We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveler rating
175
162
50
40
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
175
162
50
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room secure parking cape town bars and restaurants the penthouse excellent location self catering fully equipped kitchen opposite the beach sea view table mountain victoria road small pool sea front stayed here for nights south africa amazing views
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 453 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

Firstly, let me just say that the overall experience herE was great. The location is ridiculous (as in amazing) and the views are incredible. We stayed in the penthouse apartment, which was finished to a very high standard (although maybe not to everyone’s taste, but then again, it’s not home so it’s trivial).

The building generally is a bit tired but mainly cosmetic stuff which some elbow grease and not much money would take care of.

My two biggest issues:
First, with the price paid for the penthouse I would expect the cleaners to also wash our dishes. We didn’t have big cooking sessions but coffee cups and glasses could have been taken care of.

The second, and arguably, bigger issue is the lift not working. Being on the top floor made this even more of an issue (not because of luggage as the team kindly helped us take things up and down) but we were travelling with 70+ and 80+ year old family members so having to use the stairs was unfair and challenging for them (especially when it was several times a day).

I think overall the place is fairly priced, but they might need to take the price point down a notch until the lift is repaired.

Would I stay here again? Probably (but then again, I don’t know if the other rooms are to the same standard as the penthouse)

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank christophercL6331PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear christophercL6331PM

Thank you for staying in our penthouse and for the review. We're in the process of upgrading the cosmetic stuff during the low season. The cleaners do wash the dishes but they only service the rooms once a day, we will in the future request that they check on the penthouse before they leave. We do state on all websites that 'we have no lift' and the apartments are accessible by stairs only, this unfortunately is not going to change.
We're happy that overall you had a pleasant stay.

Kind regards
Florence


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019 via mobile

What a beautiful place to stay! Right across the street from the beach and within walking distance to so many restaurants and bars. The hop-on, hop-off bus tour was just across the street from us. Not to mention the accommodations were very spacious and lovely and the entire hotel staff was so friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel, especially for people traveling with a family or a larger group!!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Chachitarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear Chachitarita

Thank you for your positive comments. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to Place On The Bay in the future.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2019

The Place on the Bay Apartments are directly on the beach and very good for families. The interior is nicely and the rooms spacious. The bathroom is quite old and could be renovated. George and his wife from the Frontdesk are very nice and helped us with everything we need.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Explorer46916284015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear Explorer46916284015

Thank you for choosing our hotel. We're in the in the process of upgrading some of our bathroom facilities. We're happy to hear that George and his wife (at work only) made your stay pleasant and enjoyable.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2019

Front of office staff especially Marian were excellent. Apartment was good and clean and location including secure parking were great. Recommend having two sets of keys for apartments rather than just one.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fjrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear fjrichards

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and I’m looking forward to having you again as a guest in our hotel.
We appreciate your valuable feedback as it helps us identify the areas we can improve the guest experience.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019

Here is what we experienced:
-Gate intercom broken - so had to stand on the street with luggage until security saw us on camera
-One elevator not working and was told it would not be fixed (Not mentioned on the website)
-Torn curtain
-Stuff in toilet (Really!)
-Pillow cases stained (Does not make you comfortable getting into a bed for the night)
-Carpet had multiple bad stains
-Window frozen open could not be closed and locked
-Bed light did not work
This place has a great exterior and a great location. However, as you can see from the list above from what we experienced, it needs a lot of work

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mrosen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossy087, Front Office Manager at Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear Mrosen 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to review the property. We had not realised the Intercom was out of order, it has now been fixed. Please advise the particualr website and we will address this with our marketing team as it should say 'we have no lift'. We're in the process of checking the inventory in the rooms and will replace accordingly. We have subsequently had a meeting with the housekeeping and maintenance department re: all issues concerned.We appreciate the feedback and we will address all issues to improve our service.

Kind regards
Florence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews