We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best small boutique hotel I have experienced”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
milan italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best small boutique hotel I have experienced”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stay there especially in the old manor house which only has only 4 suites. There are perphery buildings around with other rooms.Being in the hospitality industry we were impressed with the details in the rooms and the great staff that we wanted to employ! Jenny we want you! The view is amazing, the gardens, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and feels like a friends country home . Not too slick . Lovely sitting room and living areas downstairs just like home. And the sheer luxury of a restaurant in such a small hotel with a great chef AND pastry chef . Breakfast pastries were freshly made ! Great coffee as well. It was a great part of our overall experience in Cape Town. Don't miss the fabulous drive along the coast to cape point. Thank you . We love to have this as our home and the dogs too !

Room Tip: Manor house , pay more to get a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopherong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review Camps Bay Retreat.

I am so glad that Camps Bay Retreat exceeded all your expectations.

The mountain pool, thickets of trees, waterfalls and streams, turns Camps Bay Retreat into a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had.

I will let all the furry friends know you send them your regards.

Wish all the best for the future.

We hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    61
    22
    15
    11
See reviews for
50
279
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Situated above Camps bay this hotel is homely and inviting itch real wood fires throughout the season. Good rooms and fantastic views from the terrace. Good food though rather disappointed that the evening menu wasn't changed every night. Excellent breakfast. Linked to the Camps Bay Hotel you can eat there and charge it to the Retreat Account. Also transfers available in very posh Porsches to anywhere you want- charged as an extra. Good facilities in all the rooms and good secure parking. Chou can walk though the natural hillside garden down to Camps Bay. You may be accompanied by one of the hotel dogs. Be warned that swimming in Camps Bay can be very dangerous as the news stories will tell you. Staff were excellent at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to review Camps Bay Retreat.

We are glad to hear that the facilities Camps Bay Retreat has to offer has exceeded your expectations.

It is great that you were able to enjoy the homely atmosphere that the Earl Dyke manor lends itself to.

I have informed all staff they are doing a fantastic job.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Camps Bay Retreat provided a great stay of four nights.Exceptional staff who go out of their way to help with travel plans in Cape Town.Special thanks to Stefan,Jenny and Alison.
Wonderful food.Specially the hot chocolate special.We would definately stay there again.Breakfast superb.Thanks to Jenni for arranging the guide for my husband to go up table mountain in the fog!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

It is great that you got to enjoy all the little delicacies we have to offer. I will let the Kitchen know they are doing a great job and need to keep up all the good work.

It is fantastic that we could assist in making your first trip to Cape Town a special one.

We hope to welcome you back soon with a good cup of hot chocolate.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautiful, relaxing and so friendly hotel helped make our 1st visit to South Africa truely perfect. having stayed in some 5 star carribean hotels we chose the retreat as a bit of a change from the normal holiday hotel and could not have chosen better. Beautiful grounds/gardens, wonderful, friendly, helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them, gorgeous food and of course the dogs, i wanted to take Ben and Wanda home but my wife wouldn't let me. We will return to South Africa sometime soon and will definately stay here again, just perfect, thanks to Jen, Kirsty, Melanie, Stefan and the entire team for helping to make it a holiday my wife Christine and i will never forget.

Room Tip: We had room one in the main house, beautiful views from the 3 balconies and the size of a small Sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

It is amazing to know that we played a part in your memorable holiday to South Africa.

It is great that you were able to indulge in all the beauty Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

We will send Ben and Wanda your regards.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Camps Bay Retreat was the first of our stays in South Africa, my wife and I were on our 40th wedding anniversary treat! In some ways it might have been better if it was the last, as we thought it would be quite difficult to match this opulence now that the standard had been set. The staff were magnificent, from the young man who greated us at the gate through to the reception staff and bar/waiting staff. Although the first impression was of a rather formal atmosphere, all the staff had the ability to allow you to feel totally relaxed without being too informal. Nothing was of any trouble and the meals were amazing! We were accommodated in the main house and our room was probably one of the best it has been my pleasure to stay in, adding to this was the staff who concocted a special surprise for us one evening in our room to help us celebrate the occasion. I am not too sure when/if we will return to South Africa but you can be assured that Camps Bay Retreat will be on the top of the list for places to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms in the main house were very special. We did not make use of the SPA facility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMcGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Camps Bay Retreat is very happy that we were able to share this special occasion with you and your wife.

It is great that Camps Bay Retreat exceded your expectations.

We do hope to see you again.

We wish you both all the best for the future.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went to Camps Bay retreat with my older husband last year. We were looking for more private, comfortable hotel with interesting and personal features including spa. After searching for hours and days, our travel agent IMAGINE AFRICA persuaded us to stay in Camps Bay. It was just so romantic, beautiful and memorable. Food, staff, fireplace with sherry ......just help yourself and enjoy the sunset or looking at the sea, having wonderful stake and sip sherry and watch th eflames. There ia no wonder that we are going back in January. I can't wait. It is very special and lovely place. Very different from ordinary thou luxurious hotels... It has a soul and feel of something special. Thank you IMAGINE AFRICA for such a wonderful and absolutely spot on recommendation.

Room Tip: If u can het the big room above reception, otherwise all other rooms are over the bridge, 2 min away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaelasimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is exciting to hear we will be seeing you again in January.

We can not wait to welcome you back.

A guest has said before Camps Bay Retreat is one of Cape Towns "Best Kept Secrets".

We are so glad you were able to enjoy all the hidden quality's Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

Untill we see you again...

Have a fantastic day.

Thank you

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taichung
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Having discovered The Retreat on our last trip to Cape Town, I wanted to experience staying there. We were not let down at all! The reception was friendly, the grounds and walks beautiful , the room was spacious and comfortable and the restaurant is one of my favorite in Camps Bay if not the whole of Cape Town. We chose to stay in the Deck House and the walk over the bridge to the room was thrilling and the views on the one side of the Twelve Apostles mountain and the other of the ocean were spectacular . On our first day we were too early for check in so we decided to have lunch on the patio overlooking the ocean and we could faintly hear the waves and the food was amazingly good (not cheap by Cape Town standards but definitely worth it ) we decided to have lunch and dinner there several more times before checking out. The thoughtful touches like hot water bottles in the bed and lavender placed by the pillows made our stay that much more memorable. I would go back tomorrow if I could.

Room Tip: Before booking look on their website for room descriptions and photos as each room is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alextaiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Duty manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your beautiful review.

We are so glad that you were able to experience all the delicacies Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

I have informed the Kitchen they are doing a great job and to keep up the good work.

We hpe to see you soon in the future.

All the best, take care.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Property: Camps Bay Retreat
Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing