We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel experience ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel experience ever”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at the Bay Hotel. It was superb. The facilities and staff are outstanding. Marcelle, the Customer Relations Manager, was exceptional. From our arrival to departure she was attentive, friendly and efficient, giving us fantastic advice about what to do. Her suppliers are first rate and highly professional and all our trips and excursions were brilliant, especially shark cage diving with marine dynamics and wine tasting with John Grant and Wine Escapes. All the hotel staff were friendly and engaging, I would unreservedly recommend this hotel and it's location is spectacular too. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to South Africa.

Room Tip: Pool side ground floor was perfect for us, but sea views and higher grade rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear David H. Thank you for having stayed at The Bay Hotel and for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will certainly pass on your comments to Marcelle who has been providing exceptional service to our guests for many years. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    257
    140
    56
    48
See reviews for
120
615
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
397 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had two nights here in October and could not fault the experience.
The rooms are spacious and well furnished.
Breakfast was excellent in a buffet style with a glass atrium to sit in.
Out door pool good with lots of loungers.
the position is great for beach access across the road but as we were there off season i can imagine at peak times the road could be very busy.
Also as this area is 20 minutes drive from Cape Town the journey can be slow with traffic but at least it is safe to walk out to bars and restaurants at night.

Room Tip: sea facing rooms maybe on any floor except the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Tim G. Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was satisfactory and enjoyable in all respects, and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at our hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We spent the first week of our honeymoon at the Bay hotel and had a truly fantastic time. We were greeted with a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room. We had a fantastic view of the Bay and swimming pool. Breakfast was lovely with a wide selection for all tastes. We also ate in the evening on two evenings, food was superb! Location is fantastic for Camps Bay, all of the staff were lovely. A special mention must go to Byron for going that extra mile in getting information for us or completing bookings, a true asset to the Bay. Thank you, we will certainly return if we visit Cape Town again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Anna G. Many thanks for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with Byron and our staff. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and sincerely hope that you will be returning to Camps Bay to celebrate your Wedding Anniversaries in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Bay Hotel on the final leg of our honeymoon. Although the weather was pretty bad the hotel definitely wasn't! The staff were very friendly especially in the bistro. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a cabana room which was gorgeous with a great view of the beach in front and if you went outside & turned around you had Table Mountain to greet you(when it wasn't hidden by clouds)! The food in the Bistro did not disappoint-it was beautiful & fit the 5 stars! The chocolate mousse and fondant dessert was a real winner! We got some gorgeous cupcakes & champagne delivered to our room to celebrate our honeymoon which was lovely! The location of the hotel is perfect and the sightseeing bus stop is right across the road! Would highly recommend this hotel & wouldn't consider staying anywhere else if we make it back to Cape Town some day!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elainetaylor_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Lainey T. Thank you for your your positive review of the hotel, and for commending our Bistro team for their food and service. We are indeed thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us, and hope to welcome you both back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Took a week off to spend some quality time with my wife, and I guess I couldn't choose a better place than this.
Fantastic view, right in front of the beach, friendly staff, good facilities, plenty of options for activities (indoor and outdoor), and the breakfast, was just.............. I guess amazing would be the word.
The rooms are quite big with a jacuzzi, which one could be in, while just contemplating the view outside.
The hotel has good range of activities to be done, and we chose to do a couple's massage, and that was indeed a pretty relaxing time while sharing it with your loved one.
Unfortunately Wi-Fi connectivity wasn't the best, and there are a very limited choice of TV channels available. It did not spoil our week anyway.
To close the week, we even had the pleasure of shaking hands and taking a picture with action hero movie star's Dolf Lundgren... So, a week to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Helder K. Thank you for your review of the hotel after your recent visit to Cape Town. We are most happy to note that your stay in the hotel was satisfactory and enjoyable in all respects, and do hope that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We ended up walking into the hotel at 6pm hoping for a room after turning up at our private villa we had booked which the owner had sold and didn't make us aware there was no private villa!
We took the last sea view room which was beautiful. The hotel is very nautical and our room was a lovely size with a huge bed and steps down to a separate seating area with a balcony over looking the beach.
Breakfast was lovely with a continental buffet and also waiter service for a hot breakfast.
We also ate in the hotel the first night which was truly beautiful food. It was one of our favourite meals in South Africa and we are lucky enough to travel to SA regularly.
The weather wasn't the best to try out the pool but the location is great to get into Cape Town or to travel east and explore.
We stayed in the last room on the right if you are looking at the hotel from the front which was a little noisy due to the bars next door but they did not last all night. The bathrooms were not the largest but did the job required.
The service we received from all the staff was also exceptional so pleased our first booking went wrong so we could stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Kady B. Many thanks for your wonderful review, and for your constructive comments regarding your experiences. We are most pleased that you were able to enjoy your stay with us, and look forward to seeing you on you next visit to our shores. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days for a business conference. The room was opulant and the hotel facilities were good. I could imagine that staying here on holiday would be a very pleasent experience!!
Right on the beach, with the Atlantic Ocean crashing against the sand as a lulaby!

Room Tip: Go for one of the Cabanas - room 142 was mine, very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Tim B. Thak you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Your comments are appreciated, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your conference and time with us. We do hope to welcome back on your next visit to South Africa and assure you of our best service and personal attention. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
623 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing