We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, beautiful sunsets, very nice.”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Amazing place, beautiful sunsets, very nice.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I stayed here for only one night but it was a very good stay. The location is amazing, you would be hard pressed to find a better one in Camps Bay. The rooms lead out towards the ocean so you get absolutely amazing sunsets and sunrises. Breakfast was very good as I didn't have any other meals there. Nice verandas to each room. The staff was fantastic. For whatever reason they don't have an iron and ironing board in each room, there is only a finite amount for the hotel. Well it was 6pm and I had to be at a shirt and tie function for 7 so the staff came to my room, grabbed my wrinkly clothes and had it back and pressed to me in 20 minutes - outstanding service! The grounds are very nice, lovely pool area with more chairs then patrons so always guaranteed a seat. Great conference rooms for the business crowd out there. I highly recommend this place for couples, business, and friends alike.

Room Tip: A room on the second floor gives a better vantage point for the sunset in the evening - definitely r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWalker610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear JWalker610. Thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending the hotel to fellow travelers. It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedback and have shared your comments with our colleagues. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Camps Bay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    262
    145
    58
    51
See reviews for
129
633
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I recently spent the weekend at the Bay Hotel for a prenantal weekend which was organised by MediClinic. The weekend on a whole was absolutely fantastic. There are many wonderful attributes that this hotel has to offer such as the beautiful position, the well appointed rooms, great conference facilities and the consistantly good food. There were however a few negatives that I cannot ignore. Firstly bathrooms are in dire need of an upgrade. The fittings look as though they were installed in the 60's, the shower head was incredibly low (and I am not a tall person) which made showering very awkward and the hot water was more on the luke warm side than hot which made bathing unpleasant. The service was very inconsistant. Most of the waitrons at the restaurant had very little knowledge of the menu and the serice was very slow on occasion. On a whole, we really did enjoy our stay at the Bay but I cannot see how the hotel can be classified as a 5 star when basic requirements such as a comfortable bathroom and good service is hugely lacking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReneSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear ReneSol. Thank you for your honest review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to note that your weekend was enjoyable and satisfactory in most respects and extend our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. As a 5 star hotel always aim to exceed our guests' expectations and feedback such as yours enables us to do so. We sincerely hope you will be returning to The Bay Hotel and assure you of our best attention. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I had a lovely experience! I was traveling alone and the Bay Hotel staff really took care of me, even upgrading me to a room with an ocean-view.

The layout of the room is clean and modern, with a sunken sitting area, balcony facing the ocean, and lots of amenities (nespresso, iPod stereo dock, mini bar, wine, plush bathrobes, complementary mineral water). The bathroom had double sinks and both shower and tub.

The hotel itself has a nice carefree quality to it, covered with whimsical artwork by local painters, an extensive book collection to borrow from, decorated with live plants and flowers all over. The decor is simple, to complement the emphasis on white and natural wood.

I appreciated the small gym, it had everything I needed. The restaurant for the included breakfast was good, with simple, fresh choices -- can even have it delivered to your room! I enjoyed eating breakfast next to the open window smelly the salty air.

Lastly, the location. Right across from the beach in the center of Camps Bay, perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citymusiclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear citymusiclover. Thank you for sharing your wonderful remarks on Tripadvisor, which we have shared with our staff. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Club House Tapas is at the front of this Hotel and serves average food. Service is ah-hum at best and you need to get tough in order to get served.
Food is your general kind of food nothing special to write home about. I'm sure there must be better in Camps Bay.

Room Tip: Look further for better food
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Robert j. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at our Tapas Bar, and for your constructive criticisms. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on that day, and for that we offer our sincerest apologies. Your feedback has been taken up with our F&B team in order to ensure that the necessary remedial action is taken. We trust we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back again and assure you of our best attention. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were unbelievably helpful and friendly. Nothing was any trouble at all.
We had a room on second floor facing the sea, and what a fantastic room it was. It was very spacious, light, bright and immaculate.
Alongside super king size bed we had a sitting area and beautiful balcony.
The hotel is ideally placed, and has beautiful indoor and outdoor areas.

Food in the Bisto was delicious and again staff were great.

We made good use of the hotel car (4 door Porsche) an average trip to the V&A waterfront was around 200 rand.

I would highly recommend this hotel to travellers without young children who like a little bit of style.

Room Tip: We had room 403. Facing sea which you can hear but not obtrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear mrsgGateshead. Thank you for your wonderful review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Steps away from several diverse eateries and bars along the whole waterfront . This hotel is in prime position in the centre .
With point blank views of the sea and the beach accross the road its perfect for camps bay, which is a mere 20 mins from cape town centre .
As a back-drop there is Table mountain , and a mere 7-8 minute taxi ride to the cable cars from the hotel.
Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view naturally !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TConway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear TConway. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is such a great pleasure to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at this impressive hotel last February. It is in a magnificent setting in the middle of the bay, with several pools, and restaurants. We had a magnificent room with a balcony and even an iPod Dock. The city tour bus stop was right outside the hotel, so we were able to tour the city, with commentary via headphones, the bus even stopped at table mountain, so we were able to go up in the cable car and hop back on the next bus to return to the hotel. The staff were good and very sympathetic when I was very unwell on the last night of our stay. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenmary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Helenmary2014. Thank you for posting your experience on Tripadvisor. Receiving positive feedback is always appreciated, and we are hopeful that fellow travelers find your review benefical. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cape Town. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing