We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous experience”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tremendous experience”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

First off, Camps Bay is probably the most beautiful area in Cape Town so the location of this hotel is perfect. My room was spacious and had an extraordinary view over the beach, the pool area and the impressive Lion's Head Mountain. A well stocked mini bar, very cheap for a hotel of this standard. The breakfast was fantastic and the dining hall had a beautiful view over the beach and the Atlantic Ocean. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Adam G. Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate your positive comments about the hotel and Camps Bay. Safe travels and we look forward to having you as our guest again on your next visit to Cape Town. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    261
    145
    58
    50
See reviews for
128
629
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had our combined services entertainment show here and it was a night I won't forget in a long time. The staff and food were amazing, also the hotel is in a great location with bars and night clubs only a stone throw away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear danielle n. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel, we certainly hope that we will have the opportunity of having you as our guest sometime again in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The Bay Hotel in Camps Bay (Cape Town) is by far the best experience you will have. From service to food - there's none better.
This hotel should not be mistaken for the Table Bay Hotel when booking. This is THE place to stay. Superb location- modern charm. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Mike F. Guest feedback is important to us and we thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that your expectations were met in everyway. We trust that we will have the opportunity of welcoming back again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

The Bay Hotel in Cape Town delivers on its promises and that is why I continue to return here every chance I get. Camps Bay is scenic and the hotel is perched perfectly across from it.

The hotel offers up world class facilities, amazing views and a great experience. Make sure you have breakfast there too.

If you're looking for a great location within the V & A Waterfront, not too far from Table Mountain with views of the mighty Atlantic Ocean, this is the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Mike F. With pleasure at your service. Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stay here. Honestly can't fault anything from the room, service, food, location or price. I stayed in one of the cheaper rooms but honestly can't have asked for more. A view would have been nice, but to be honest you don't book a hotel to stay in the room, and a 30 second walk to the pool isn't exactly inconvenient. Some of the other reviews here seem strange, and even a little confusing as they don't even seem to be for the Bay. Just stay here. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Robb Y. Thank you so much for your wonderful review, which we have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Well, the apartment is beautiful! Exactly like the pictures on the website.
White and bright (so bright you wake up really early as the sun shines through the facade glass panels located between the walls and ceiling).
We've paid U$800 a night - in advance. So, no room for regrets... Once we got there few surprises came up.

At the end of our stay, in the 8th day everything was working just perfect.
So, I believe the next guest will face less hussle.
It is just a bit odd that The Bay Hotel has been managing this property for 5 years... Anyways...

We've hired a hotel transfer from the airport and requested an early check-in at 12pm. Which was confirmed by email.
The driver was there on time, but when we got to the hotel the penthouse wasn't ready. After an 18h trip this is SO inconvenient!
We waited for the room to be ready, and they drove us there. (It is like 2 blocks away from the hotel).

As soon as the driver left, the apartment alarm system went on VERY loudly (as residencial alarms do) and it was like that for 15 whole minutes. Non stop. And all we just wanted to do was unpack and take a shower...

There is no telephone at the apartment, or intercom. The only way to contact the hotel was to make an international phone call from my overseas mobile.
But, the hotel phone number wasn't written anywhere in the room.
It took me a while to find the number (and the correct dialing codes).
The same driver came back from the hotel to our self catered apartment... Turned the alarm off and explained how it worked.

So, after a long flight, a room that is not ready, an alarm buzzing on your head for long, somebody comes and explain something about a green and a red button... You're just glad it finally stopped and you can "arrive", doesn't pay full attention to the explanation.
Guess what? Five minutes after the man left, the alarm went on again... Another international phone call, wait for them to get back from the hotel, etc.

After the alarm issue was sorted and we were left alone in our apartment, we realized there was no internet conection... Different from what we've previously confirmed via email upon booking.
Well, the wifi connections were found by the devices but no one in the hotel was able to retrieve the password! For two days! No matter how many international calls I made, no matter how many different "managers" I spoke to at the hotel.

When we sorted the password issue (an IT person came to appartment) we were able to comunicate with the hotel (for cleaning, laundry, driver, dinner arrangements, etc) via EMAIL.. It worked just fine, most of the times, you just have to guess who is working at the hotel reception desk that day, or email every employee you've previously emailed...

Not that this is important, but the TV set cables were all disconnected and to watch tv we had to personnally connect everything... It was that or: numerous international rosming calls, emails, and people coming over to fix it (probably the same driver again).

My point is, you're on vacations, pay the whole stay in advance (what gives you no chance to walk away if you're not happy with what you get). Depend on the hotel management for everything and don't have a simple way to contact them. Something here needs improvement!

Oh, and there is a construction work nextdoors, that no one mentions upon reservations... I've expressed my concerns of being disturbed by nearby noises. And were told to rest assured it was quiet and the penthouse was on the top of a privately owned home. Which is true. But when they give a party, that was also a problem for us...

In other words: don't expect much! You're not in Switzerland :) it is South Africa! People try hard, but it can be hard to meet our traveller's expectations...

It has to be said the hotel drivers were great, always available for us. Cecilia, our cleaning lady showed up every second day as we agreed, and did a great job. Many thanks to Moses, Simon and Mark who made the difference in our stay at 15 Views.

Hope this long review helps the property management to improve a few details. Just a mobile phone at the apartment to start with, would be great.

Anyway: Enjoy the city! Cape Town is amazingly beautiful, Camps Bay is top ten, and 15 Views has it's value!!

Oh, just a tinny detail, that I forgot to mention: there is no proper door at the toilet... Just a glass door, like the shower itself. As it faces the bed... Like three steps between your pillow and the sink/toilet/shower..!! Like sleeping inside the bathroom... Open plans look really nice on pictures... But not very sexy in real life :) on daily basis you wait your partner to wake up, so that you can use the toilet.. And kindly ask him/ her to wait outside in the balcony. Because when I say open plan, it is OPEN PLAN... Noises and smelling freely travel through toilet, bedroom, lounge and kitchen. In case it rains in the balcony, one can always try the walk in closet, that has a proper door.

But. The views are amazing!!! ;)

Room Tip: Be patient. It is not a five star hotel! But it does have a ten star View! The moon and the sea at y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Little_World2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Little_World2012. Many thanks for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are most disappointed to note the unsatisfactory treatment you received during your stay at 15 Views, and we wish to formally apologise therefor. All of the issues referred to in your feedback note have been taken up with senior management in order to avoid repetition for future guests. We can asure you that the treatment you received is not normal for our company, and we sincerely hope to have you as our guest again in the future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I completely agree with the review titled "waste of money" i dont believe ive ever tried harder to get into this hotel and have been so disappointed. The linens and quality of the room/bathroom must be the worst Ive ever stayed in. The pool which is clearly the ONLY reason I can see people enjoying is in the middle of a parking lot. A very basic of delvering coffee in the morning was worse than dishwater. The room has furniture in it that looks like it was constructed by a blind man. On checking in their internet was not working and when it did it was useless. They had no extra hangers and when I finally told them to go out and buy some.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clingpeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Clingpeach. We thank you for your detailed comments regarding your recent stay at the hotel and advise that they will be referred to our management for action. We are most distressed to note the unpleasant experience you had, and for these we extend our apologies. We are, however, firmly of the opinion that your experience is exceptional and does not confirm to the norm at the hotel. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing