We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Stayed one night at The Bay hotel. This is a beautiful hotel which is in a great location. I was afforded a room with both sea views and mountain views - how awesome!!. Room was spacious, well stocked, clean and beautifully decorated. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was delightful, fresh and in such a lovely restaurant. I loved the herb pots on the tables! This hotel is close to the beach (just cross the road) Close to lovely restaurants (walking distance and safe); close to the V & A waterfront and other sights. Loved it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaynaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear kaynaid. Thank you for your kind review and for staying at The Bay Hotel. Your wonderful comments are appreciated, and we do hope to have the privilege of hosting you at our hotel again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2014

My experience was really surprisingly great at this hotel. Stayed in Cape Town for 14 days and it was the best decision to stay in here. The best two things are the location of the hotel and it's lovely staff. Always helpful and always smiling. Especially our driver (they have a Porsche for hire ) and people at front desk and restaurant. My only complain was the same food in all 4 restaurants they have. it's very tiring and thy should try something other than their typical menu. But on the plus side being right in the Camps Bay there's plenty of great eateries around to choose from. We are seriously going back if we are travelling to Cape Town. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for room no 401. the best view room they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumanta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Sumanta G. Thank you for posting your review and for recommending the hotel in all respects to fellow travelers. Our staff are very committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and that they have a memorable stay with us. We trust that we will have an opportunity of welcoming back on your next visit to Cape Town and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in february and had a great time. Superb hotel and location. Food was great and the service was good but not perfect. The staff seemed a little bit confused from time to time, but they were very nice and serviceminded. The rooms towards the pool were awesome.

Room Tip: Poolside is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ElMolinoIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear EIMolinIII. Thank you for your wonderful comments, which we have shared with our staff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and look forward to your return in the not too distant future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed in this beautiful hotel with my fiancée whilst visiting my father in Cape Town. It was everything that I remembered from 20+ years ago. Service was fantastic always greeted by lovely smiley faces everyday. Only ate snacks by the pool & breakfast but it was all delicious & always with a breathtaking view. Both tried the spa & had the most relaxing treatments. I would highly recommend this hotel as a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2014

Dear Emma C. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that The Bay Hotel was your hotel choice when visiting your Father in Cape Town. Thank you also for your positive remarks about the hotel, it's location and our staff, and look forward to having you as our guest again on your next visit to South Africa. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We visited The Rotunda for a function with about 150 guests. The staff were friendly and the service was good, but the food was an absolute disgrace. We had a choice between butternut soup or a goat's milk tartlet for starters. My husband had the soup, which he said was tasty, but this is where the positive comments stopped. All I could eat of my tartlet was 3 cherry tomato halves, about a 15ml scoop of creamed goat's cheese and a few leaves. The pastry of the tartlet was rock hard and inedible.

We both opted for the sirloin option for our main course. My meat was overcooked and so tough that it was difficult to chew. Another guest at our table called a waiter and asked for another piece of meat, since she could not even cut her steak, but the waiter brought her a steak knife instead and said there were no more meat portions. Two tiny potato discs and a small onion were the only accompaniments on the plate - both undercooked.

Dessert was a slice of cheesecake - dry and overbaked.

I have eaten at this establishment before - in their main restaurant - as well as at the Retreat in Camps Bay, which forms part of this group, and have had good food. The food we were served at our function though was an absolute disgrace.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Hanlie van Dyk v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Hanlie van Dyk v. Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointing experience with us. Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to improve our service delivery and standards in this department. We do hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming back to the hotel in the future and assure you of our best intentions. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful location. Stunning rooms. But wow they need to up their service game:
First Room - only hot water out of all taps.
Second room - blocked toilet.
Housekeeping, poor. Dental floss left on the floor. Glasses on the balcony not cleared when room was made up.
Internet service is unreliable and intermittent. They only give you 200Mb a visit no matter how long your stay.
They charge R25 a cup of coffee that you make yourself in your room. I so dislike that meanness of spirit. They could add a charge of R25 on the R3000 room fee and give the coffee complementary and likewise the internet . They'd score so much more goodwill. It'd also be nice if they put a pad of paper and a pen next to the phone as every other hotel in the world does. Staff are frustrated with guest complaints.

Come for the location but nothing more. And not if you use the internet.

5 Star? No. I'd take two away for third world service and a miserly attitude.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank BetondBoundary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Dear Tripadvisor Member. Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit to the hotel. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve our product and service. Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings you were subjected to during your stay and be assured that your comments have been taken up with our team in order to ensure that the necessary remedial action is taken. We sincerely hope that you will be returning to the hotel in the future and assure you of our best attention. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I visited the Bay Hotel in April 2014 and have to say that everything about it was excellent!
We did not stay in the hotel, but went there for an evening meal and drinks.
The hotel arranged to pick us up from our villa after we had booked and this they did, in two Porsche Panameras!
We were driven to the front door and escorted in to our table.
As it was evening, there were only a few other diners and the service and food were excellent.
In some restaurants you are asked too frequently whether everything is to your satisfaction, but at The Bay, they have it just right. Attentive but discrete.
There were a very good choice of dishes on the menu and everyone in our party agreed that all the food was to the highest standards.
After dinner we retired to the cigar bar for drinks and a cigar for those who wanted.
The barman there was also the epitome of attentiveness, mixing drinks and providing interesting conversation when required.

I would recommend the Bay Hotel without hesitation and if I am ever fortunate enough to be in the area again, will make a point of visiting.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting onto the beach would be an excellent choice, as you will be able to watch the sun sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Ben C. Thank you for the complimentary review of your experience at the hotel. We are thrilled to hear that your visit was enjoyed in all respects, and very much look forward to welcoming back on future occasions. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $303 - $735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing