we checked with a manager, it seemed like the person had no idea what was going on or that the theft had even occurred. After 3 days we finally we spoke with the hotel investigator (his name was Honest) who said they would investigate and get back to us. That was the last we heard of it.

The hotel did not seem to care to make any official response and in fact while checking out I found several items that were suppose to be included with the package were charged extra as well as a cheery guy who was truly surprised to hear about our plight.

It is unfortunate this occurred on our first night in South Africa, forever tainting our view of a beautiful country. We understand that hotels cannot control for a single rogue employee, they can however control their response. We never got any apology or any response from the hotel. There are much better options for nice hotels in camps bay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ficklefreckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

Naturally I was very disappointed to learn of your comments, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback about the hotel and I am very sorry that you did not experience the usual high service standards that we pride ourselves in.

I can promise you that the highest quality of service standards will be met in future because protecting our reputation as part of the Red Carnation Hotel Group, by delivering the best possible service, is a key priority for us.

I am truly very sorry that you have been left with a poor impression of the hotel and our beautiful country.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The service is just absolutely fantastic. When I checked out and walked with my baggage pass the Café Gril, a waiter dropped his tray, ran out of the restaurant and rushed to help me with my luggage and assisted me all the way to the car. The Twelve Apostles Team sure knows how to multi task.

Thank You or your hospitality

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you on behalf of each and every member of my team here for your review following your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am very pleased that you recognised our high level of service. We have a very passionate and dedicated team who work consistently hard to make sure each and every guest has a memorable stay with us. It is most rewarding to read that you did.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your travelling itinerary in the future.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you as our guest! Thank you again for staying with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was my second visit to this stunning hotel and yet again I was very impressed by every aspect. The rooms are exceptional and provide every little creature comfort, and the hotel facilitates and service are absolutely first class.

Well done!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view suite, room 430
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice again, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travellers.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us again, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing