We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Place on the Bay
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed February 5, 2013

To be clear the Place on the Bay is not a hotel and is in fact self catering accommodation. The morning reception staff were so rude and unhelpful I could barely speak to them.

We asked for a sea view and or balcony. Answer no.
There is no free wi fi. You have to buy vouchers.
There is no water/drinks machine/mini bar/bar. We were told only that the supermarket is nearby (which it wasn’t and didn’t sell alcohol).
There is no snack bar only the restaurant they own next door.
There was no dvd available when it rained.
Check out was at 10am without exception.
They lost the laundry I sent and I had to call to find it.
The shower screen in the bathroom was so small that it was impossible not to cover the floor with water.
They forgot to replace toilet roll and I had to call for some.
No bins in the pool area.
Swimming pool unheated and filthy.
Room wasn’t ready when we arrived (even though guests check out was at 10am)
The wardrobes had such a design flaw they were impossible to open or close properly and I had to request more hangers.
Toilet made a loud noise sporadically.
When it was windy I was told I could only put up the umbrella if I was prepared to pay for it if it got damaged.
And to finish our experience to use a shower after our 10am kick out was 250 Rand!!!!!

Do not stay here.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank epalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie900, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Mr Epalz
A big thank you for this feedback. Much appreciated. I am just so sorry that you did not bring it under my attention while you were here becasue a lot of this could have been fixed immediately. I hope to see you at the hotel in future again so that you can experience real hospitality.
Have a blessed 2013!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 315 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from spending 4 nights at Fairways on the Bay, a small hotel linked to The Place on the Bay. The room was stylishly decorated and very comfortable with fridge, hairdryer, robes, safety deposit box and pool towels provided. The staff were very friendly and helpful and really looked after us well; Werner in Reception couldn't have been more helpful. Secure, free parking a bonus. Excellent location across the road from the beach and within easy access to restaurants and bars. Views from all angles stupendous, whether the sea or Signal Hill or the 12 apostles. Residents at Fairways can use the pool and sunbeds at the Place on the Bay and we didn't have any trouble getting sunbeds when we wanted them. We would certainly stay there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the hotel which was lovely and quiet; we think front rooms might be affe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie900, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Happy Traveler
A big thank you for your feedback of Fairways on the Bay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great place on the sea front, rooms very comfortable and staff could not have been more helpful in all respects. the pool area allows for sun or shade, easy access to beach and all amenities of Camps Bay. Wonderful view of Twelve Apostles, table Mountain and Lions Head

Room Tip: Suites in middle well sheltered from wind when present, but with great view and plenty of sun or sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfnut_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie900, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Golfnut_9
Thank you for your response about your stay at Place on the Bay. Hope to see you soon and that the wind will calm down. Happy that you enjoyed your holiday.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have just returned to JHB from Place on the Bay in Camps Bay, This was simply the best holiday ever. Location, Staff and Venue are of the best in SA. I will certainly highly recommend Place on the Bay to all my friends.

Room Tip: Room 301 is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade_12777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie900, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Jade_12777
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Place on the Bay and that the weather was good as well. Have a blessed 2013!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Another great two weeks spent at Place on the Bay. Always a pleasure to stay at Place on the Bay. Excellent accommodation on the beachfront with all the necssary amenities in walking distance. Close and easy access to all the fun, pleasure and enjoyment that Cape Town and surrounding areas have to offer.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good with the necessary self catering facilities, plenty of space and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlie900, General Manager at The Place on the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Neil BT
Thank you for your response on Trip Advisor about your stay at Place on the Bay. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the near future again. Have a blessed 2013!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed in the sea facing apartments and had a fantastic view of Campsbay beach. Apartemnts are spacious and very well equipped. Serviced daily which is a big bonus. Parking available on the premises. 6 people can stay very comfortably in these apartments. Close to all restaurants and bars on the mainstreet of Campsbay - just remember that Campsbay is a very famous hangout place at night so it can be very noisy. Other apartments available that is not that close to the mainstreet. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter rooms, select an apartment away from the mainstreet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sTcO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Perfectly situated facing the sea right next to all the restaurants and bars in trendy Camps Bay. We had a large room with a balcony offing a lovely ocean view, king size bed, refrigerator, TV, safety deposit box. A lounge with TV and laptop with free Internet connection. Excellent and friendly staff. A very good Italian restaurant attached to the hotel which offers a ten percent discount for hotel guests.
The only minus was a very small pool which was very cold when we were there in November.
This is not a 5 star hotel, but is very good value in an area where hotel prices are generally very expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john590_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#7 of 12 in Camps Bay
1,148 reviews
0.1 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.8 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place on the Bay

Address: Victoria Rd, Camps Bay 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $122 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Place on the Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place on the Bay, situated along the beach-front road enjoys an undisturbed picturesque view of the white sandy beaches, the palm fringed bay and the majestic Twelve Apostle Mountains. The hotel is perfectly positioned in Cape Town`s trendiest suburb, Camps Bay, 15 minutes' drive from the Cape Town CBD.The Place on the Bay hotel offers 21 serviced hotel apartments. All are elegantly furnished en suite bedrooms with a kitchen, king/queen-size beds, Samsung LCD TV with satellite television, air-conditioning unit, coffee/tea-making facilities and a bar fridge. The suites are serviced daily and guests have access to the outdoor pool and braai(BBQ) facilities. The luxurious and exclusive five-star penthouse with its private heated swimming pool and sundeck, caters for all your personal needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Place on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Place On The Bay Hotel Camps Bay
The Place On Bay
Place On The Bay Camps
The Place On The Bay Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing