We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star view with a three star service, but improving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
PAris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star view with a three star service, but improving”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The view is amazing, but the hotel is small, everything is small. The rooms, the swimming pools,.. The only thing which is big is the parking. We kept the room 30 minutes after the 11 am check out time, and as we were going back to our room to pack, the concierge was exiting our room, officially looking for us.. On the breakfast terrasse, there were not enough chairs. Morning house keeping was more than noisy. We had a terrible experience, which ended up nicely. We asked the concierge to rent a car for us in Cape Town. The shuttle driver dropped us at Hertz (anticipated rental agent), unfortunately it was not. And we did not know where to go. We finally went to the local rental agency, which was not easy to find without any help from the hotel.
Fortunately, a few weeks later we got compensated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa on Tripadvisor. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for me, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps me monitor the service we provide.

Naturally I was very disappointed to learn of your comments, particularly as we receive so much positive feedback about the hotel and we are sorry that you did not experience our usual high standards of service and prompt attention at all times.

Please rest assured that we have taken your comments on board and will be reviewing service in the areas that you have highlighted to ensure that your experience was a most unfortunate one off and that other guests do not encounter similar situations in future.

Thank you for bringing these matters to my attention, we truly value your feedback

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,272
    179
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
243
920
36
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Twelve Apostles was the perfect place to start our Christmas holiday in South Africa.
Great location, just outside Camps Bay, with easy access to all of Cape Town's attractions.
It is a small boutique hotel but with charm and character and fantastic views of the ocean.
There are 2 small pools, which the children loved, and, if we hadn't had limited time to see CT sight, we would have loved to spend more time relaxing by either.
There are a number of different dining options to satisfy most needs - we had afternoon tea and snacks in the bar area - and breakfasts were great, even if service was a little haphazard!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the ocean - the view are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa with us and other travelers. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and are therefore delighted that you had such an enjoyable time.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

I am sorry that you experienced the service you received at breakfast as haphazard and I hope you will accept my reassurances that the staff responsible for providing this service have been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the 12 Apostles in December for our belated honeymoon and had the most amazing time. Everything about the stay was beyond all our expectations. The hotel is nestled along the road that winds its ways from capetown and has the ocean on one side and table mountain on the other. The room was an upgrade- amazing. Looking out onto the Ocean and split across a number of different levels. As we were there for a week this worked really well. The food and drink was sensational. The staff made the place. It was a real pleasure to see people so happy with their jobs and so keen to make your stay amazing. The hotel organised for us to go for amazing day trips to Cape Point and the wine region. We also took advantage of our time and visited excellent local restaurants - again all organised by the hotel. This place is expensive but it is real value for those really special moments in your life. Go ahead and book. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Browkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to spend your honeymoon with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I am really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Whilst the children were spending this year with 'the inlaws' we were free to go to much loved South Africa. Research and a good agent guided us towards the Twelve Apostles which, from the reviews seemed too good to be true. Not at all, the perfect setting, perfect service, appetising food and great ambience.......just the place to spend Christmas day and not feel at all homesick for the grandchildren. So much thought has gone in to the good running of this establishment.......right down to their very own cinema. A shuttle bus will take you into Cape Town itself and it also took us to our car rental place. All service with a smile.....no detail too small and no obsequiesceness!

Room Tip: th deluxe rooms leave nothing to chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa as your destination of choice, and sharing your experience with us and fellow-travelers.

I am delighted that you appreciated our service, we do take great pride in ensuring that are guests are well looked after and our motto is "No request too large, No detail too small". I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear it. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.


Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

The 12 Apostles experience is just divine, from Azure restuarant to the last detail of the airport transfer. The personal service is not only very professional but also makes you feel at home at this superb hotel. Nothing that we requested was to much trouble for them. No where will you find a breakfast like this! Chef Henrico from Azure did an excellent job in seeing that I had the correct food served as I have life threatening allergies. He gave personal attention making sure I was satisfied with everything served. We have visited 12 Apostles a few times and everytime was just so great. All our friends and family that we have brought to 12 Apostles was just amazed. Thank you Twelve Apostles for being so super great!
Helga Dagutat & Nita Peacock

Room Tip: Room 303 has a great seaview but you can also walk out to the garden for a view on the mountain. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helga D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mrs. Dagutat and Ms. Peacock,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on the site. We are delighted that we had the pleasure of looking after you once again.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay - our goal is to always provide a "home from home" experience to all guests visiting The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.
I have passed your praise to the whole team, who were equally delighted to hear that you had another enjoyable stay. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback, and it motivates us to work even harder when our high level of service is acknowledged.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our beautiful Hotel again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I have seen quite some superb hotels, but we never were so enthusiastic about a place as The Twelve Apostels. Every single detail is well thought of. From the great welcome during check inn till the great chosen look & feel of the carpet in the hallways and from the great food in the Azure hotel till the subtile way the towels are bonded together with a shelf.

The staff was extremely (and genuine) friendly and do their utmost to make you feel comfortable. The general manager walked by several tables during our first day of breakfast to ask guests if everything was conform expectations. How brilliant is that? Really, visit this hotel if you go to Capetown.

We loved it. This was hospitality with a capital H. We miss you already guys and thanks for sending us back to Amsterdam with the biggest possible smile!

Thomas Beekman

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasBeekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Beekman,

Thank you for your lovely review following you stay with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. It is very rewarding to hear we exceeded your expectations and that it was one of the best hotel experiences that you have ever had. What an accolade?

We have a very dedicated team of people who work incredibly hard and who take great pride in consistently offering an exceptional experience to our guests.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance with any future bookings.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Twelve Apostels Hotel & Spa is something to behold. This is the best service my wife and I ever received at a hotel. Location is perfect with a stunning view of the Atlantic seaboard, Lion's Head, Table Mountain ( side view) and the Twelve Apostels Mountains. Food is excellent (especially Azure Restaurant with top chef Henrico Grobbelaar). Everyone goes out of their way to meet your every need. Service is precise and speedy. The Luxury Room that my wife and I shared was romantic and clean with mirrors abound!. Their attention to detail is amazing especially with their internet/e-mail pre-check-in need and demand questionnaire(which they meet to the letter). The Spa is neat and cozy and worth a try. Although on the expensive side the Hotel and experience is worth every cent/ penny. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. You will not be disappointed. Steyn and Louise Van Sittert, Pretoria, ZAR

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Dr. and Mrs. Van Sittert

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I was really happy that we delivered a service that met your expectations. All of the team here always try their hardest to anticipate our guest’s needs and like I always do, have passed on your kind words to them.

At our hotel guests can enjoy the best of both worlds - the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop. Our award winning Executive Chef, Henrico Grobbelaar, prides him in the exceptional quality of local produce and is guided by feedback from our guests in building up a track record for the Azure Restaurant and establishing ourselves as a ‘contender’ on the South African food map.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,090 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing