We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at Camps Bay”
Review of The Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Camps Bay
Oundle, UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Christmas at Camps Bay”
Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed at The Bay Hotel for 5 nights over Christmas 2007 with our three teenage children and had the best time. Upon arrival we were a little bit disappointed with the rooms, although very comfortable and with fab views of the beach, the bathrooms were rather tired, and so were the towels and bathrobes etc. However, everything else made up for it. The staff were without exception lovely and very helpful, the restaurant was good and not too expensive, and the breakfast was outstanding. The bar prices were very reasonable, which meant we used them rather a lot ! The mini bar was very reasonable as well. The Hotel car and driver was also not much more than taxis. The views were great, and we loved the beach and felt very safe, but we aware that there is a busy road between the hotel and the beach. There are loads of good restaurants nearby, and Camps Bay is a very lively place, wonderful for people watching. As other people have said, perhaps not totally deserving of five stars, but still a hotel to be recommended. We would definitely go back there as opposed to staying at the Waterfront, though that is a great place to go for shopping and restaurants.

  • Liked — The location and views
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    259
    145
    58
    49
See reviews for
125
626
41
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

EvVerything about this place was very good - the staff, the service, the rooms, the food, the bars, the picnic (Xmas Day - the hotel prepared it for us), the cleanliness, the pool area, the view (if you have a pool view, the other is round the back overlooking the tennis courts althouigh you can see the mountains), the airport transfer. Could not fault it at all.
The local area has some restaurants but as we were there at Xmas (the busiest time of year) they were very full.The road outside the hotel is very busy most of the time but didn't have any impact on our stay.Beach just over the road is wite sandy but the sea is invariably cold (but there is a small lagoon there which is warmer and ideal for kids)
We travelled with our 15 and 18 year olds who also had a great time.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank TonyPassmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

we stayed two nights had a lovely spacious room with a sea view the staff were great and so was the breakfast. Camps Bay is great off season you can run on the beach in the morning and it is not too crowded. Dec and Jan it is too busy.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DurbanGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

We stayed at the Bay on our honeymoon and I have to say it was faultless. The staff were excellent. We had a sea/pool view room which was spotless and a good size. The breakfast was very good with lots to choose from. We borrowed a car for a few days and parking was always available. We felt very safe and relaxed in Camps Bay and Cape Town in general and will be back soon. One point to note. We would have been disappointed if we were at the back of the hotel in one of the four or so rooms as these rooms have no view. Make sure and ask for a sea/pool facing room.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott-McE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Stayed here for 5 days in April & highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Cape Town, SA. Camps Bay is outside the centre of town but it has everything you need in close proximity.

The hotel rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Ours had a big balcony & a view of the ocean. Definitely ask to face the sea rather than the back (mountain view).
Our room had a 'lounge area' with a couch which made it feel more like a holiday apartment than a hotel room.

Pool is heated (great for cape town!) because the sea is quite chilly. It can get quite foggy down here & beware the Cape Doctor which is an evil wind that blows for days & can literally sweep you away !

Must do's : Take a drive thru Chapman's Peak, visit the V&A waterfront, try get to Stellenbosch / Franschoek, go up Table Mountain, eat biltong & buy a wooden giraffe to take home !

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank peanut_costello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Bay Hotel is a lovely place to base a trip around the Cape, on the Bay, in front of Table Mountain. Parking is limited at the front, but the attendants will always help find a place. There are wonderful views of the sea or table mountain in all directions. There are few better locations than the champagne bar at sunset. The rooms are standard 4* hotel rooms, clean, tidy and spacious. The sea view rooms over look the main road, while those rooms closest to the bars along the front can be noisy. The staff were helpful at all times. Food was uninspiring and expensive although the staff very efficient. Eat out at Blues - next door, the Cod Father - remarkable or the Cape Town Seafood Company. Walking along the short sea front is safe, but if you choose to walk up one of the gorges to Table Mountain take a guide as muggings are not uncommon. The location is stunning, the beach a delight, the local food exceptional, the hotel fit for purpose.

  • Liked — Stunning views
  • Disliked — Ordinary, but functional
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Elvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed in cape town for 7 nights which looking back was too long based on the shortness of our stay at Vic falls and Grootbos. I think 4/5 nights on a 2 week trip is sufficient. Camps bay is my preferred location, as you have the beach, good dining and we felt safe to go out for a stroll. V&A is easily accessible via hotel taxis.

The bay hotel is a good 4 star hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful plus there is a hair salon on site. While the bathrooms do need to be updated, i would recommend this hotel to anyone who is use to staying in 4 and 5 star solely on the basis of
1. beach directly across from hotel
2. quality restaurants and bars are a stroll away
3. Safe location
4. hair salon and beauty rooms
5. views of lion head and table mountain
6. outside decking to enjoy sundowners over atlantic ocean

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MJEIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlanticview Cape Town Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Primi Seacastle Guest House
0.4 mi away
Camps Bay Retreat
Camps Bay Retreat
#9 of 12 in Camps Bay
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Property: The Bay Hotel
Address: 69 Victoria Road, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 Business Hotel in Camps Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Camps Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bay Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive blend of sophisticated elegance and casual comfort. The Bay Hotel is superbly designed with 78 rooms and suites offering luxury in an unsurpassed setting. No less than four hotel pools with expansive sun decks offer superlative views of the Atlantic Ocean and majestic Lion's Head. Renowned as a haven for romantics, leisure is our catchword, from rejuvenating spa treatments to the convenience of our unique cocktail bar. And for the ultimate in relaxation, we recommend our cigar lounge and bar with breathtaking views. Celebrate special events at the intimate Celebration Table or Private Deck overlooking a sapphire sea. Fully-equipped meeting and events venues are available to suit every occasion, including the historic Rotunda for glittering parties and flawless weddings. Breathe deep... Exhale slowly and rediscover fun. Float into blissful relaxation while enjoying our exceptional brand of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Hotel Camps
The Bay Hotel Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing