We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small is beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,293
    180
    66
    29
    30
See reviews for
248
933
36
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Our second visit to 12 Apostles as one night stay is simply not enough. Understated opulence comes to mind when thinking of the 12 Apostles. I believe the 12 Apostles truly strives to be the best and one can certainly see their attention to detail when interacting with any staff member as well as the details in your environment.
The rooms are decorated in keeping with the ocean views, crisp whites and navel blues aid in ones relaxation. I can honestly say it is THE most comfy bed!
Any request is met by the staff, you can request soft pillows and down duvet, as we did.
Perhaps the down side to a hotel such as this is expectations are extremely high and 12 Apostles didn't disappoint. The food is exceptional, I highly recommend the seafood platter for 2. The breakfasts offer the usual eggs and bacon to Campaign and Oysters.
A beautiful holiday!
.

Room Tip: Inquire about specials as the longer you stay the better the rate is per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johberg_Diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Located on the highway ~ although the pictures make you think you are on the beach with the mountains behind. The wind is ferocious and the blaring sun makes for a harsh lunch on the terrace. The main dining room also disappoints for there are few tables with sea views. Overall, it was not a very upscale or wlecoming place as anticipated. The Spa is very dinky, with privacy issues. Beware of the sales pitches for products they tended to take priority over our actual needs as clients. Way too much money for the room, the spa services, and the restaurants.

Room Tip: The mountain view side rooms have issues with smells from the skunks on the premises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with other travellers however I was most disapointed to read your feelings on the hotel. This does not in any way reflect the views of the majority of our customers many of whom return to us year on year and would be equally disappointed with your feelings.

Yes we are located on the coastal road which stretches from Camps Bay all the way to Cape Point and this is described as one of the most scenic and pictureque roads in South Africa. Tourists and locals do use this road not only to get into Cape Town but for the views of the mountains, sea and the marine life that frequent it's shores.

Whilst we do not have direct access to a beach, the beaches of Camps Bay and Llandudno which are some of the best in South Africa are less than 5 mins away.

Once again it is disappointing that you have not been able to experience The Twelve Apostles for the truely unique property which it is.

Warm regards
Brett Davidge
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

The hotel is beautifully located with a mountainous backdrop and a ocean view out front ! The place is serene, quite and perfect for a couple's luxury getaway. There is also a spa at the hotel The only downside is the cost, everything is expensive and pricy, the plus side is you get treated like kings and queens.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

There is normally not much reason for us to just spend a night in Cape Town, as we only life about 45 minutes away. However, we had a special reason to go and within minutes of our arrival we knew we will stay there again.

Check-in and out is in a comfortable ad luxurious atmosphere. It always takes a bit too long for my liking, but it also give you some time to breath the special aura in. Rooms are sensational, richly decorated but still in light and pleasant colours.

Pool areas are great, nice views, service is excellent all around. We had the "Nature's Gift" package, which included a massage in the amazing Spa as well as a 5 course dinner. Food is simply sensational and I would predict that the Azure Restaurant will make it into South Africa's Top 10 restaurants at the end of next year. All the signs are there for it. We did leave the French Grand Crus in the cellar though...

We had glorious weather during our stay, breakfast on the terrace must be be the best one in Cape Town. The views are to die for.

We checked out and drove down to nearby Landudno Beach which rounded up a very relaxed and pleasurable weekend. We will surely come back the the 12A.

Room Tip: Seaview Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellenbosch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt like royalty. The hotel is situated about 10 minutes from central Cape Town but has a magnificent view of the mountains and the ocean. The staff are exceptionally good, nothing seems to be too much trouble, special mention for Dale on the concierge desk and Shaun one of the hotel drivers - both of whom couldn't have done more for us, any request was met with a smile, great suggestions for day trips from the hotel to the winelands, Cape Point etc. Driven in hotel private Mercedes cars with fantastic and friendly guides. The Leopard Bar has beautiful views and even better cocktails (try the Chocolate Cosmo). Nearby Camps Bay is definitely worth a visit with lots of bars and restaurants. All in all Cape Town was amazing and the Twelve Apostles has set the bar so high I am not sure any other hotel will ever meet their dizzying heights. We will be coming back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Percy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Twelve Apostles and for taking the time to share your views with other travellers.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning some of our team specifically. We are very proud of them and both Dale and Shaun are assets to our hotel.

The Leopard Bar has some of the most breathtaking sunsets on the Atlantic Seaboard and is popular with both international and local guests. The Chocolate Cosmo is a favourite so glad you enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Twelve Apostles and please also visit our other properties in the Red Carnation Group which in South Africa include Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Every aspect of this hotel was perfect. Our room had everything we expected and more, the facilities throughout the hotel exceeded our expectations and every member of staff we came into contact with was helpful and had a ready smile. During our 3 night stay we ate in the main restaurant, the cafe and also the bar - the standard of food was exceptional in all three. The location of the hotel is perfect for relaxing and the hotel offered a shuttle service to Camps Bay and The Waterside area which we used when we wanted some hustle/bustle.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenzojulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdadvisor, Manager at The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experieince with other travellers.

We are naturally delighted that you had a great experience with us and hope to see you returning on many future occassions. Please also consider the other properties in the Red Carnation Group which in South Africa includes, Bushman's Kloof and The Oyster Box.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camps Bay
2.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
2.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
6.1 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,596 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa

Property: The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Address: Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the staggering 12 Apostles Mountain Range and the Atlantic Ocean, the uniquely located and luxurious Twelve Apostles Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate escape to relax and be pampered, while indulging in stunning beauty, discreet service and extraordinary charm. Within 10 minutes of the best beaches and 15 minutes from the waterfront. A proud member of The Leading Small Hotels of the World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Twelve Apostles Hotel Camps Bay
The 12 Apostles Hotel And Spa
Twelve Apostles Hotel
The Twelve Apostles Hotel And Spa Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing