We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful place to stay”
Review of Ocean View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean View House
Ranked #4 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2011

My husband and I started our honeymoon at the Ocean View Guest House and we weren't disappointed. Our arrival after a very long flight was very friendly and we were suprised with an upgrade. Our suite was fantastic with amazing views over the ocean.

Breakfasts at the Ocean View were great and always served with a smile. The House was beautiful grounds and being only a 10 minute walk from Camps Bay the House is lovely and quiet.

The staff were really friendly and helped us arrange trips, transport and takeaways. The room we had was huge with a very large, comfy bed. The bathroom was well equipped and our room was cleaned every day.

A great place to stay and explore Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glendij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 562 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2011

The Ocean View Guest House was a wonderful place to stay. The location is perfect. Just outside of Camps Bay so its a little more quiet, however an easy walk. The location is also central to all the places that one would want to see while in Cape Town. The owners are very nice as is the main housekeeper. This is a guest house, not a hotel; the review that was "terrible" was not accurate and should be taken down. The people that wrote the review were looking for a luxury hotel. This is a guest house and has not been advertised any differently.

Room Tip: Just ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We have just returned from 10days at Ocean View House.
Like Nigel who commented earlier, we were given a room which did not match the description of the rooms on the web.We immediately addressed our disappointment with the front of house staff and we were moved.
The location,(a few minutes by car from the main strip)the views ,and the gardens are incredible.
Tania is the front of house encyclopedia of where to go and what to see,nothing was too much trouble.
The team of ladies and gents who work behind the scenes make this a fabulous place to stay,everything was done to a very high standard.
If you are looking for a gem this is it.
We started the day with a wonderful breakfast and ended it watching the amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madge88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Great welcome and hospitality. All of the staff we came into contact with were really brilliant, knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanhopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Having read the reveiws on trip advisor we were not disapointed when we arrived actually it was even better. The assistance we got from Tania and Werner was first class and all the staff at the guest house were very friendly and helpful. The location was superb just a 15 minute walk into lovely camps bay and at no time did we feel unsafe. We did various tours and some local driving and at the end of the day we came back to beautiful gardens and watch the magnificant sunset. We intend to return in 2012.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvpontone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

All the staff were very helpful and the room was spotless and comfortable.
Camps Bay was 10 mins walk away to lots of good restaurants
The view was stunning

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumner023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

My husband and I wanted to stay near Camps Bay to truly experience summer in South Africa. Ocean View Guest House is just outside Camps Bay which was a complete blessing due to the traffic in town. The hotel was easily accessible to Cape Town and all the surrounding sites. The staff was extremely helpful on booking excursions and suggestions of places to tour not only in Cape Town but through out our time in South Africa.

We were lucky to have a recently remodeled room that overlooked the ocean. Although we were on the main road you could not hear the traffic when the windows were closed. Everynight we watched the sunset dip below the ocean from our balcony. It was the perfect place to start our month long vacation and offerred a great value for everything you got. I would recommend this to anyone going to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsullivan805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.6 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
359 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
1 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
315 reviews
1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View House

Address: 33 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range: $109 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean View House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 4 Star Guest House with Ocean View and park-like Gardens in Camps Bay/Bakoven. Breakfast is included in the rate and light lunches are served. 1.5km to Camps Bay Promenade & beach. Free secure parking. Free WIFI. Solar heated swimming Pool. Great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean View Guest House Hotel Bakoven
Ocean View House Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing