We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great hotel right opposite the beach. excellent service with close attention to detail. location is excellent, right in the heart of Camps Bay with easy access to cape town. views of table mountain behind the hotel and very good restaurants/bars surrounding the hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil_K418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Anil_K418. Thank you so much for your great review. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will be able to visit us again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    257
    140
    57
    49
See reviews for
122
616
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

A great hospitality and welcome upon arrival. You feel immediately that this is going to be a great stay!
And indeed after an express check in our room was located right at the pool area. First I thought that this going to be to noisy but it was more then o.k.
It was surprising to have such a large room on such a great location.
A nice fully served breakfast with all need and could expect.
Truly i recommended hotel to stay while visiting Cape Town. Only a short taxi ride to the city center / waterfront if you want the more crowded area.
But on walking distance of the hotel are enough and nice restaurant to enjoy your stay after a day of visiting the Cape area.
Do hope to return and enjoy again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickBenelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear RickBenelux. Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are all thrilled that you enjoyed staying at The Bay Hotel and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Booked a travellers room number 319 during the indaba. Because of the price expected to get a small room. The room had everything I needed, great luxury shower and very comfortable. I requested additional coffee be left in the room on on the first day of my stay, and I was left with coffee machine and vida pods which made me very happy. A great stocked bar with complimentary water available. Also perhaps a mention to the staff at breakfast who were very friendly. For the price, got more than what what I was expecting - with the added benefit of a great location in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Travellers room well priced. Was spacious, had all provisions but did not have a view if you were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gsuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Gsuzzy. Many thanks for posting such a wonderful review after your recent stay at the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Traveller's Room and that your expectations were met in everyway. We trust that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at The Bay Hotel for 6 nights in February with my husband, our teenager and a friend. We took three rooms.

The Good
Location. Right at the beautiful Camps Bay beach, 15 minutes from the centre of Cape Town, surrounded by a very good range of excellent restaurants and bars.
Views from the upper rooms are lovely, and catch the sunset perfectly.
The staff are friendly and courteous.
The decor of the rooms is very good - feels fresh, well maintained, spacious.
Breakfast is very good and is served in a lovely space with great sea views
The food at the deli is good for lunch.

The Not so Good
Given the room rates, the hotel doesn't feel like very good value for money
Two of the rooms had noise from the night club next door - once until 3am.
Although the staff clearly try hard, service can be hit and miss and at times the wait times in the little deli restaurant downstairs were very long.
The wifi situation all over the hotel is terrible. Although we are told they are planning on upgrading their system soon, don't go there right now planning to get any real work done that requires good internet. It's so hit and miss and requires putting in endless stupid codes. Extremely frustrating.
Although they advertise 3 pools only one is really adequate for swimming - the other two are virtually decorative.

The Mixed
The main bar is also marketed as a beach club. While we were there it was sometimes taken over by private parties which could be noisy. On the other hand, when it was open again for guests it turned out to be a very nice amenity - great when the weather was good for sundowners or just chilling out of an afternoon.

Overall, we loved Camps Bay and enjoyed being in the heart of things. The Bay Hotel itself is not some place we will look back on with great fondness - it didn't touch our hearts. I'd give it a B+ It didn't quite have the x-factor for us.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the middle or on the side closest to the public car park. The other side borders t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheehanDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear SheehanDublin. Thank you for both your positive and constructice criticisms regarding the hotel and for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel and offer our apologies for the fact that your expectations were not met in other areas. We trust that despite this we will have another opportunity of welcoming back to The Bay Hotel and assure you of our best intentions. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
204 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Bay Hotel is in a fantastic location - in the heart of Camp's Bay, across the road from a beautiful beach, with Table Mountain and the 12 Apostles as a backdrop, yet only 15 minutes from the heart of Cape Town.

This was the start of our trip and we had a couple of nights here. Apart from the location (fantastic for a trip up Table Mountain which we did as soon as we arrived, given that it was a clear day), it was a great place to unwind around one of its four pools in the afternoon after some touring earlier in the day.

When we arrived (off an overnight flight) our room was not ready, but they gave us a very room shower room to freshen up, shower and change our clothes in. Funnily enough when we did get to our room, we were in 333, but unlike a previous contributor, we were not troubled by the outside noise, with good insulation if the veranda windows were closed.

Breakfast was probably one of the most extensive we experienced across our visit, served in a light and airy dining room (actually everywhere was light and airy). We didn't eat dinner there, but the pool-side service of drinks and snacks were good.

All in all a great place to stay, but beware as they charged for parking, despite us having paid (through our travel agent) for what I expected was an inclusive charge for bed and breakfast. What's more they did not tell us on checking in that there was a charge. It was only 60 rand a day, but it is the principle of the thing, not only the charge itself, but not being warned about it. And, as another contributor says, this is not a cheap hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear JSM8. Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for your comments regarding our parking policy. We are sorry to note that you were not correctly informed in this regard and advise that we offer both reserved and unreserved parking at the hotel for our guests. We are however pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall time with us and look forward to having you as our guests again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the perfect ending to our memorable trip to South Africa. The hotel was very well appointed, extremely clean everywhere. Food was well displayed at breakfast for the buffet, and the staff were only too pleased to help with requests. The reception staff too were extremely helpful and were very pleased to help with information about places to visit and transport requirements. We were delighted to find that the charge for the use of the hotel's taxi was almost the same as the public ones, and who wouldn't a ride in a Porsche? We were delighted with our room, very comfortable and peaceful, it was at the back of the hotel and we had a fantastic view of Table Mountain and the Twelve Apostles. The outside areas were well maintained and spotless at whatever time of day we went out. Dario, a waiter in the restaurant at lunchtime and in the evenings, was also a knowledgeable and helpful guy and was very kind to us during our stay, thank you Dario! All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Whichever room you are allocated I would imagine would be good. You either have a view over the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaypee046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jaypee046. Thank you so much for your positive feedback, which will be shared with our staff and Dario in particular. We are most pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your expctations were met in everyway. Safe travels and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Bay Hotel was the first stop on our honeymoon and we spent a week there. Firstly on the positive side, it is clearly in a great location, right on the beach with amazing views all around. The breakfasts were fine and the both the breakfast and housekeeping staff were always friendly.

However, we were disappointed by the reception and the quality of the rooms which are in our opinion were vastly over priced. The check in and check out process was painful and the receptionists we encountered were unfriendly and unhelpful. Our room was not ready at check in and after waiting nearly 45 minutes for an update we were told that they couldn't give us any indication of how long it would be so their only suggestion was that we go out for the day (we'd just got off an overnight flight from London so this was not ideal). At check out I would always expect to be asked whether we enjoyed our stay (particularly since we were a honeymoon couple), the receptionist was miserable and didn't even manage a smile - this left a rather bitter taste.

We stayed in an Ocean view room, they are a good size but tired looking and certainly not up to the standard of what I would expect from a 5 star hotel - they really do need a lot of updating to justify the cost.

We had a great stay in Cape Town and the Bay Hotel is in a great location but I wouldn't stay here again given the experience we had.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouP37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear LouP37. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing - both your positive comments and constructive criticisms of the hotel are highly appreciated. Please accept our apologies for the poor service you were subjected to by our front desk staff and assurances that the issues will be adddressed. We trust that you will reconsider your decision not to stay at the hotel in the future and look forward to welcoming you back again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing