We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in; the rooms were gorgeous, amazing beachfront views and the perfect location in Camps Bay. The service was fantastic, no job too big or small for the staff - always willing to help. The spa is out of this world!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Hannah G. Thank you for your wonderful remarks and your kind praise, which we have shared with our staff. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have stayed at hotels all over the world and this is one of the finest!

We stayed there for five nights at the beginning of March this year. We had a spacious ground floor room which led onto a grassed area with two small swimming pools and which overlooked the beautiful beach. Behind the hotel loomed Table Top Mountain.

Staff were very helpful, especially the manager (Mr Smith?) who seemed to be everywhere and who went out of his way to provide whatever assistance we needed.

Breakfast was excellent and beautifully served with a very wide choice of food. There was also a smallish area where one could buy a light lunch. The main restaurant was not open for evening dinner but there was a good range of restaurants along the front, all within a few hundred yards of the hotel.

On several occasions we made use of the hotel's own chauffeur-driven limousines eg to visit the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront and Table Top Mountain. The cost did not seem exorbitant, the fare being little more than we would have payed for a taxi.

For us this was an unforgettably lovely hotel!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikey077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mikey077. Many thanks for sharing your experience so eloquently on Tripadvisor and for my mention, we are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Taking care of you during your stay was only our pleasure, and trust that we shall again have the privilege of hosting you at The Bay Hotel in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My son and his fiancé had their engagement function at Traders. Wonderful food, drink and ambience. With Caamil, the best barman in Cape Town, attending to our every need, we were very well looked after. Everyone had a great evening. Family members booked into the hotel for the night and had breakfast the following morning. Breakfast was a wonderful tasty spread with plenty of choices. No one could go hungry. Rooms were tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds. My only complaint was that one of the bedside lights did not work, and the water was not hot enough in the morning...one did not want to linger in a bath of tepid water on a cold morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Marian R. Thank you for your wonderful review of Traders and the hotel. We are truly thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your celebration with us and hope your happy memories of the evening remain with you. Taking care of you is our pleasure and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was looking for a hotel outside of the City but close enough to travel in for business
Camps Bay is probably one of the most picturesque on the Western Cape and the Bay hotel as the premier position

The food was great room excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Its not a cheap place but still good value although I was staying out of season.

15 minutes from town and less than 10 to Table Mountain

Breakfast overlooking the sea was a joy and although the main restaurant was under refurbishment the food and wine was never less than great and not over priced

Must find a reason to return

Room Tip: Pay a little more for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dlhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Dlhealey. Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. We are indeed thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and trust that we shall again have the privilege of welcoming back in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel.Very good service, the room was lovely with a amanzing view to the pool.
The bathroom needs a TLC, but still good.
Breakfast was really good, with lots of option and good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReChristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear ReChristian. Thank you for sharing your Bay Hotel experience on Tripadvisor. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, and have shared both your positive and contructive feedback with our staff. We look forward to welcoming back. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our fourth visit in as many years and again for four days.
The previous three visits had been great but this time we just felt that the excellent staff here had moved up another notch and our stay was once again very memorable.
Stayed in room 305 with lovely view over the pool and out to sea. The rooms and bathrooms really are homely, airy, spacious, have excellent storage and are spotlessly clean/maintained The balconies add to the 5 star feel and the addition this year of the in room coffee machine is another plus. Fresh milk daily of course in the fridge.
Also new this year are the L'Occitane toiletries.
We ate in at the Bistro one evening, were transported to the sister hotel, Camps Bay Retreat (by the Hotel's Porche) another and the other two we walked to the Codfather restauant. All thoroughly enjoyable. Breakfasts are as good as ever with wide choice of top quality food.
This really is a top quality hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear ROKNottingham. Thank you for your wonderful and kind review, we could not be more delighted that you enjoy staying at the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback which we have shared with our staff. It was our pleasure to upgrade you and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Celebrated my birthday in Cape Town this past weekend, although the weather was bad. Bay Hotel made my bday a memorable one. Most esp. Sesi the lady we found at reception upon checking in on Friday...the complimentary cake and champagne 'THANK YOU Sesi' that I did not expect. The upgrade we received was also very kind of the hotel considering we had only booked 2hrs before arrival. The rooms were neat, the view was amazing and the restaurant were we had our breakfast was superb. I would definitely visit again. This was a definite value for money. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nokukhanya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Nokukhanya N. Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your positive comments. We are thrilled that you chose The Bay Hotel to spend your birthday and that you had such a pleasant experience. Thank you again for visiting us and we hope to have you as our guest again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $146 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing