We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect honeymoon hotel”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2006

My husband and I spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at The Bay Hotel in Camps Bay. I can say without hesitation that it was fantastic. Our room overlooked the pool and the sea and was very spacious with it's own balcony. Shortly after arriving room service delivered complimentary champagne and chocolate gateaux which was very gratefully received! On our first night we ate in Tides Restaurant and both food and service were out of this world even though there weren't many people eating in the restaurant that night. The menu was also very reasonably priced for a five star hotel. When we returned to our room, fresh rose petals had been scattered on and around the bed and complimentary bath salts and soaps left on the dressing table. Room service delivered breakfast to our room each morning which we ate on the balcony. I can safely say I have never had an omelette as good and the fresh fruit and yogurt was lovely. Traders Bar was lovely to sit in at night...very cosy with a log fire. We had lunch by the pool one afternoon and even the sandwiches were amazing! Portions were large and very tasty! The service in this hotel was first class in every department. Reception, bar staff, room service, housekeeping, pool attendants and restaurant were all so pleasant and couldn't do enough for us. There are lots of restaurants and cafes within walking distance of the hotel so there was plenty of choice nearby. We couldn't have picked a better place to start married life and look forward to returning to the Bay Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank libby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    259
    143
    58
    49
See reviews for
125
621
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
178 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2005

I stayed at the Bay Hotel at the end of October 2005 during a business tour of S.Africa. My only complaint was that my stay wasn't long enough!

The room was split level with a small lobby area leading into the bedroom with the bathroom just to the right. Down a few steps into the lounge area then out through double sliding doors onto the balcony. The balcony overlooked the pool, beach and mountain. (Ask for a "Mountain View" room). One of my favourite memories of my whole trip is having breakfast on my balcony the first morning. The view was stunning (check out my photos).

My room had a safe, lockable wardrobes, plenty of power sockets (of varying shapes sizes to fit all adaptors), a television with international and local channels plus radio, a desk, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities plus mini-bar (check the seal is intact upon arrival else you may be charged for something you haven't had!).

The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. Nothing appeared to be too much trouble.

The hotel restaurant "Tides" was a delight. An interesting, varied menu, with excellently well presented food. Being tempted by the lobster on the menu I was not disappointed. It was delicious! The friendly waiting staff and exhaustive wine menu simply added to the charm.

The hotel limo service pick up/drop off at the airport was very efficient and reasonably priced (ZAR 300 for 2 people).

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank MiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2005

Four of us from Scotland stayed in this hotel in March 2003. We cannot praise it highly enough. The rooms were spacious with great views. we were at the back so we looked out on the 12 apostles (mountains) If your room faced the front then you looked straight out to the beach which is just across from the hotel. The poolside area is grassy and very nice. The staff both at the poolside and inside the hotel could not do enough for you.

You are only around 15 mins or so from Cape Town itself, and the Camps Bay area where the hotel is situated has lots of cafes and restaurants where you can sit and watch the sunset. The Tides restaurant in the hotel has an excellent reputation, and outsiders come into the hotel to eat.

Would be very happy to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank OBAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2005

This boutique style hotel is set across the road from a sandy beach and is backed by the mountain range, the 12 Apostles. Camps Bay is about 15 minutes from the centre of the city, with a good range of nice cafes and bars along the short front.

The hotel has been well refurbished and is very comfortable indeed. It is all accessble by ramp, including the upstairs bar, (which is furnished with deeply cushioned armchairs), and the grassy pool deck, though there is a small step at the bottom of the short ramp leading to it. The pool boys were more than willing to assist me in negotiating the step. The pool itself has a handrail, with 3 steep steps to enter. There are plenty of loungers and umbrellas and a small poolside cafe with a good and generous selection of food and drinks.

The first floor split-level "Tides" restaurant has an excellent reputation and all the hotel staff could not be more helpful and charming. On arrival we were offered enormous glasses of fresh juice and complimentary pressing of 2 garments each.

Our "paraplegic" bedroom was also on the first floor. It was very spacious and well thought out, with a choice of pillows, a kingsize bed and masses of space for clothes. It even had various electric sockets for different countries' plugs! The bathroom was also large with a big roll-in shower. However, there were not enough grab rails and, as some of the hotel has some addtional work to be done shortly, I did suggest a few small changes and additions which they said would probably be included.

All in all, we had a thoroughly good and happy time at this hotel and would recommend it without hesitation.

Helpful?
22 Thank parfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing