We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning retreat with staff to match”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning retreat with staff to match”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Camps Bay Retreat is located really close to Camps Bay, Clifton and about 15 minutes from the centre of Cape Town. It is a stunning place to stay with gorgeous views in a great setting. My cousin and I booked 4 nights here during the end of September to take advantage of a fantastic deal they had on rates. It does have a feel of a private manor with all the original wood work kept in the main building. We stayed in one of the deck houses with lovely views of the beach, this is outside the main building however it really felt like a hidden retreat with beautiful surrounding gardens and views. Our deck house felt like a very grand tree house! We had complimentary water, lemonade and fresh short bread on arrival and then every night, also on our evening returns each night we were greeted with some lovely surprises including hot water bottles and home made fudge. The free internet is a great plus and is available 24 hours to help with planning for trips whilst away.

The room was spacious and very comfortable, and had a small veranda with a view of the ocean. This retreat would be perfect for honeymooners or couples as there is a romantic feel to the lay out of rooms and the views at night. Meals are served on the terrace, a great menu with hot and cold choices. The lively buzz of the Camps Bay restaurants and bars are very close and a free shuttle is offered to go to the sister restaurant the Bay Hotel for dinner or for the well priced sauna treatments also in the sister hotel.

As well as the stunning retreat itself, the hotel staff more then complimented this. They went out of their way on numerous occasions (Erdil, Chanel and Siobhan in particular) to help us in booking our safaris by researching on our behalf during the day, booking tours for us and making suggestions for places to eat. They could not have done any more and even packed breakfast for us for our 6am departure on the final day.
This is a beautiful place to stay and shows a different side to Cape Town – would definitely come again and will share these warm words with others

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anusha2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    62
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
51
280
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Camps Bay Retreat is hidden away in a side street of Camps Bay,but has an exotic garden running down through a ravine to the sea front. The main house gives the impression of a private mansion when you go in. There are some bedrooms in the main house, but we stayed in one of the newer rooms reached by a rope-bridge over the ravine. The room was spacious and very comfortable, and had a small deck with a view of the ocean. No noise except for the ocean breakers and the birds in the garden, especially the rather raucous hadida bird. Meals are served on the terrace, a rather limited menu but perfectly good. However you can walk down through the garden and onto the beach road and then it is only 10 minutes walk to the lively Camps Bay restaurants and bars. Alternatively it isonly a 10 minute drive to the V & A Warerfront. So if you don't want to stay downtown, this is an excellent choice. The only negative was the rather off-hand reception and a charmless room maid.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deerhound9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

The most beautiful hidden retreat. A colonial manor house, in its own spectacular grounds and gardens. Minutes from the beach and Camps Bay itself with views over the Ocean and the twelve Apostles. Staying in the manor house feels like staying in someone's (albeit opulent) home, complete with veranda, lounge, dining room, library and Steinway baby grand. The staff are excellent and can't do enough to make your stay exceptional. The food is wonderful. A great place to either relax and unwind or visit the local sites, of which there are many.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLSs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Mysef and my partner stayed here last year and found it absoultly fantastic, the most relaxing hotel we have been in, the food was excellent, the service was fantastic, we had a room in the main house overlooking the ocean, could not reccomend it more!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PNeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

absolutely beautiful. good food wine breakfast. staff couldnt do enough for you. great location. surroundings like paradise. relaxing would go back here in a heartbeat. loved evry minute of it. just tucked away nicely only 5 minute walk to beach and front. but felt like u were a million miles away from everyone and everything. paradise.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Enjoyed 8 nights at The Retreat over Xmas. Staff always helpful and obliging. Rooms were lovely and cleaned beautifully. Full English breakfasts were fab and served with a smile by our favourite Londo. Tennis court was great as were the gardens and bike hire was provided promptly when asked for. Only thing we missed out on were the hotel dogs which were advertised on the website but had gone on holiday during our stay. Camps Bay itself is a great place to stay if coming to Cape Town. A huge sandy beach (although sea is cold and has a strongish current) Camps Bay is a mini Miami full of fitness fanatics by day and fun loving hedonists at night. The restaurants are all good value and we didn't have a bad meal during our stay. The Bayside was our favourite together with slightly more expensive ones such as The Grand and Codfather. Clifton Beach is worth walking along to as well as Llandudno Beach a short drive in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This was our second visit to this hotel. Our room was located in the main building and it was beautiful with sea viws. The bathroom was massive and very impressive.It is very peaceful in the hotel as it is away form the hussle and bussle of Camps Bay sea front. This is an important consideration over the Christmas period as the locals use the beach on public holidays .... and they arrive in hundreds!!! During our stay the owners of the hotel were away and their overall mamagement was missing and noticeable. There seemed to be a number of 'new' managers and training managers which meant that some standards slipped e.g used glasses were left on tables for hours, waiters had unironed shirts and struggled with orders.The fish pond was green and old serviettes floated in it. The BBQ evening was not as we expected as there was no choice at all on the menu.The chef came to our table to explain the BBQ. But the dessert and starter was bland , with the main meal being T Boned steak and sausages.We then ate in the Bay Hotel where the food was excellent.( The Camps Bay Retreat offers a free taxi service there).We later had lunch at Camps Bay Retreat and it was good apart from the waiter being unable to find any chilled bottled water.The owners need to be on hand!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing