We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beautiful Bay Hotel, Camps Bay”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Marco Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The Beautiful Bay Hotel, Camps Bay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

After a long, 11 hour flight from the UK into Cape Town with the inevitable crying babies and trolly dollies knocking into you as you try to sleep, nothing was more pleasing to me than for the taxi to enter between the curtains designed for guest privacy and deliver me to the door.

Throughout my stay, without exception, all the staff were very pleasant and helpful as and when it was required.

The restaurant/bar/food/drink were all good value and very good quality. I'd recommend a fruit smoothie by the pool. Perfect, especially with the gorgeous views out over the ocean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Matt G. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel so much and the service our staff members offer. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Camps Bay. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    262
    145
    58
    51
See reviews for
129
633
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundrum
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Bay Hotel works on pretty well every level. We thought we might find it big and busy and impersonal after a tour of the Cape and Winelands based in very tiny, boutique establishments. But no: coming back to the Bay was like a reunion with an old friend. The sea-facing room and balcony were wonderful; the deck and pools were lovely and well-run with staff never far away and always friendly. Some staff – Dario and Zubeidah in the poolside restaurant, Marcella in the breakfast room – were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Other than a revisit to Table Mountain and evening outings to restaurants (Blues in Camps Bay, La Perla at Seapoint) we hardly left the hotel in our 4 days – a measure of how comfy and relaxing it was.
There were a few small niggles. Some dirty cups and a lack of a socket for a reading lamp had to be sorted out on day one, but quickly were. There was a persisting difficulty getting an outside line on the phone. More particularly, the hotel WiFi arrangement seemed to us to be out of step with increasing international norms, with high charges. We were pleased to find that the free signal from Reception stretched to our room! But these small issues paled next to the wonderful location, spaces and service at the Bay and we wouldn’t hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: The mountain view, of Table Mountain's west flank and the Twelve Apostles, is probably wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear TVDubliner. Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are thrilled to note that your stay at the hotel was satisfactory and enjoyable in all aspects, except for a few shortcomings. We do apologise for these issues and advise that they have been referred to management for action, and look forward to welcoming back to The Bay Hotel in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for our first night in SA following an evening arrival.In the circumstances we booked a Mountain View room which was very comfortable ,appeared recently refurbished and was well equipped including fresh fruit etc.

Breakfast was good and we had a nice table overlooking the bay.Devilled Kidneys and Kippers were both excellent.Check in and out was efficient and we enjoyed the ambience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Badger49. Many thanks for your positive review. We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed staying with us and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to South Africa. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Loved this hotel. The staff were attentive, the room great and the views fabulous. Had lovely treatments at the Spa. Breakfasts were fantastic. Stayed for three nights at the start of our travels around South Africa and wished we had finished there as well.

Room Tip: I heard from other guests that top floor rooms facing the sea can be noisy when its windy which it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Chrissie1953. Thank you so much for your lovely review. Our staff are delighted that you enjoyed for stay and appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Africa. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for the two nights for the Argus cycle race. Had a stunning room with sea views and could watch the last riders finishing the race. L'octaine bathroom products are great. Awesome breakfast with endless choices. Will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Marcoe69. Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and look forward to wecoming you back sometime soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dijon, France
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

As you all know The Bay Hotel has been on many people's wish list for many years.

In recent times Camps Bay has perhaps gone from trendy to a little cheap. While this isn't the hotel's fault you do get the impression that everything is now rather formulaic and is certainly not at all fresh.

Anyway, back to the hotel...

It is in a great location, elevated overlooking the beautiful ocean as it rolls over the rocks and into Camps Bay. It is an easy walk to many interesting restaurants including The Bungalow, Blues & The Codfather, as well as the beech of course.

The service was predominantly good but it did slip at times with breakfast being a notable lottery in terms of quality and drinks service in the bar distinctly patchy.

We found reception & the little Deli restaurant providing great service.

The breakfast buffet is good although not great given the price of a room, the food in the Deli was great quality and as far as I know the main dining room was never opened during our stay.

You really want to book an ocean view room on the third floor or above, then you get to gaze at the sea and will be happy (security'wise) to sleep with a window open with the roar of the surf in the background.

I have heard you can negotiate hard on room prices if you deal direct, book early and ask! No promises, but it can be done :-)

Overall definitely worth a visit but it's not the trendy hotspot it once was.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 171959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear 171959. Thank you for both your positive and constructive input after your recent visit to Camps Bay and the hotel. We are truly sorry to note that not all your expectations were met in terms of your past experiences. We trust that despite this, you enjoyed your brief stay at the hotel and look forward to having you as our guest again when you next visit Cape Town. With kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for the last two nights of our holiday without the children.
Had a stunning room with sea views.
L'octaine bathroom products., complimentary fruit left in room cakes and sweets left on turning bed down in afternoon.
Couldn't fault breakfast an endless list of fruits and pastries and eggs benedict to die for!,

Room Tip: Sea view overlooking campsbay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Andrew G. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a real pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and sincerely hope to have you as our guests again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
645 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
321 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
265 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing