We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This hotel is without a doubt the most wonderful place, and as most of the reviews say, the staff are a credit to the management of the hotel. Arrival was without delay and we were shown to our room (sea view) on the 2nd floor and overlooking the beautiful camps bay beach a perfect room (suite) with every facility you would require. The resturant was great and breakfast was out of this world! The beachside resturants alongside the hotel were equally as good quality and it was surprising just how much attention to detail was everywhere. The beach was of course magnificent and the views incredible. I would defnitely without a doubt always return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    259
    145
    58
    49
See reviews for
125
626
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2009

This was our first time at the Bay Hotel and we can honestly say that it was one of the very best hotels that we have stayed in. The staff are a great asset to the hotel, courteous friendly and attentive, a sign of good management. We think the hotel must have had a makeover since previous reports because we found all the decor immaculate. The room we stayed in was excellent. We were in fact upgraded from a Mountain View standard room to a Beach View room which was spacious, had excellent facilities, a balcony and a very large double bed. Television and DVD were provided and free Wi-FI.

We were interested to read previous reports about the catering and can only say that our experience was that it was first rate. Breakfasts were or could be large affairs with everything provided that you could want. Apart from fresh fruit and cereals full English was available, kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, lashings of toast etc. all cooked very well.

We actually preferred to dine in the hotel which is rare for us. Camps Bay does have a number of restaurants all trying their hardest to entice you in but we judged the menu in the hotel's Tides restaurant to be far superior and it was. The food was well prepared, showed very good culinary expertise, was beautifully presented and was delicious. They must have a very good executive chef. This is matched with a very good and comprehensive wine list. For a hotel of this quality the food was very well priced. R120 for fillet steak medallions for example. Where in England would you get this for £10!!

We can't speak too highly of this hotel which was one of the highlights of our trip to South Africa. One added advantage of staying here is that the open top, hop-on, hop- off city tour buses of Cape Town stop right outside the hotel. The red route takes you round the City, the Blue route takes you round the city a little bit and then travels off around the back of Table Mountain, the highlight of which is a stop at a township where a local township guide will show you round. A very humbling experience for those of us from the affluent West.

We think that Camps Bay is an excellent place to stay when visiting Cape Town, sure it’s over the other side of the mountain but it gets better weather and is about a 15 minute car ride into the centre. And if you want to stay in Camps Bay then the Bay Hotel is a must.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonj48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed in the Bay Hotel for 7 nights in total on a recent trip to South Africa and we were extremely impressed. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, the service was excellent and the food was a very good quality. The refurbishment pool area was a great place to spend a day. The only thing we would mention on the service, is it would have been good if the wireless broadband worked in the rooms. Also, a full gym would be a good addition. We hope that we will be able to return to this hotel in the near future. Finally people reading reviews always like to know where people are from, we are Irish.

Another great thing about this hotel for a plush hotel is that it wasn't hidden away in Camps Bay and there was plenty of options for food and drink right outside the hotel. This had one slight drawback, that there was load music played till around 1am at the weekends which could be heard from our room.

Traders bar is fantastic. We were there in September so it did get quite cold in the evenings but Caamil always ensured that the log fire was going. During our stay we would always come back to Traders for a night cap and we would have to say that you would go a very long way to find a better bar man than Caamil. He is charming, very knowledgeable and just great company but at the same time overs a great service.

Finally, we were very happy that we decided to stay in Camps Bay while in Cape Town rather than in the middle of the city. It is about 10-12 euro in a taxi to the centre of Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gar1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

It was our first experience of South Africa. Overwelming feeling was one of luxury and comfort. The staff were geuinely friendlyand helpful. They did everything to make our holiday as enjoyable as possible. The rooms had excellent facilities with good views and were kept very clean. The views wewre outstanding. Breakfast was wonderful but not if you want to diet. There wasa godd range of restaurants close to the hotel. The journey into Cape Town City Centre is easy. The hotel staff gave excellent travel advice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurer91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

I have stayed at The Bay a couple of times, however upon my last visit; and it certainly will be my last visit I experienced rooms and communal areas that lacked inspiration in design and decor. It had become so bland, decorated throughout in a computer beige colour. The decoration was reminiscent of an institution rather than a hotel. The staff I have to say were surly and everything did seem to be an effort to them. Whilst checking in later one evening I overhead a guest checking in beside me ask if the room had a nice view only to receive the response from the check-in staff: "It hardly matters at this time does it, you're not going to see anything anyway". I was certainly not going to repeat the 'error' of asking that question. I can confirm that they didn't get a room with a view.
Sadly for me this is not the hotel it once was with other hotels particularly in the V&A and Camps Bay itself offering a more interesting experience and more willing and enthusiastic staff. In essence Th Bay reminds me of a tired and sad shadow of her former self more reminiscent of a boarding house in a run down seaside town.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Camps Bay Hotel at the end of June. The hotel is located right infront of the Camps Bay overlooking the sea and beneath Table Mountain. I can't find a bad word to say about the hotel, and only wish the weather had been better so we could have enjoyed the views and the balcony terraces.

The restaurant staff were very attentative and there were some more interesting options available for breakfast including Ostridge steaks ... worth trying and the eggs benedict was great too.

Within easy and safe walking distance there are numerous bars and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the "Codfather" where you can select your dinner fresh from the fish counter, and we also had a fantastic meal at "Two Oceans" (or Ocean Blue - Can't remember the name).

Our tour party had mixed age groups and I think this hotel/location would suit any age.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 82JT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

The bay was the best hotel we stayed in South Africa.Nothing is too much triuble for the staff and the room was great.Although a little way out of Cape Town it is very close to Table Mountain and the views from the hotel are second to none.The hotel has a driver who will take you anywhere or they can call you a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
296 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing