We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect property perfect location”
other travelers have booked this property
Wake up to this every day
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wake up to this every day
Only steps from the Ocean Breathtaking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Wake up to this every day
Only steps from the Ocean
Breathtaking
Room for two :-)
Dining in style
Relax in comfort
Cosy !
Gourmet ready
Another nice room
Cooling off required
The Master bedroom with that lovely tub
More comfort
A little gem
Room to,relax and read perhaps?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Camps Bay, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
glorian35...
Dover Heights, Australia
1 review
“Perfect property perfect location”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This apartment was exactly what we needed for our family of six. With even a double bedroom to spare,!! It was beautifully clrean well appointed and modern with everything we required and even a few basic toiletries. The best aspect of this apartment was it’s proximity to the buzz of camps bay. Merely a five minute flat walk to all the restaurants and shops in the area. The view was amazing and drinks on the terrace at sundown was breathtaking. Jenny was the representative from the managing agents and was most helpful for any queries at any time.

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this apartment It’s a beauty !!!!!!!

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 27, 2018
Thank you so much Gloria and it was a pleasure to have you and your family as our guests - please come back sometime and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Michael and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footprint...
1 review
“A Beautiful apartment close to Camps bay”
Reviewed January 23, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The apartment was stunning the photos do not do it justice. It was a little part of heaven

It was walking distance from camps bay. There was loads of Restaurants and all good quality

And it was a small drive to Cape Town. There plenty of Parking,

There was a small beach just down from the Apartment .

The Apartment was well equipped

Lionel was great too nothing was too much trouble he gave us plenty of ideas and also organised the wine tour which was fab

Would definitely go again

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2018
Thank you so much for your generous comments and we are just delighted you enjoyed your stay in our home and so please come back and visit again ...regards Michael and Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola S
Vaucluse, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a great place to stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed there as 4 women on a girls trip, it was really great, loved the view, the pool and the airy space of the appartment. Thanks for a lovely time.

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren K
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent, beautiful home in Camps Bay!”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The home is as described. It was perfect for my group of 8 friends staying in Cape Town for a few days. It is conveniently located to the restaurants, bars, and shops of Camps Bay. The home overlooks the ocean and captures absolutely beautiful sunsets. Since we had a large group I wish we had access to another key to the house, but otherwise I had no complaints at all. Check in and check out was seamless and the owner was very responsive. I will definitely be visiting again!

Date of stay: March 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin V
1 review
“Outstanding accommodation, outstanding location”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had the most magical experience. The luxury penthouse apartment has amazing views and we spotted a southern right whale from the viewing deck. Ideally located for Camps Bay and for exploring the rest of the beautiful Cape. We will be back!

Date of stay: March 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
youcanagr...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed January 19, 2016 for a stay in January 2015

This is a little late I know but as I cannot rate this apartment highly enough it is only fair to put in my report. We booked as a family group of all ages. It is always good to be cautious so after a bit of investigation and various email between owner Michael Johnson and ourselves, we were happy to book. Michael is charming and cannot do enough to help with your holiday plans and the logistics. Did it live up to our expectation? Yes over and above, Camps Bay is beautiful, restaurants are fantastic, view from the balcony breathtaking and the private lift an adventure. The accommodation is superb lovely rooms and smart contemporary living areas; I don't really want to give the place a great review because we want to keep it a secret and have this holiday apartment all to ourselves!
For us this was one of the highlights of our trip. Fabulous!

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2016
Thanks a million for the comments - it gives us great pleasure to know that people enjoyed our home and we are delighted to share it with lovely people like Mary and her family , please come back !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro M
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cash Extortion”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for 4 nights in Feb/March with friends. At the moment of booking we've asked for a discount since the price for us was too high - we were 4 people and this was an 8 bed apartment. The owner agreed and provided a reduction of US$200 from a total of US$1400. After 2 days of our stay a 5th person joined us unexpectedly in Cape Town (for the 2 last nights) and I didn't see any problem on him staying in the house - afterwards there were 4 free beds and we had rented the whole property (regardless of the discount I presumed).

We are only reviewing this now as I'm booking online again and remembered how valuable reviews are to make a final decision on a place to stay.

The situation was as follows:

In the two first nights we had friends from Cape Town coming in for drinks until late. I must admit we have definitely exceeded the noise limits and we have bothered the neighbors.

In the third morning the house manager comes in with a message from the owner: "I've received several complaints from neighbors regarding the noise and people coming in over two last nights. Either you guys pay US$250 extra in cash or I'll call the police and they will through you out of my property".

At the moment we were being noticed our 5th friend arrived and the manager informed the owner of such extra person.

After a few discussions over email and phone with the property owner, we had shown that even if he wanted to charge us for the extra person for two nights, mathematically the discount he provided was much lower on a pro rats basis than the extra value he wanted to charge - we would think that maximum he could had argued was for the whole discount value of US$200. He was firm and insisted that either we would pay US$250 in cash the next morning or the police was throwing us out and he would retain the US$600 deposit.

Even though we believe that there was no legitimacy in order to enable him to pursue his threats, we decided that we either would start a fight that would ruin our last days in South Africa, or we would just pay, poste a bad review and hope that tripadvisor investigates the procedures used by the owner - I beleive that from beginning the correspondence should have been held at tripadvisors level since any extra payment should have been done through the platform.

Additionally it's important to highlight that he insisted that he was paid in cash and not through part of the deposit as we suggested, in order to be on the record and for us to deal with it later - I guess that the deposit is meant only for damages and therefore much more difficult to justify retaining it.

On a foot note - during my discussions with the owner I mentioned constantly that the property still didn't have internet as announced, even though I had already pointed it out at check in (eventually we never got any internet throughout the whole stay) and that refreshing work emails was originating outrageous data roaming volumes (in the end this added up to over US$800 roaming bill amongst the 4 of us).

In summary, I recognize our fails in what concern loud noise and perhaps the unnoticed extra person for two nights (don't think that there is any condition saying that we couldn't have visits though...). In spite of this, we consider that the owner was highly opportunistic and used illegitimate blackmailing tactics to deal with the situation.

All these are facts that are recorded in emails and our opinion on those. We would appreciate the view of tripadvisor on this situation.

The property was delivered in perfect and clean conditions and inspection found no signs of damage or misuse. The deposit was fully refunded as it should. The owner was paid in cash the US$ 250 during our stay.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 8, 2016
This review is a complete distortion of the truth , these guests behaviour was appalling , they turned our home into a party house , we had numerous reports from neighbours about late night noise and comings and goings . They broke the contract which was quite specific on the number of guests and on reflection we should have just tossed them out . The use of words like extortion is headline grabbing and contemptuous. The quests were given a choice to leave or pay the additional charge . The charge actually was related to our property manager having to make several visits to our home and the time and costs associated with this , we had no doubt that had we not insisted on a cash payment we would have never received payment. As owners we offer a high quality home and we and our home were disrespected and I think these people have a cheek in writing this review , their behaviour was outrageous ! For the record we told the property manager to keep the payment to compensate in some measure for the hassle she got from these louts!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing