We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unbelievable beautiful hotel w/ exceptional service”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“an unbelievable beautiful hotel w/ exceptional service”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Worked with Shannon Lawrence to book the room and got a great deal for four nights for the price of three. When we got there, we were blown away by the view as it truly is a beachfront property with stunning views of Table Mountain and oceansde (got upgraded to the Seapoint View). We arranged transfers to and from the airport, which was about $40 US dollars each way. As a honeymoon couple, we got a complimentary bottle of champagne with our room decorated with petals. The service was great and the cigar bar Traders was awesome (ask for Camil, such a nice person who provided exceptional service and also has great recommendations in the area!) The breakfast spread and complimentary breakfast was delicious and amazing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Amit S. Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about the hotel, which we have shared with our staff. We are most delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming back again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    261
    145
    58
    50
See reviews for
128
629
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of our honeymoon. We were upgraded from a Mountain room to a Beach room and all I can say about the hotel, was it was excellent. The staff at reception, the restaurant staff and our driver who picked us up in the hotel Porsche from the V&A was excellent.

I cannot fault this hotel at all, we would come back in an instant and will be back at some point in the very near future.

Jan and Allan West

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan_West1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Jan_West1. Many thanks for your lovely review of the hotel, we are delighted to note that your expectations were met and that our staff contributed so wonderfully to your overall experience. We wish you both a fantastic future together and look forward to welcoming back in the future. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Our third visit to South Africa and our third stay at The Bay. As good as ever!
Stayed for 4 days in Room 203 with direct access to the pool area. Beautiful relaxing quiet room with large, very comfortable bed and soft sheets. Excellent shower with Charlotte Rhys toiletries. Phone costs very reasonable and unlimited internet access.
We were ''welcomed back'' which is a nice touch. Again we were impressed with the friendliness, efficiency and professionalism of all the staff. The hotel breaths relaxed comfort. Food was good and we ate in the Bistro 2 nights. Breakfasts excellent.
We also ate at the Godfather fish restauant and thoroughly enjoyed some supurb fish at not ridiculous prices. Most atmospheric. An easy, safe walk.
Cannot fault any aspect of The Bay and will stay again on future visits.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear ROKNottingham. Many thanks for your wonderful remarks, which we have shared with all our staff. We are all thrilled to hear that you so enjoyed all aspects of your third stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Poges, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at The Bay Hotel from 27th September for 5 nights. A spectacular hotel, and a real pleasure to stay in. Our room was a Premier Sea View room on the 2nd floor, and we had the fabulous view of the sea at sunset. Breakfast was wonderful, with such a selection I have never seen before. The staff are all very friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is just perfect. If I had 1 small criticism it would be the location of the restaurant which was situated in the hotel lobby, and felt a bit of an after-thought. If it was relocated to the breakfast room, this would be so much better. All in all however we had 5 wonderful nights in The Bay Hotel, and would without hesitatation go back there again, and highly recommend to anyone. Thank you for a truly memorable stay x

Room Tip: Premier Sea View rooms are spectacular with views overlooking the sea you get the best views especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyTiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear TraceyTiney. On behalf of all of us at hotel we would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your stay in Camps Bay - thank you also for your comments with regard to our restaurant. We look forwared to welcoming back in the near future. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Very good location for tourists. Right across from the beach and surrounded by excellent pubs, restaurants & shopping. Rooms were nice with good service. The lobby of such a nice and big hotel deserves better decor. The breakfast buffet was only meal we had while staying here and it was awesome.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool if you want quiet. You get a good discount for mountain facing rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sumantkachru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear sumantkachru. Many thanks for your comments and for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We are most pleased to hear you enjoyed you stay and look forward to having you as our guest again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here january 2010, and again january 2012. Great hotel in a great location, though i do feel it's over priced - but so is every thing in camps bay!
This hotel will always be special to me as this is where we got engaged, drinking poncratz as the african sun set.
The rooms are very nice, we stayed in mountain view rooms as we only use them to sleep, shower etc.
What really made this place special is the staff, they can't do enough for you, especially the little guy that runs the cigar bar, and the waiter at breakfast, his name escapes me - but i want to say patrick.
If you stay here and are going into cape town for dinner, don't get a taxi, use the hotel porche and driver - doesn't cost much more.
The only negatives i can say are that both times we stayed the pool temp has been heart stopping cold, and the hotel now offers a beach club style membership (which is cheap) so the pool area can be over run by non residents.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wherenext1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Wherenext1980. Thank you for your wonderful remarks about our hotel and staff members. We are most pleased that you enjoyed your second stay with us. Just for your future visits, our main pool deck has always been for the exclusive use of hotel guests only and a new solar heating system has been installed to heat the main swimming pool. We look forward to welcoming back in the not too distant future. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is the 2nd time we have stayed in this hotel and again it was fantastic! We really couldn't fault anything about this hotel! It's right on the beach and only a short drive from the waterfront. We will hopefully return soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinclair7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBayHotel, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Sinclair7. The Bay Hotel team would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is a great pleasure to hear that you had such a fantastic stay and we are absolutely looking forward to welcoming back soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
309 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8040, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With the majestic Twelve Apostle mountain range as a back drop and the Atlantic Ocean less than a minutes walk away, The Bay Hotel boasts an unrivalled location in the heart of glitzy Camps Bay. After a busy day seeing Cape Town’s world-class sights, exhale and relax with a sunset cocktail, a treatment in the on-site spa or some time lounging around one of four sea-facing pools. Or if all that sounds too demanding, retreat to one of the 78 bright, modern rooms or suites to gaze out at the beach and do absolutely nothing at all. Whether you’re travelling on business, planning the perfect wedding or just seeking some rest and relaxation, our friendly, professional staff will make sure you get the most from your Camps Bay stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing