We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Surprise Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only 2 nights and had a good time. The owner from Switzerland and his sister were super friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The location can be easily described as perfect, it takes you <10min to the beach and to the restaurants. The place is surrounded by other residential which make it a very quiet place. The breakfast is simple but very tasty and from good quality.

The rooms are simple but made with love and each one comes with individual theme. We had the "Beach View room" with a lot of glass windows and a massive private balcony, bigger then the room itself. The only problem for us was the heat at night since there is no aircon installed. We had to sleep with open door and used a big fan from next door. Besides this small disadvantage we can surely say that we always come back.

Regards from Summer and Elmar

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank elmolebowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi S, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Surprise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Summer. Thank you for your lovely review. I used to live in Hong Kong myself, so I can understand the importance of air-conditioning! It has been a particularly hot Summer this year. Thank you for the tip. We will most certainly bear this in mind and hope that you will return again knowing that your room is acclimatised to your needs! All the best and a safe return home for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 81 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent one month in this beautiful b&b and loved it, felt like home. The location is great and the villa offers all the comfort you need, each room is decorated diferently, the garden is beautiful. Africa room (next to the pool) where I stayed, was my favorite :-) All in all, I had a great time there.
Many thanks and greetings to Rolf and Linzi, they were perfect hosts!

Room Tip: Africa room (next to the pool)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgAnca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi S, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Surprise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Anca

It is so lovely to hear from you. It was such a pleasure having you stay with us and I know it won't be the last time. It is always so rewarding to see guests feel completely at home and that, you did. Our door is open to you always and your room is waiting for you whenever you find yourself in this beautiful part of the world again. All the best for a stunning 2014. Till we meet again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lovely beach-themed room (all the rooms are themed in fact :-) with a big big balcony and gorgeous views over the sea and the mountains in the background.
Only 5 minutes from the beach and close to table mountain.
Welcoming, friendly, helpful staff.
A very good breakfast with eggs, a selection of breads, fruit, cereal and cheese, with an option to have a cooked breakfast if you wanted one.
Superb attention to detail throughout - from the little kitchenette upstairs where you could make yourself tea or decaf to the sprigs of lavender in your table napkin, the nuts or dates served with the cheese at breakfast and the fluffy bathrobes provided.
A coffee machine with very good Italian coffee which you could buy at any time and the proceeds of which go to the Hope Foundation - which is a nice touch and great cause. Mini-bar prices which are not a rip-off - the first time I've ever come across this!
Unique and quirky art (some of which is available to buy) through-out.
If the times or arrangements of the some of the tours available with the local taxi companies don't suit, do ask Linzi, as she was able to arrange a great trip to Simonstown, Cape Point and Boulders beach just for us.
If (when) we come back to Cape Town, we would have no hesitation in coming back to Villa Surprise.

The only negative would be no air-con but we stayed in May and the fan provided was perfectly adequate.

Room Tip: We loved the Beach room. Big balcony and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaraP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi S, Manager at Villa Surprise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

What a great pleasure to receive such wonderful reviews on par with our service. Fantastic that our attention to detail does not go un-noticed. It was just as much as a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed 6 days in the"Italian room" of Villa Surprise, the room was huge, with a big private bathroom and sea view.
The location is at few minutes walk from the beach and the restaurant.
And Miss Linzi (receptionist) was so nice and helpful anytime !
So I highly recommand this guest house !
David

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bicka2va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linzi S, Manager at Villa Surprise Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

It is always a great pleasure to see our guests make themselves at home as if it were their own. By the time they leave, they've made new friends and so have we. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights here and had a very comfortable stay. The striking thing about Villa Surprise was the way the room had such an African character built into it – the decor, furnishings and even the washbowls in the bathroom are all designed to make you feel as though you are in Africa, for example with a zebra skin rug on the floor. We didn’t find this anywhere else we stayed.

The location is a pleasant residential area which is a short walk from the sea front of Camps Bay, which is a beautiful resort. Be warned though that the winds here can be absolutely wild – but we found that to be true of the whole Cape area.

Rolf and his partner who own and run the guest house are very welcoming and friendly, and helpful with suggestions as to where to eat, what to see etc.

The downside of Villa Surprise is the breakfast, where one is very much left to one’s own devices, on a take it or leave it basis. We were not offered a cooked breakfast at all, although we saw a number of people eating one, who seemed to be South African and were maybe either privileged or knew the ropes.

Room Tip: The Africa Room is spacious and full of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Camps Bay and would highly recommend the area as a base to explore Cape Town. It was much safer and cleaner than downtown, but only 10 minutes away. We stayed 4 nights at Villa Surprise and loved it. The rooms were clean and the service was great. The breakfast was the best part! My only complaint was that the lobby smelled of cigarette smoke, but the rooms did not smell at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldWideAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My girlfriend and I have spend 3 nights at the Villa Surprise. Rolf, Karen and the maids have been great hosts to us. I have no reservations about recommending this guest house and would definitly go there any time again.

Accomodation/pool: Very clean, just the swiss way.
Breakfast: A very nice and comprehensive selection was available.
Location: Close to the beach and various restaurants are reachable in walking distance.

It is just a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
African Dreams Guest House
African Dreams Guest House
#27 of 54 in Camps Bay
101 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fullham Lodge
Fullham Lodge
#12 of 54 in Camps Bay
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#4 of 54 in Camps Bay
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Camps Bay Villa
Camps Bay Villa
#35 of 54 in Camps Bay
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Views Holiday Accommodation
0.9 mi away
Camps Bay Ridge Guest House
Camps Bay Ridge Guest House
#25 of 54 in Camps Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Surprise Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Surprise Guesthouse

Address: 21 First-Crescent, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $86 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Surprise Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guesthouse with dazzling views of both Table Mountain and Lion's Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Surprise Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Surprise Guesthouse Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing