We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife said I should keep this magical place a secret”
Review of Camps Bay Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Camps Bay Retreat
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Camps Bay Retreat is a superb place to stay during a trip to Cape Town. It is a gorgeous serene boutique hotel set in lush gardens which are still being developed. From the veranda you wander through the trees to a road and then on to the wide golden Camps Bay beach overlooked by the Twelve Apostles mountain range. The hotel welcomes you in every way and gives the impression of a country house weekend with sumptuous rooms and cosy sitting rooms and a library. The staff are extremely helpful and charming. The meals are excellent and the BBQ (braai) magnificent. The icing on this delicious cake are the house dogs who are friendly but not intrusive and if you are not a dog lover do not book here;if you are go nowhere else. AWe have fond memories

Stayed: March 2012
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 430 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed at the retreat after the recommendation of the Harbor Hotel Hermanus and we did not regret it. This property is just amazing and one of the most beautiful places we ever stayed at. The garden, the food, the setting, the spa treatment were just wonderful and the staff was great. We will for sure stay there again if we have the occasion to go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaeuzchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was our third stay in 3 years and we are already planning to return next year.
This time we brought family from Canada who loved the rooms, views and food.
Staff are excellent, friendly and helpful.
The accommodation in the Villa was special, as always, with views of the beach and Lion's Head. Food is great and always freshly cooked to order. Eating on the patio with the views is a wonderful experience.
The grounds are beautiful and a delight to wander through. we love dogs so they are a bonus.

Room Tip: Have only stayed in the Deck house and Villa, both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This charming hotel with its mix of old world charm and modern deck style bedrooms is a must for anyone staying in Cape Town. The staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you. The food is excellent and the views from the patio dining area are to die for especially at sunset. If you don't like dogs then this is probably not for you as Wanda,Ben, Bella and Blondie the resident dogs wander round 'their home'. However we saw no evidence of them in the swimming pools which were extremely clean. We spent 5 nights here and would return tomorrow without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brucie32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great choice for a luxury hotel close to Capetown but also moments from a beautiful beach and close to the wide choice of restaurants. We stayed in room 1 which is in the original colonial building - lovely and more of a suite than a room with great views of Lions Head. The food was fantastic and the service laid back. The dogs we loved and yes Wanda does swim in one of the pools if invited, this did not worry us at all but I can see this being a point for non dog lovers to consider! Perfect setting for watching the sunset before dinner and if you are weighing up being on the waterfront or here we would highly recommend Camps Bay, just take the open top bus to get to town and around all the sites!

Room Tip: For modern rooms choose the deck house, but for old world charm the original house is the choice. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

An absolutely gorgeous hotel full of old world charm. Interestingly the room we stayed in, (the Deck House) was located across a heavily landscaped gorge accessed by a rope bridge. The rooms were great and had their own sun deck with fantastic views out to the sea. Dinner was served on the terrace of the main house where you can watch the sun going down on the horizon. The barbecue we had was great!!! We found the staff pleasant and very helpful. We would certainly use this hotel again!!
Oh and the hotel dog Wanda was a real pet!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

WWe had booked thsi hotel uin January for 4 days to really relax a couple of days. I'm a swimmer, but to my astonishment I saw 2 dogs in the swimming pool. I asked the management and they replied that this was for them quite normal since "the dogs belong to the resort". He was not impressed at all about my reaction in terms of hygiene and and guests comfort. This was so chocking for us, that we refused to stay any longer in this hotel. I must admit that the manager assisted us in finding another hotel. So if you appreciate hygiene in general and for swimming pook in particular, avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampsBayRetreat, Manager at Camps Bay Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2012

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your feedback is highly valued.

Our resident dogs love the attention from our guests, ranging from just playing ball or a tummy rub. Although all efforts are made to discourage residents feeding the dogs, or luring Wanda into the swimming pool, is it not always visible to management the activities of guests.

We do pride ourselves in the hygiene of the property and guests alike, and therefore have all guests facilities treated twice daily due to the factor of having resident dogs.

It is pleasing to read about your feedback relating to my assistance in moving your reservation to our sister hotel. Being compared to a “family home” and “home away from home” by past guests, is our sister hotel more appreciated by guests preferring the standard hotel experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
677 reviews
0.7 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camps Bay Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camps Bay Retreat

Address: 7 Chilworth Road | The Glen, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Camps Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $262 - $628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camps Bay Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camps Bay Retreat Luxury Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for the soul, set on four acres of lush green nature reserve. With a mountain meditation pool, thickest of trees, waterfalls and streams, it is a peaceful paradise, where meditative moments are waiting to be had. Views stretch across the ever-changing Atlantic Ocean and along the peaks of the Twelve Apostles Mountain Range, from the Deck House and The Villa. The estate has features such as four pools, a tennis court, a spa and a fine dining restaurant. Dine in the old world splendour of the original manor house, where Von Kamptz Restaurant's executive chef creates a daily menu of gourmet fare, combining a symphony of fresh ingredients from local markets. Food is paired exquisitely with celebrated wines from the region, best experienced as part of a candlelit three course affair! Spoil yourself with a choice of massages, treatments and facials at the spa. Spend the day luxuriating in the spa, relaxing in the sauna and being revitalized with a deep tissue massage. A refuge for the body and a haven for the mind, you'll unravel and surrender to the tranquility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Camps Bay Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camps Bay Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Hotel Camps Bay
Retreat Hotel Camps Bay
Camps Bay Retreat Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing