We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay very much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at POTB over Christmas. Camps Bay is very crowded during this time. Surprisingly, the noise of the restaurants and cafes is not at all heard during the evening/night. We took a studio; it was furnished and equipped with everything one would need to be self sufficient during the stay. Maid service was twice per day - more than enough, and very professional. The location is practically on the main road, just at the beach, and many good restaurants and coffee houses are just down the road, a few minutes' walk. Grocery store is 5 minutes away as well. The staff was very courteous and helped up with taxis, dinner reservations, and airport transfer. We were quire busy out and about during our vacation, but did pause in the evenings and some afternoons for a relaxing time at the pool. Overall, we would return back again at our next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed at a side room, had a view to the ocean from some windows and from our terrace. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinadpurnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Tinadpurnat
A big thank you for your review!! You just made my day!!!!
The most important point of a holiday is to enjoy it to the limit!!
Wishing you a great 2014!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 294 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is a dream. Right on the main road in Camps bay. a short walk to the beach and restaurants. The rooms are modern, most having a terrace area for outside dining/drinking. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 floor apartment. Bus this wasn't necessarily good news. Neither room had an air conditioner, and only one had a (slow weak) fan. The only air conditioner in the apartment was downstairs in the living area, and as the temperature was 29 degrees, I had to sleep there on the sofa! We couldn't check in until 4pm, and we had to be out by 10am (they were on the phone asking when we would leave!). Maybe the hotel owners don't appreciate that when people are on holiday they might prefer to lie in beyond 9am. However, despite these 2 problems, the hotel was nice, but I wouldn't stay there again in the hot season.

Room Tip: In the hot season, try to get a room with an air conditioner or decent fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toandfromtheairport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear `Toandfromtheair`
Thank you for your review - we will work on the issue of airconditioners and will try to fit it in all rooms.
I would love to let everybody stays until 12noon BUT then the arrival of that room will complains because the apartment will not be ready in time.
May you have a great 2014 and I hope you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful country!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were extremely happy with this hotel and its service. We have never been to Cape town or Camps Bay before, and Marion at reception was so helpful with maps, ideas of restaurants, activities and all costs for us. If they didn't know they would find out on the spot, which was great. The location is perfect as everything is literally right on your doorstep, or a short bus trip away. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Camps Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hollyanne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Hollyanne7
A big thank you for this feedback. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in Camps Bay. It is really a beautiful area.
I wish you a happy Christmas time with family and friends!
Kind Regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a fantastic location ! The staff couldn't be more helpful! Nothing was too much trouble! The apartments was clean and well equipped in a ideal location ! All the usual things you need to borrow was lent free of charge instead of some greedy hotels charging for everything!! I would definitely stay here again! And would happily recommend place on the bay to everyone and anyone!!
Sheena odonoghue England

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheenabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Sheenabean
You made my day!!!
A big thank you for your kind words. The staff are really working hard to take care of everybody and see that they happy and everything is looked after and taken care off.
Have a great Christmas and New Year!!
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at Place on the Bay in November. Fantastic location if you want to be amongst the buzz of Camps Bay with plenty of restaurants and bars near by. We hired a car, and Camps Bay was very easy to access and go to and from other parts of time. Stunning drive around the mountains as well.

Rooms are a bit dated, and the safe didn't work which was disappointing, and I felt very uncomfortable leaving belongings in the room. But all in all the room was spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Helen S
I am sorry to hear about the safe - we replaced it now. Thank you for the feedback.
Happy that you enjoyed your stay and explored our beautiful coast line and Cape Town.
May you have a good Christmas and New year!!
Kind Regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I really can't fault this hotel at all. Great location, safe surroundings, lovely room, helpful staff. When I first made the booking, I requested a sea view room but they were all taken. However, they managed to get us a partial sea view, which meant as soon as we walked out of our door, we could see the waves! The location is brilliant - a few minutes walk from Cafe Caprice, Blues, and all the other bars/restaurants Camps Bay has to offer. On your way from the hotel to the bars you pass a short stretch of street sellers, selling traditional South African souvenirs. The sellers are friendly and don't push you to buy anything if you don't want to but are more than happy to tell you about what they are selling if you ask them.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Book up early and request a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beckywill60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Beckywill60
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Place on the Bay and that you got a sea view as well. Camps Bay is really great to stay in because it is so central to a lot of attractions and to the city and Waterfront as well.
Hope to see you one day again.
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Place on the Bay for four nights in September. We stayed in the studio seafront room and couldn't have been more pleased with the room.The wall and ceiling windows afford great views and the balcony looks directly onto the beach. The sunsets there were gorgeous. The location is great for restaurants as well. Make sure the taxi turns on the meter because a trip to downtown Cape Town should only be R70-90 and not the R120 that the taxi the hotel arranged charged. The front desk was nice. They were not as knowledgeable as expected about tourist attractions but gladly researched information online. They also provided us an umbrella for our stay which was very much appreciated. I would have however, appreciated hair dryers in the room as opposed to checking them out from the front desk. Overall the highlights of this hotel are its location and room views. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a seaside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CESVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie d, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear CESVA
Happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your unit. You right - the sunsets are really beautiful.
Will see that everyone at reception read more about Cape Town and attractions - thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Kind regards
Marlie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,129 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $128 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing