We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely nice staff”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Reviewed November 25, 2012

had a problem with our booking - wrong month... - and the bay staff were so nice and helpful it was a joy.

opposite the beach - beer by the pool - what can ask for more ? the rooms are realy nice and big, and the location is in the center of the camp bay busy area. real fun to sit by the pool and feel the beach and sea close by

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear asshal. On behalf of all of us at The Bay Hotel we would like to thank you for your lovely review of the hotel. We are thrilled to note that you enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were met. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

The bay Hotel is one of the best my wife and i have ever stayed at,It is very effeciently run in every way,the staff are out of this world,they really cannot do enough for you,the setting is fantastic the views exceptional and the food is glorious.I would recommend it to anyone and already have.Mark Turner From East Sussex England.

Room Tip: If you can afford it have a room overlooking the Bay,the views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardi142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear mardi142. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you chose The Bay Hotel for your stay in Cape Town and that had such a fantastic and memorable experience. We do hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a fantastic 5 night stay at the Bay Hotel to finish our honeymoon. We were very well looked after on arrival with a bottle of sparkly, cakes and even rose pettles on the bed! The hotel is in an excellant location in the centre of the lively Camps Bay and there are an abundance of good restaurants and bars within 100 metres. The views from the sun deck are great with the beach and sea in front and table mountain behind. Tides Bar is also an excellant spot to enjoy a sundowner. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly waitress Julieth and smiling porter simon. The hotel have a great car service where you can travel in style in a porsche for not much more than a regular taxi. Breakfast was superb with an abundance of fruit, cereals and cold meats as well as good cooked options. We didnt eat in the hotel restaurant at night but did have room service on the first night and it was also excellant and very reasonably priced. My wife had a spa treatment on our last day and she said it was amazing and fantastic value for money. We have no hesitation in recommending the Bay Hotel and would definitely stay there again if we return to Cape Town

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Graeme K. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about the hotel. We are delighted that you chose The Bay Hotel to spend your Honeymoon and that you had such a pleasant stay. We hope to welcome you back on your future wedding anniversaries for some more pampering. Until then, warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Bay hotel in Camps Bay Cape Town is probably one of the finest hotels you could find in the area. Modern, yet understated luxury, with large rooms and great amenities, this hotel will leave you feeling pampered and relaxed. Great Location, lots to do, and we had perfect weather.

For Business purposes, the hotel caters for groups and have large modern conference facilities, and the perfect setting for a sun-downer cocktail function looking out over the beach an d the bay. It is relatively close to Capetown city bowl as well.

Room Tip: Any room in this hotel will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurgensvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear jurgensvh. Thank you so much for your lovely review of the hotel, which we have shared with all our staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying with us, and hope to welcome you back again soon. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

went to thier ground floor 'deli' restaurant following a wonderful wine tasting (more on this later)
Not sure why they have moved to this style restaurant, perhaps too many other restaurants in camps bay. We were two couples who were staying at apartments in camps bay owned by same company (which were fantastic)
Service was quick and attentive (possibly too attentive for some customers)
Fairly limited menu with some nice sounding dishes some quite technical for the foodies reading this
Nicely presented and well cooked starters, although if you describe something as a terrine then serve a layed 'tian' you need to be careful with the descriptions (see comments main courses)
Main courses were a nicely cooked salmon, a curry dish, a prawn dish, the a starter as another main course
All dishes well presented. Problems appeared with the prawns on tasting very poor, overcooked and lacking flavour and seasoning. Also rice with curry (listed as basmati) appeared to be easy cook.
Manager checked if everything was alright and on complaining on the prawns (think we were in camps bay!) agreed that they had been cooked from frozen. I was offered a replacement dish (which i declined) and a complimentary drink (also declined)
We decided to leave desserts and after a while leave.
On presenting the bill, the waiter advised us that we had not been charged for the prawns nor the bottle of wine we had consumed. So perhaps overgenerous of them
My problem and challenge for this restaurant is too look very carefully on thier descriptions and actual quality of food served.
I would add that we used the beach club bar for drinks and light food on two occasions and also as stated enjoyed a lovely wine tasting with some good 'nibbles' Service at these was excellent

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank johnbruceroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear johnbruceroberts.Thank you very much for your input and for your comments with regard to our Deli restaurant, which we accept as being constructive. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you and your party suffered as a result of poor service on our part - it is not what we aim for, and the issue has been addressed. Thank you again and warm wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is positioned perfectly with wonderful views of the beach - especially at sunset. It is especially well run, with great service from engaging staff. Food is very good and it also within walking distance of several good restaurants. I was there for business but it would be great to relax with the family too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Andrew J. Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback about the hotel. It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is strategically situated on one of the most beautiful strips in Cape Town. Whilst you are surrounded by restuarants the atmosphere on the deck is the ideal place to share sundowners. It was the ideal place to celebrate my husbands birthday and they even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and 2 slices of cake for dessert in our room. Service is excellent and the breakfast superb. The best hotel within Cape Town!

Room Tip: Ask for a room which leads directly onto the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Debbie868. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you most sincerely for your wonderful feedback about the hotel. It is a real pleasure for us to hear that you both enjoyed your stay and that your expectations were met in every way. We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
346 reviews
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Place on the Bay
The Place on the Bay
#10 of 12 in Camps Bay
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range: $146 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing