We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an amazing place to stay”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #5 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such an amazing place to stay”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed at this place for a total of about 7 days (because we kept coming back.)

The gardens are absoltely gorgeous and the views you get even when you are parking the car of the ocean are amazing.

All the staff were so helpful and friendly and we got a great rate with a free upgrade without even asking.

Breakfast each morning was great - buffet style with everything. The ladies running breakfast & cleaning our rooms were so lovely also.

Beds were comfy, views from the room were lovely and the service was of the highest standard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back to stay there again.

Could not fault this place, if you stay here you are guarentee to come back to stay again!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ering08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    94
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
325
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ocean View Guest House &, in fact, we were sad to leave.
We found the Public Area most attractive, the bedroom comfortable & tastefully furnished and the breakfasts, which consisted of a variety of fresh fruit, cereals & breads etc: followed by a cooked selection were beautifully prepared each day.
Werner &Tania, the joint managers, could not have been more helpful & the rest of the staff were extremely efficient & friendly.
The Guest House is well situated, close to the Twelve Apostles & Table Mountain. The extensive gardens are beautifully maintained & the views from the grounds are stunning.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Notts, UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Before we even set foot across the threshold at OVGH I knew our stay would be excellent. Tania and Werner had been so helpful via email in helping to book our accommodation and they were just as delightful in person.

We had the Pool View room which also had amazing views across the ocean. Behind us were the Twelve Apostles, looming large and majestically over the ocean. And just to the left behind we could see Table Mountain. Just perfect.

The hotel is an easy 10 minute walk into Camps Bay itself, where you will find many bars and restaurants (try Blues for amazing seafood and views across the Bay).

Nothing was too much trouble for Tania, who let us use the hotel computer to book in for our flights online, advised us on rush hour traffic and was supremely helpful and cheerful.

It's also a short drive from here along Chapman's Peak (breathtaking views) and then over towards Boulder's Beach for a penguin fix!

Throroughly recommended as a great place to stay just out of Cape Town. It's only a 30 minute drive from CPT International Airport too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leafytri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Ocean View from 28/12/9-10/1/10. The breakfasts were excellant and all the staff were very helpful. The hotel is not to large so keeps the persoanl touch. Tanya was very helpful and booked our trips and taxis. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Camps Bay itself and me and my girlfriend did this walk most evenings and felt completely safe. The pool and grounds were always been given attention by the staff and everything was immaculate. The turn down service in the room every evening was a nice touch complete with chocolates and a weather forecast for the following day. There is a honesty bar in the restaraunt as well if you fancy a drink when nobody is around, the minibar in our room was quite reasonably priced too. There were many other guest houses and hotels we passed to Camps Bay that were closer however I wouldn't have wished to stay in one of these as they seemed a little to close to the action and looked very busy all the time. Overall a great stay with no negatives at all.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beaky2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We have just returned from this superb Guest House/mini hotel which was just fabulous. The staff make you feel so welcome, it is like one big happy family, without any intrusion of privacy. The breakfast is amazing and the rooms including the wonderful suites - certainly worth a visit. Great views from the rooms and generally a 'smashing' place to spend two weeks. We will definitely return when next visiting South Africa. It is on a bed and breakfast basis, and there are some wonderful restaurants for the evening in Camps Bay which is about 15 minute walk away.

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SweetheartSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Excellent location you can walk to and from Camps Bay very easily and only a 10 min drive to the V & A waterfront.
Helpful staff with good breakfast everyday.
We had the pool view room which had excellent views of the ocean.
I was pleasantly surprised when we found out there was free parking. The hotel also let me use their computer to check my emails.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Ocean View Guest House provided luxury accomodation in a beautiful setting which exceeded our expectations. It is every bit as good as the photographs on the web site.The attention to detail permeated the guest house with excellent service from everyone. Special mention must go to Werner and Tania [ assistant managers] for whom nothing was too much trouble. Prior to our arrival I contacted the guest house and Werner organised our transfers, booked us a township tour and generally gave us informative answers to our questions. He [ and Tania] acted as a concierge might do in a leading 5 star plus hotel, with the addition of great warmth and humour.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat16manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing