We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is no 5 star”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This is no 5 star”
Reviewed June 24, 2007

The Bay Hotel had come highly recommended by several friends and this was a special trip for us - my stepdaughter's wedding. We booked a premier seaview room for 9 nights. It looked fab on the website but how websites can lie!

Ours fronted the insanely busy road, with a bar thumping next to us until 2am. The shower and bathroom would have disgraced a 3 star hotel - shabby and mildewed. The decor attempts cool trendiness and succeeds only in looking dated and cheap. Service was dire and the management completely indifferent to guests' concerns. Don't bother booking the hotel's limo for a special occasion as we did - if the driver's busy elsewhere, he just won't turn up.

The main restaurant is a bad joke. Gloomy and uncomfortable, our evening meal lasted three hours when we were jetlagged and dying to go to bed. The main course alone took over an hour to arrive. No reduction on the bill however.

I've stayed at many 5 star hotels and this isn't one of them. A clear case of a place that takes itself far too seriously and doesn't give a stuff about its guests.

Helpful?
6 Thank Catherine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    257
    140
    56
    48
See reviews for
120
615
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

The self-rating is inflated by any comparison to global 5 star hotels. Agree hotel has good location, staff service, food, pool, and staff, but room rate is high for what is offered, so really a solid 4 stars. Be advised mountain view rooms look over noisy service entrance, so ask to avoid this if possible.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Sky_Blue_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We adored this hotel. We had a Sea View Premium room and were so happy with it. It had a great comfy bed and little sitting area and a nice big bathtub (which I love). We arrived weary from a long flight from the U.S. and they were so welcoming when we walked in and also had wine and fruit in our room. They checked on us as well to make sure we had everything we needed and did a little orientation of the room.

They brought you coffee or tea complimentary in your room in the morning (just give a call to the guest services number) and we loved sitting out on our little deck watching everyone with their doggies on the beach. The breakfast was included in the restaurant and was just wonderful. They have a HUGE continental spread and you can also get in addition hot eggs, pancakes, etc. The servers were so friendly and welcoming every time we walked into the room. They also booked a wine tour for us (private) and the driver was excellent, knew so much about the area and was so helpful. The cost was not too expensive for a private tour either!

The beach is just gorgeous that is sits on and Camps Bay is a cute little town to explore. We ate at Blues next door and enjoyed our meal. We also ate dinner at the restaurant on site and it was fabulous!

This hotel is not a "fancy dancy" hotel but an adorable one that is quiet and located very nicely on the beach. We are so happy we stayed here and it was a great place to spend our first 3 nights in South Africa!!!

  • Liked — Location, service and hospitality
  • Disliked — No complaints! We adored it
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Grohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2007

I would agree with the review below. I was expecting this hotel to be the creme de la creme. Yes it was in a great setting. Yes, the staff are great, the breakfasts good ( apart from the last day my partner had a hair in his cooked breakfast), the pool area fab. We had a mountain room and if you are on the ground floor you look over bins!! The room was OK apart as stated below the mini bar was dirty and cramped. The bathroom was the biggest let down and in serious need of refurbishment - mildew on the shower I do not feel is acceptable, the toweling robes were old, the toilettries nothing special. We were expecting luxurious rooms and they didn't seem it.
I have stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels and in it's present state this is not one.
It was the worst of the accommodation during our trip and twice the price.
Look at the African Villa instead!!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Denise39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

The hotel is in a great position right, opposite the beach. The food is good and the pool area is very nice. It has a very relaxing atmosphere, just what we needed to finish off our busy trip to South Africa.
Be careful with your safelty in SA.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank calendergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2007

Wow, what a proper 5* rated hotel should be. Great room, great service, great food and great location. We've been to many so called 'luxury' hotels around the world, but this comes well into the top five. A very cool and relaxing hotel - almost feels like a spa. Great to relax, chill out, people watch (walkers on the beach) and live but not overbearing music in the early evening. This hotel has a great vibe; just wished we'd stayed longer! Thoroughly recommend it. We'd give this hotel 8.5 (out of 10).

  • Liked — Stylish, cool and clean
  • Disliked — Small pool and the shower cubicle needed a little updating
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MWLANDSVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2007

This was the first port of call for our honeymoon and although it is a beautiful place, I can not understand what everyone is raving about. Yes, the staff are great, the breakfasts good (the omlette fantastic), the pool area fab - those loungers are the best ever. But, my husband and I didn't think it 5*. We did get bubbly and cake on arrival but it's the little things - the toweling robes were old, the toilettries nothing special, the expensive sea facing room tiny and the bathroom not good at all (tiny and old - the shower looked DIY). We were expecting luxurious rooms and they didn't seem it. The mini bar was dirty and cramped.
To be honest we were quite shocked. We've also been told that the hotel is going to be refurbished this year.

  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthLondoner3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
623 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing