We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #5 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent almost a week along with 3 other couples during April. Ocean View House not only provided wonderful accommodation in a great location but the assistance they gave us during a medical emergency went way beyond the call of duty.

Fabulous breakfast with the most amazing range of fruits on offer - the best I have ever experienced!

A really great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Marilyn R

I trust that you are well.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experience at Ocean View House.

Yes, we, the staff at Ocean View House, always strive to exceed guests' expectations by going the extra mile.

We are truly happy to hear that everything worked out well for you and your family.

Breakfast is always a great start to the day, and yes, we do offer a variety of seasonal fruits daily.

Best of luck and we trust to see you in the near future!

Kind Regards
Bronwynne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    94
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
93
325
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Really recommend this top spot in Camps Bay. Stayed just one night at the end of out trip and booked via Late Rooms and was really pleasantly surprised. Room excellent, view beautiful, breakfast super and really great service. Can't beat it for Camps Bay. Bit of a walk to the heart of Camps Bay which was lovely in the morning but you wouldn't want to do it t night.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDubUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for the lovely feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at Ocean View with our two young daughters, 2 and 4, over Easter and had a really nice time. We took one of the suites which was perfect for the kids as the bedroom and living areas were separated by sliding doors and there was a small kitchenette so that we food make small meals for the kids when they were hungry.

The set up and the gardens are lovely and service is very attentive. The breakfast is very generous and delicious.

The guest house is a short and beautiful stroll away from the restaurants and beach of Camps Bay, so a perfect place for exploring the suburb but also the city of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexkafka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Alexkafka,

thank you for the great feedback!

Yes, the Milkwood suite is indeed ideal for a family with children as this room is the only room that has a kitchen and the possibility to separate the sleeping area from the lounge area!
All in all a very spacious room.

We welcome kids of all ages!
Looking forward to welcome you again sometime

Best Regards
Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely room and a really pretty setting. We liked the gardens and the hammocks! Fab breakfast by the pool area (unfortunately a little too chilly to get in...). It is a five minute or so drive to Camps Bay but is great value for the quality of the place. Amazing staff too, so helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Lovely Review, thanks!!!! :-)

Liz, thank you for the feedback - although we are heating the pool with solar panels it does cool down quickly again, when it is cloudy during the day and cool at night! At least still a touch warmer than the Atlantic Ocean ;-)

Hope to see you again sometime

Camps Bay greetings

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We finished our holiday in South Africa with 6 nights at Ocean View. Whilst it had many good points, we were a bit disappointed with the room we got, but perhaps we had been spoilt elsewhere!

Our room was described as "luxury" room, but it fell short of the luxury we had experienced at other hotels in SA. It was quite small and it didn't have a bath- only a shower. The bed was only queen-sized and the room had limited decoration and facilities. I would compare it to a room at a Premier Inn in the UK, although it was a bit more tasteful than them. Overall, it fell short of what I would consider to be "luxury".

Apart from that, we had few complaints. Our balcony, although small, had lovely views of the coast and enjoyed full evening sunshine. There was a nice pool area with towels and cushioned sunloungers, plus a small garden, all of which were looked after really well by the maintanance staff.

The staff were really friendly and helpful, gave us good advice (like to go to Fish Hoek for the best beach)! They checked if Table mountain was open, checked that our flight home was OK and supplied fresh milk to our room each day (as we don't like UHT)! They gave us advice and arranged for us to extend our departure from the room until the evening on our last day, even though they were almost full that night. All told, we couldn't fault the service.

They only served breakfasts, but these were superb, with the best range of fruit, cereals, meats and cakes we came across on our stay in SA. They also fresh cooked a full "english" breakfast as required. We walked each evening to Camps Bay and enjoyed the restaurants there, which were of a good quality. We felt quite safe doing that, even though it was dark when we came back.

So it's not too bad really!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony and try to get one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Henso,

thank YOU so much for such detailed and honest review.

I really think that your review and comments can assist fellow travellers to get a good idea of Ocean View House and what we have to offer.

We have also taken your comment with regards to the Luxury Room Category in consideration and renamed this category to "Classic room" and hope that this description will assist in meeting the guest expectations in future.

Once again thank you for the detailed genuine review!

Till next time in Cape Town

Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Deutschland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Ocean View Guest house and used it as a gateway to explore the western cape. The location is great (you can take the Ocean view quite literally), as is the service that is delivered by the very friendly staff.

The only minor thing to be aware of is the lack of a restaurant for dinner - but then, Hout and Camps Bay are only minutes away, so why would you want to dine in anyways?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flomilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, Front Office Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Flomilie

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experience at Ocean View House.

The Ocean View House, indeed, offers unobstructed ocean View from either your private terrace or balcony.

We do offer light lunch, daily, from 12h to 15h, but as you mention, Camps Bay is about 1.5 km walk to our right and Hout Bay about 10km drive to our left, to enjoy Dinner with a beautiful sunset.


We trust that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to ocean View House.

i remain,

With Kind Regards
Bronwynne Du Toit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is our second vist to Ocean View House and again it did not dissapoint, We had the panorama room which gave us fantastic views of the ocean and stunning sunsets. The breakfast was first class and the choice of food was superb. Sunbathing in the gardens is like being in your own oasis with a mountain stream and surrounded by tropical trees and plants.
I would like to thank Werner, Katrina, Sunne, Blodwynne and all the staff for making our holiday truley memorable. We will be returning to travel the Garden Route and Ocean View House will again be part of that holiday.
Giulio and Vivienne Pontone ( Newton Aycliffe England )

Room Tip: Room 17 and 18 both have large private balconies with fantastic ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giuliop208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, Front Office Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Giulio and Vivienne Pontone

WOW! Thank you for the review and feedback of your stay at Ocean View House.

We are pleased to hear that you once again enjoyed your stay with us!

The Ocean View House team always takes pride in maintaining our beautiful garden, and thus, there is always the feeling of being in a "tropical oasis".

We are looking forward to your next visit with us!

With Kind Regards
Bronwynne Du Toit and the Ocean View House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
1.0 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing