We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Improving.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #6 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Always Improving.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This was our second stay at this wonderful establishment and we want to confirm that all the high standards we previously experienced are still there in abundance and it still remains our utmost favourite place to stay over on our trips to Cape Town. What even impressed us more since the last visit is the speciality breakfasts offered by the chef each morning in the lovely breakfast room overlooking the pool. Very tasty and a big improvement on the usual old eggs and bacon. Can't find anything wrong or to complain about. We just never stop raving about the Ocean View and look forward to having our next stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear Malcolm,
Thank you for your review!
We are delighted you enjoyed our breakfast offer and specialities! Pity you didn't get to try the Picnic basket....!
For the season 2012 we are planning regular themed dinner evenings such as Cape Malay or a traditional South African "Braai". That way our guest can taste local food which isn't so readily available in the surrounding restaurants. I hope you will be back for that to join us. In the meantime our newsletter and blog with provide you with interesting information about the events in Cape Town.
Sincerely
Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    92
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
311
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We recently stayed for 5 nights at Ocean view. It is in a beautiful location with amazing views. Our room was nice and bright and the cot provided was perfect for our little girl. The breakfast staff were very welcoming and gave us some great ideas on what to do. The only down side is that the room did not have airconditioning which made it a bit uncomfortable in the evening. A fan was provided but it was very noisy so not possible to sleep with it on.

All in all Ocean view is a lovely plave and our daughter throroughly enjoed the pool and fish.
Thanks Ocean View

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Claire M,
Thank you for your feedback and yes you are absolutely right the missing air conditioner in this particular Pool Deck room was indeed a shortcoming. I am pleased to inform you that we have now installed an air-conditioner in the room and at the same time used the opportunity to renovate the bathroom and put a writing desk in the room.
Looking forward to see you may be in the future again I remain with
Best Regards
Katrin Ludik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 8 nights at the beginning of March and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a large suite which was very comfortable with fabulous views of the ocean and you could hear the waves crashing on the rocks at night. The gardens are lovely to relax in as is the pool area. Our only regret was that we were trying to pack in so much sightseeing while we were in Cape Town that we rarely had time to just relax by the pool. However, we did enjoy several evenings on our balcony watching the sunset over the ocean with a glass of wine. The breakfasts were very good, and the chef not only cooks but was happy to spend time with us making some helpful suggestions as to places that we should visit. The receptionists were extremely helpful although a couple of times we did think that it might be helpful to have someone on duty past 7 p.m. Ocean View is in a great location as one has the feeling that one is away from all the hussle and bussle - yet it's only a 5 minute drive down to Camps Bay at night for a vast choice of great restaurants. It also only took us about 15 minutes to drive downtown to the V&A Waterfront and other tourist attractions. We would both be very happy to return for another holiday at the Ocean View.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We asked our travel agent to book us into somewhere not too far out of Cape Town for one night before our flight home............as we drew near to Camps Bay I realised we had stayed at Ocean View twice before............9 years ago, we loved it then and we loved it this time! Delighted to be back somewhere that had been so good in every respect on previous visits and to find it was still delivering the same level of food and sevice in their wonderful location - only wish we'd remebered how much we'd liked it previously and actually factored in a few days there when planning the trip!! - which we will do next time as, not only is everything about Ocean View just right, it's also in an excellent location for getting out and about.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGARET S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and would definitely visit again. The accommodation is first class, and staff were so welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was good and we took advantage of the offer of a picnic hamper which did not disappoint. The location is ideal for Camps Bay, Cape Town and surrounding area. The views from the hotel are exceptional and hotel gardens lovely. There is a good sized pool and plenty of comfortable sun loungers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireDylan65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was not our first visit to OCV but it did not disappoint! The location is ideal (a short, flat walk from the very quiet and surprisingly secluded location towards the end of Camps Bay into the buzzing centre). The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful, going the extra mile to help us enjoy our stay. The accommodation was spotless, wonderful (and I am fussy), the sunbeds the most relaxing I have ever experienced, and the gardens a real treat. The breakfast 'Specials' menu and day time snacks mean this guest house must be in line for a 5th star! We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill and Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Gill & Bill,

thank you for a lovely review! It was great having you back at Ocean View House - coming to work during your stay was alwasy fun. You are part of the family! Looking forward to see you next year - I will get the Picnic basket and chairs ready;-)
Please stay in touch.
Katrin and the Ocean View House team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

we stayed four nights at ocean view and loved it. Lovely grounds and sun terraces spacious bright bedroom with lovely ensuite with fabulous ocean views. extremely helpful staff. delicious breakfasts to cater for all tastes and lovely snacks available during the day until 3pm. Amazing honesty bar which was a wonderful facility.(and hopefully never abused)Ideally placed to explore surrounding areas. we were made to feel welcome safe and all our needs were attended to promptly . we would definitely return

Room Tip: all seemed excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinLudik, General Manager at Ocean View House, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Ian r,
thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Ocean View House.
It helps us as well as fellow travelers to make their stay at Ocean View House an unforgetable one! Hope to see you next February.
Katrin and the Ocean View House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
623 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,072 reviews
1.0 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Property: Ocean View House
Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing