We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our first visit to the Camps Bay Resort and it will not be our last..A delightful property, well situated at Camps Bay. The staff were both friendly and professional, the hotel has a relaxed and informal atmosphere. The restaurant experience was superb...Everything a small boutique hotel should be!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gowercoast1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for a great review.

We are very pleased to know you had a great experience.

I have informed the Camps Bay Retreat team to keep up the excellent work.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

The Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 442 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Overall we were very happy with our stay. We stayed in suite 14 which had a private pool which was to be a big treat for our honeymoon. However we were quite disappointed with it. The pool area itself was a bit run down with stains on the patio and weeds growing through the bricks. The pool was cleaned daily but on our final day some sort of bleach substance was added to the water which looked like a white powder floating in the water we were told that it was fine but it actually damaged some of our swimwear.
Some of the fixtures and fittings were a bit worn and a bit cheap but it was kept very clean.

The staff were very nice and friendly particularly the breakfast and dinner waiters. We ate dinner at the hotel several nights and the food was excellent in particular the fine dining menu.

The views were fabulous and we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dublin123Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean G, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Camps Bay Retreat.

Thank you for the positive feedback in relation to the service levels and the meals. I have passed on to the relevant staff members to keep up the good work.

We are sincerely sorry about the circumstances in regards to your experience of the pool area. We value your constructive criticism and we have put in all our efforts to focus on the finer details and improve the state and standards of the pool as well as cleaning procedures.

We hope to see you soon again to witness our positive changes.

Wish you all the best for the future and the New Year.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, the staff were perfect, the setting spectacular, the location ideal, the food very good and the accommodation exactly right. On arrival we sat out in the gardens and felt as though we had arrived in heaven, we were taken to our room over a rope bridge, how cool, to our room 10 in the deck house, it was lovely, even though there was a big bath in the bedroom. Our stay could not have been better, could not recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francochips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Valued guest,

Camps Bay Retreat really appreciates your great review.

We are so glad you were able to enjoy the property to its full expectation.

We hope you had a fantastic holiday in South Africa and hope to see you soon in the near future.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first leg of our South African honeymoon, and I cannot recommend it enough. This place was great and much different than the typical hotel experience. The hotel was beautiful, located on a bluff overlooking Camps Bay. We had amazing views of the bay, Lion's head, and the 12 apostles. The location was tucked away from the hustle and bustle from the street below, while still being within a quick walk to the beach and restaurants/bars near by. It was incredibly peaceful and relaxing; exactly what we needed after our long flight from The States. The beach itself is amazing and Camps Bay is just a quick cab ride away from Cape Town.

The food was top notch, there was not a single meal that we did not think was outstanding, the service was beyond excellent, and the room was huge, well equipped, with a large deck overlooking the coast. We like the retreat much better than their sister hotel down on the beach, which reminded me of some of the overly trendy and annoying hotels you might find on South Beach in Miami. Next time I go back to Camps Bay, we will definitely be staying at the Camps Bay Retreat.

FYI, if you go there for your honeymoon, make sure to let them know beforehand, The hotel had two bottles of champagne, flower petals, and a delicious chocolate cake waiting for us when we got there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevo-International
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review.
You have made us all proud to be part of the Camps Bay Retreat Team.

As others have said before Camps Bay Retreat is the “ideal sanctuary for the Soul”. We are so glad you got to enjoy everything Camps Bay Retreat has to offer.

We wish you all the best for your future together and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

this hotel is so great, i almost hesitate to tell people about it so that i can keep it to myself! we stayed in deck house, room 8. the view was amazing - water and mountains at once. the first day, we had a spa treatment in the most beautiful setting, it was just what we needed after 16 hours of plane travel. the restaurant is fantastic, and sitting there looking over the grounds and out to the water was such a great way to start the day. we loooooved the resident pups - our favorites being wanda and ben (ben actually followed us into our room on two occasions!). they are such sweethearts, and a lovely welcoming committee. the car service between camps bay and the bay hotel is really great - the cars they use are really amazing too, my husband was super impressed (i forget what it was...a porsche? a ferrari? whatever). we have zero complaints and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: don't stay in the deck house if you are uncomfortable with rope bridge - we loved it, but if hei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nycmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We really appreciate your wonderful feedback.

One of our local guests commented on how “This is Camps Bay’s best kept secret”.

It is a beautiful property we are all very proud of.

We are ecstatic that you were able enjoy everything that Camps Bay Retreat had to offer. Especially getting to know our resident furry friends.

Thank you again.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent three nights here in one of the Tree top rooms, the room was spacious and .
the views of the sunsets from our deck and room were spectacular, We ate dinner in the restaurant three nights in a row, the food in the restaurant was excellent, The hotel staff courteous and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel. I didn't use the spa or the facilities at their sister hotel but if they are as good as the rest of the hotel and I have no reason to doubt they aren't I am sure they are very good.,

Room Tip: We were in Tree house number nine, it has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hexthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback.

It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us here at Camps Bay Retreat.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon in the near future.

All the best.

Kind regards

Camps Bay Retreat Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Peaceful. Great helpful staff. Great location 5 mins walk from camps bay strip. Had a lovely 3 days here relaxing. They have a sister hotel down on the strip and you can use all their facilities, but we didnt avail of them. They also have a shuttle car which goes between the hotels if you dont want to walk the 5 mins. Great spot. Camps bay is nice. Good quality restaurants overall. The breakfast in the retreat was gerat too. Nice coffee too which is vital!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Camps Bay Retreat is very grateful for your feedback.

As reporter had said in Cape argus in 1929 “ Hidden between two natural ravines, there is an estate on which a Manor ‘to be envied’ was built.”.

We are all very happy to know that you wonderful time here.

The property speaks for itself we do our utmost to add value to the property. I have let the kitchen know they are doing a great job with breakfast!

All the best.

Thank you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
333 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $235 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing