We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come here to truly relax and spoil yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Come here to truly relax and spoil yourself”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is worth every penny. Amazing location nestled on the cliff face facing the ocean. This hotel boasts different themed rooms which have all been tastefully decorated. My favourite are the reading and leopard rooms. The different rooms also lead out to a balcony facing the ocean so you can either have your breakfast, an afternoon drink / tea, dinner outdoors provided that the sun is out and it is warm!

The bedrooms are lovely too. Spacious, clean and very modern and well looked after. Beds are super comfortable.

The spa is also worth spending time at too. Built in the basement of the property in a 'cave' like setting, it offers a large selection of treatments.

The hotel is built with large space out the back allowing you to explore part of the mountain also.

Would highly recommend for a special weekend away. 110% relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acreative78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We have received your review on your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and are naturally delighted that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing time at our beautiful hotel. Our staff takes great pride in seeing that our guests’ needs are met, and I are therefore delighted that you felt truly spoilt.

Also remember that there are other properties in the Red Carnation Family, these are Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Twelve Apostles. We trust that you will visit us many times still in the future.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,296
    180
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
250
934
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Okay a bunch of pluses and minuses for this lovely little place. You can get a mountain view or a ocean view room. We opted for the ocean view room and it was really sweet. We could see 4 dolphins playing in the cape just outside our room. The hotel has nice hiking trails through the rocks and up the mountain part way, where a helipad resides. The service is not good and the food is mediocre at best. Only one morning out of 5 did they get our eggs order correct. The hotel itself is narrow and feels like you are walking the corridors of a cruise ship so claustrophobics may not be in extreme comfort. Even with the ocean view room, the highway runs by underneath your balcony so its not quite nature/peace/and quiet. The owners of the hotel seem to have put too much stock in the view from the rooms that they feel everything else can lag (service, food, cleanliness).

Room Tip: Mountain side is quieter. Ocean view is on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldViewElite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

It saddens me to read that you were not entirely happy with your recent stay with us. I am sorry that the breakfast service you received was inconsistent and I hope you will accept my reassurances that our restaurant staff responsible for providing this service have been given a reminder about the standards we expect.

Thank you for helping us to improve our operation and services, since it is often only when guests highlight issues that we can take whatever remedial action may be necessary to prevent a similar situation spoiling a stay for another guest.

Warm Regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at The Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa for two nights. It was a beautiful hotel right in front of the sea. The rooms are very nice and we were upgraded to a sea front room. The restaurant is superb both with food and service. Breakfast was lovely with excellent choices. We had some treatments at the spa which again was very nice. It is a very posh hotel but the staff is very friendly and nice. I will definitely stay there again when we visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at The Twelve Apostles in Cape Town.
Our stay was absolutely amazing from the minute we walked through the door!

Dale - at concierge - thank you kindly for being so helpful in every aspect. You answered all our questions when we asked, you kindly set us uo with Garth who gave us a wonderful wine tour, you organized our shark diving adventure. And the cherry on top was that you organized a "take away" breakfast for us the morning of our shark diving. So thoughtful and kindly appreciated. Thank You!

Garth - You were fantastic. We had a wonderful day in the wine region. Thank you so much for taking us to the most beautiful wine estates, we tasted some delicious wines and had a superb lunch at Delaire. Also, thank you for being patient with us as we took a million pictures. :) Thank You!

Elton - You are the bar-tending genius. Each drink you brought to us was amazing. Right from the first night that you served us on the patio of the Leopard Lounge, you were great. Thank you for setting up the heater out there (it was a bit chilly that night) and for bringing me a blanket to keep warm, and for reserving a table for us inside for when we were ready to come inside the lounge. Thank you!

Benedict - Morning breakfasts would have not been the same without you. Thank you for your amazing service each morning. It made for a wonderful rest of our day. Thank you!

To whomever took care of our room service. (Room number 417) Our room was immaculate each day and night. The beautiful tough with the candle in the evening was lovely, and of course, our bedside snack was a sure treat. Thank you for making us feel "right at home" each night that we came back to our room.

All in all, we just wanted to say a great big THANK YOU to everyone at the hotel. We truly loved our experience right from the minute we walked through the door, we will recommend your hotel indeed, and we hope we can travel and visit with you again. Please give all your staff a well deserved Thank you from us!

Room Tip: Every room at this hotel is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

I am overjoyed that our team took good care of you whilst here and that Dale, Garth, Elton and Benedict had a positive impact on your stay with us. All of them epitomize the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the Hotel and I will make sure that this is shared with them at our next employee appreciation party.

Similar care is taken at our sister properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family – therefore, please consider including these in your traveling itinerary in the future.

Thank you again for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Scratch one from the bucket list, my wife and I have been watching the travel deals relating to a trip to South Africa which included a Safari to one of the big game reserves. Lion tours offered what were looking for and it was booked in no time (12 to 28 Oct 2012), as we had to fly out of New York we added that to the trip and added two days at the front and three at the back of the trip. For those who have not been to New York well you are in for an experience. We stayed at the Candlewood hotel in New york which is approx. two blocks from Times Square, the hotel itself is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is amazing the number of people they can fit into a city especially around the Time square area and it is a must see. I did find that when it came to eating in the area it was somewhat expensive so look around and move away from the Times square area a couple of blocks and you will find more reasonable and good tasting food. Getting around from the airports as there are two put away around $240 for the trips they are flat rates, from JFK to the hotel was $65 from the other was $45 each way. See the sights while
there some are free, some cost and some need reservations to see so check it out before hand Now for the trip to South Africa, it is a bottom numbing 15 hrs in the air and then another 2 hours to Cape Town. We flew with SA airlines, the planes are modern, clean, the staff helpful and the food served was tasty and more than enough. On arrival at we tranfered to the flight to Cape Town and were in the air approx. two hours later arriving in Cape Town where we were met by the reps for lion tours and taken to The Twelve Apostles Hotel. For those that have been here, need I say more. My wife and I have traveled to many travel destinations around the world and have stayed at many hotels put forward as a 5 star hotel but I can say with all honesty that this is a true 5 star. From the moment you enter the lobby until you leave the staff tries it hardest to make your stay the best you have ever had. From the meals ( some of the best I have ever had) to the rooms and to the staff it is all first class. If they can make it happened they will try their best to make it so. Because we were on a tour we were given a nice room at the rear of the hotel but after traveling so far and this being maybe the only time I was to be in South Africa we asked to be upgraded to a suite. I would recommend this and with a little compromise we came to a added fee that was acceptable to both. The suite we stayed in was #201 which had a green space in the front of the room along with one of the best sea views I seen in a while. The bathroom itself was very large and along with the nice lower sitting room made the stay even better. The only warning I can give relating to the hotel is watch the stairs in the hot tub in the spa, the first two steps are okay but the thrid drops approx. 4 feet without warning, they shoud have a sign warning of this. While in Cape Town see the sights, the harbour area has a great eating and shopping area, one of the shops to check on is Jewellery Art by Simon SHONE, his three dimensional art is amazing enough that we bought a piece from him. Other sights to see is Table Mountain if you see it clear when looking at it get up there right away as the ocean breezes blow in the clouds all the time.Unfortunatly after a four night stay we had to leave this fine hotel to continue on our trip but it was with regrets that we did so as I stated earlier if you are in Cape Town this is the place to stay, this hotel is part of the Red Carnation Hotel group. The next part of our trip took us back to Joburg and then onto a 12 seater aircraft to the Madikwe Safari Lodge which is a approx. 45 min flight. The hotel itself sits at the bottom of a large (if you are from western Canada its a large hill from elsewhere it may be a mountain). The lodge itself is impressive with a number of private cabins trailing off in several directions, the cabins are private and have a dipping pool, outdoor shower if you want, and a sitting area. If you want to do the nudie thing go for it as you have the cabin and outside area to yourself . Everything is included at the lodge so sample the differernt meals that are offered and are excellent, I would avoid the salads as I had one and paid dearly for it next day so you have been warned. Remember where you are and that is a wildlife reserve, security will walk you to your cabins at night just in case and do not wander at night. When going out on the deck make sure you have it to yourself and not some of the wild life as experienced by some on an earlier Safari who has lions drinking from their dipping pool. We were there just as they were coming into their summer so bugs were at a minimun but gents be the hero check the rooms everynight for the large spiders and milipeds that seem to wander in at night. As for the Safari you are out very early in the morning and late at night lots of wild life to see and take pictures of and not from a distance either very close encounters. The guides are knowledgeable and very commited to the safety of you and that of the animals. You have in your travels in the game reserve while you are out morning brunches, afternoon teas and late night snacks and drinks. It was exceptional and I would recommend this to anyone who is considering a trip here. Just a couple of notes, shame on both the South African Goverment and the Chinese Goverment for not putting the stop to the trade of RHINO Horn,while we were in South Africa a newpaper article printed a story on how so far this year 479 Rhinos had been slaughtered for their horns, they state 479 but it is much higher. 2nd Beware the VAT (valued added Tax) they say that you can claim it when you leave the country but they don`t mention the service charge for claiming it, I had 204 Rand to claim, they charged me 21 Rand to claim it and a further 40 Rand to cash the cheque they issued. Further don`t pack the stuff you bought deep in your suitcases they want to see what you bought a reciept is not good enough.CWP7721

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CWP7721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa.

At our beautiful hotel guests enjoy the best of both worlds…the tranquility and pristine natural beauty surrounding the hotel, with Table Mountain National Park and the Atlantic Ocean Marine Reserve as backdrop, yet only 15 minutes away from the hustle and bustle of all the city attractions and the V&A Waterfront.

The team at The Twelve Apostles is thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to invite you to also experience our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box, which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

Many thanks for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My fiancee and I got engaged at the Twelve Apostles a little while ago. From the moment we arrived, it was a 5-star experience all round. Not only is it a beautiful hotel, the view from our room was breathtaking. In addition to the amazing scenery, the service we received was outstanding and the food from any of the restaurants in the hotel was flawless. Overall, an unforgettable place and a very special experience.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horst F, General Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations on your recent engagement! We are delighted to receive a review from you indicating the enjoyable time you had at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa and feel very privileged to be a part of your special memories.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box which form part of the wider Red Carnation Family.

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,

Horst W. Frehse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I dont have enough adjectives to describe just how amazingly magical our wedding day was - we couldnt have chosen a better venue. The Twelve Apostles Hotel is definitely the number 1 wedding venue in Cape Town. They took such good care of us. The food was divine and such a wonderful variety of it. The service was exceptional - Stephanie, Willem, Pumla & JP are great and always 'at the right place, at the right time'. The views from the Fynbos garden, where our wedding ceremony took place, couldnt have been more picture perfect. The seaview suite was spacious, with stunning views of the ocean. You have to experience the true magic yourself...

Room Tip: Seaview room is a winner. To wake up and see the ocean from your bed - it couldnt get any better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleoAries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMAdvisor, Rooms Division Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Congratulations once again on your recent marriage! We trust that your day was filled with happy memories of the past and bright hopes for the future.

Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa. We are delighted that we have been able to be part of your very special memories.

I am overjoyed that our staff took such good care of you whilst here and that Stephanie, Willem, Pumla and JP had a positive impact on your time with us. They all epitomize the service values and ethics we strive to uphold at the hotel. I will ensure that your comments are shared with them and the rest of the team.

Please note that the same level of care is taken to ensure a similar memorable experience at our other properties, Bushman’s Kloof and The Oyster Box .

The team at The Twelve Apostles looks forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Abraham Mouton
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,602 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#3 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing