We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2012”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #4 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fabulous place - we didn't want to leave! Staff friendly and helpful. Standard of rooms and fittings were extremely good. Location perfect and easily walkable to Camps Bay. We would thoroughly recommend - you won't be disappointed! Barry and Kim

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed at Ocean View for 6 nights over Christmas. We had a garden room which was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 102Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 554 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

My stay in november 2012at the Ocean View was just perfect...
Nice and friendly people, a very nice hotel with large rooms,peaceful setting,a very good breakfast.
The place is out but not far from Camps Bay (within waking distance).
Lunch sncaks are also very nicely prepared and a good solution if you want to sleep around the (little) swimming pool.
Definitely, a place to discover and visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascalH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Ocean View Guest House and would gladly stay again! The view is breathtaking, the room was spacious, bright, and inviting. The staff was wonderful and friendly. The chef is amazing! Breakfast each morning was delicious and the lite lunch was amazing! The location is also very close to other beaches and "downtown" of Camps Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with 2 children and found it very convenient. The location is great and the folks here are very friendly. The ocean views are fantastic and rooms are spacious and clean. We can highly recommend this place and would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KTNeumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Pro
The staff was superb. Everyone was friendly and helpful.
The view was fantastic.
The location was great. It was right next to Camps Bay so that you're close to the action but your not in it. You can choose to have a quiet night drinking on the balcony or live it up in Camps Bay. It is also easy to get to town.
I only attached pics of the room because I think there is enough pics of the view on Tripadvisor.

Con
NONE!

Note: I would suggest the pool deck rooms (there are only 2). You get to walk right out to the pool and the pool deck. You also get the ocean view. ( see pics)

Room Tip: The pool deck rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilysWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Lily,
thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review and .....over and above load your own pictures! We really do value your feedback and your own travel photos will give other travelers a great idea of what the room looks like! Yes, the view from the Pool Deck is just amazing, especially those sunsets.......;-)
hope to see you again some time soon
Katrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed over the 1st week of December for 3 nights and we absolutely loved the place. Situated in the amazing Camps Bay area, the hotel is a nice 10 mins walk from the Camps Bay beach. The rooms are clean and nice and we had a good ocean facing room. A very quiet and safe area.
Staff are very friendly and help you with any taxi bookings and day tours. Delicious buffet breakfast spread and the chef is also very friendly and can cook up something as per your requirements. We were vegetarians and he did cook us some baked beans with lots of vegetables. Loved it.
Our first visit to Cape Town and we loved the stay here and a great start to our South Africa holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siddharth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have been staying at Ocean View for over ten years and it remains my favourite hotel in Cape Town. Far enough from the city centre - this is a hidden gem! Close enough to Camps Bay's main attractions to be in walking distance this guest house has it all.

I stayed on business on this trip and nothing was too much trouble. Don't let the entrance put you off once inside the main gate you are in for a special treat. The views from the rooms are stunning and from the terraces you can see from Lion's Head to the 12 Apostles.

Breakfasts are hearty and the honesty bar remains a nice touch.

The staff are simply the best around - helpful, informative and completely unobtrusive. I took colleagues there on this trip and they are talking about when can we go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PookeyPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
307 reviews
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
352 reviews
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $107 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing